Scaglietti Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 (edited) Princess Diana died in a Merc going >120km/h. You may die in a Chery going at 60km/h. That's the difference. BC Edited June 29, 2007 by Scaglietti ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Memory Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 (edited) Princess Diana died in a Merc going >120km/h. You may die in a Chery going at 60km/h. That's the difference. BC choy choy choy! Your car scrap liao mine still in 2nd hand dealer! Hope u get it. Edited June 29, 2007 by Memory Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scaglietti Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 (edited) Sometimes things are beyond your control. You can be happily driving within the speed limit, but sometimes its other road user that caused the damage. My cousin's husband kena-ed a few years back. He's known to be a safe driver, but he got T-bone at a junction by some crazy cap. Good thing that he's still alive after a major surgury on his leg. For me, safety is one of the top priority in choosing a car. Choosing safety over other stuff does not make me a crazy reckless driver by the way.... I don't think EU impose safety rating so that reckless driver can walk out of their car in a crash. It measures safety of a vehicle in a colision in normal road conditions. There are 3 standard crash test: frontal @ 40mph(62km/h) into off-set barrier, side impact @ 30mph (50km/h) and side pole impact @ 20mph (30km/h). These are all normal road speeds, not racing speeds. If a car does not perform well in these tests, it's worrying! BC Edited June 29, 2007 by Scaglietti Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Memory Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 T-bone? like steak? By right, any car approved to be sold here should be safe enough for Singapore roads, even cyclists without gear. However, there are a bunch of wreckless driver and some without licence on the road, that makes driving dangerous here. Not forgetting those who like to perform stunts and drink at the same time. Don't presume I drive a Chery or whatever Chinamade. Besides all the positive view about their ride in future, I agree it can not make it presently. Please don't look down on ppl driving those cars btw, it is not as if they don't want a BM or MB, they probably needed a ride and can only afford a Chinamade, likewise for OPC. They needed a ride but could not afford a normal price COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scaglietti Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 (edited) Why are you so defensive? I am not looking down on anybody. I have driven cars without good safety equipment. After a serious crash myself, I realise the importance of safety equipment which could have help me prevent the accident or protect me during the accident. I am just highlighting the importance of safety of the car. Any car approved should be safe enough... sure, of course... but it can be SAFER! (Remember that not too long back, seat belts were not mandatory.) It may make a difference when it is need. When they first introduced seatbeats, everyone thought that it was unneccessary and was against it. Even now there are people still refuses to wear backseat seatbelts. For me, even I know I drive safely, I want my backseat passengers to wear the seatbelts. As for T-bone... T-bone type of steak, 1916, so called from the T-shaped bone that runs through it. The verb meaning "to strike (another car, bus, etc.) from the side" is attested from 1980s. Online Etymology Dictionary, Edited June 29, 2007 by Scaglietti Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 what do you drive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scaglietti Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 Fiat Grande Punto... Why? BC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Memory Neutral Newbie June 30, 2007 Share June 30, 2007 (edited) You should have buy MX5. Proven to have saved someone's life, but at the same time cost another. Edited June 30, 2007 by Memory Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thrillman Neutral Newbie July 12, 2007 Share July 12, 2007 Don know what's the case going hor???? Talking abt the MX5, good car hor safe for driver.....but ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie August 4, 2007 Share August 4, 2007 That car shouldn't even be allowed for sale on the roads. Look at how the A pillar collapses and roof crumple. Interesting point, LTA & ROV focussing on mods but allow such unsafe cars on the roads. Interesting logic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie August 4, 2007 Share August 4, 2007 Why are you so defensive? I am not looking down on anybody. I have driven cars without good safety equipment. After a serious crash myself, I realise the importance of safety equipment which could have help me prevent the accident or protect me during the accident. I am just highlighting the importance of safety of the car. Any car approved should be safe enough... sure, of course... but it can be SAFER! (Remember that not too long back, seat belts were not mandatory.) It may make a difference when it is need. When they first introduced seatbeats, everyone thought that it was unneccessary and was against it. Even now there are people still refuses to wear backseat seatbelts. For me, even I know I drive safely, I want my backseat passengers to wear the seatbelts. As for T-bone... T-bone type of steak, 1916, so called from the T-shaped bone that runs through it. The verb meaning "to strike (another car, bus, etc.) from the side" is attested from 1980s. Online Etymology Dictionary, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Exowraith Neutral Newbie August 8, 2007 Share August 8, 2007 (edited) I think if you go through youtube looking for chinese car crash tests. I think there's only one that has passed. it's called the Brilliance, something like that. There's a video on it turning turtle but it was till fine. Other china cars that you can see is one SUV Hilux looking pick up. The crash test was just scary the front wheel went right into the passenger compartment considering it is one of those big off road tyres. Not passing a crash test at 60km/h is quite worrying. Of course if you speed about 120km/h you should consider that whatever you hit is most probably a goner. 60km/h is a normal travelling speed but it could cost you your life, if you are in one of these tin can types EDIT: I cannot give URLs cos I can't access youtube for some reason Edited August 8, 2007 by Exowraith Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Black999devil Neutral Newbie November 17, 2007 Share November 17, 2007 Hi, I got one for sale leh. Don't like that leh. This web very funi. Must post with at least 15 posting and 25 for classified. Sian leh. Can someone help me pls............ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 13, 2010 Share July 13, 2010 Although it is his money. but he kenah crash also everybody's money in insurance mah. Some of them just pay for the "look like a car", as long got, 4 wheels, doors, shell and engine lah. They dont bother with other things which they cannot see. That's very sad. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...