Boyboy 1st Gear July 26, 2007 Share July 26, 2007 hi i met a fren last nite who also just collected his SSS. but manual got to ride as passenger and also did a short test drive noise level quite decent, engine not too loud, but the sound is nice n aggressive. i wud definitely do sth abt the engine sound if i were my fren (louder ) interior wise, quite dull. but most jap cars are . with the exception of mazda and honda maybe. Gearknob and steering wheel quite nice i'm not sure what sorta seats they are. a bit sportier than avg rides.. good support for daily driving, but may be insufficient for tracking. space for rear passengers is adequate. i tried the rear seat with front seat in the position i'd use if i were driving. wun lose out much to the getz for the drive, i didn't get to zua cos the car was new.. i handled it very gently as if it were my own car. so can't really tell much abt power. low-end is adequate if u wanna drive it ard slowly . the shifting is very notchy, with each gear slotting home with almost a click.. takes getting used to, but it's really shiok for true lovers of manual cars clutch is surprisingly soft. even softer than my getz 1.1 (which is the pussiest clutch i tried so far). perfect even for those who just passed. i was expecting sth heavy duty . no complaints in this area... handling wise is very good, threw it into a corner quite fast to try.. body roll is slight but noticeable though. cos the SSS is quite tall. ride is comfortable compared to my coilovered getz.. thus the SSS shd be able to take on bumpy roads without torturing passengers, in stock form.. thus ends my mini first impressions review. psychoing my fren to join me for a trip up to camerons next week. maybe can get a better feel and more comments from him ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear July 26, 2007 Share July 26, 2007 Seriously i myself oso duno wad the TS is comparing. From wad i noe he is looking at performance. But to compare a 1.5L and a 1.6L together it isnt doing the 1.5L much justice rite? Hw much power can a 1.5L put out as compared to a 1.6L both in stock form? Overall 1.5L will put out lesser bhp as compared to 1.6L. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear July 26, 2007 Share July 26, 2007 To all fellow forumers , I am looking around for a car , due to budget constraints, narrow down my search to two hatchbacks , namely Fit1.5 and Swift sport. Test drove the swift sport from champions motors once , never test drove the Fit1.5 b4... Pls compare this 2 cars based on performance, looks, handling and value for money. Advice will be greatly appreciated. Which car will perform better in the relevant fields and your final choice ? Cheers ! given these choices,i will get a yellow swift sports. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic July 26, 2007 Share July 26, 2007 vios 1.5 == 109bhp TS 1.6 == 95nhp altis 1.6 == 109bhp not necessarily 1.5 will put out lesser bhp than 1.6. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accordvtec 1st Gear July 26, 2007 Share July 26, 2007 (edited) thanks guys for the replies ! I am not really looking for a family car but a car that has performance when needed and decent space too.. How do the Fit1.5 VTEC compared to 1.6 Swift sport in terms of performance ? Understand that both cars has good power to weight ratio, FIT has VTEC, Swift sport has high comp engine plus close ratio gearbox ! Swift Sport 1.6 is $62000, FIT1.5 VTEC is $64000. Hope you guys could give me an insight into the specs of both cars and how they matched up in terms of sprint, track etc .. thanks alot ! $62,800 nett for the Fit 1.5VTEC Manual Guaranteed coe + delivery $67,800 nett for the JDM Swift Sports from PI(much higher omv) $61,900 nett for manual and $63,900 for auto from CM. Good deal for you... let me know if you are interested Edited July 26, 2007 by Accordvtec Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Googoo 4th Gear July 26, 2007 Share July 26, 2007 HI Accordvtec, $67800 is mega option?? How much is the OMV for JDM SS (non mega and mega)?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accordvtec 1st Gear July 26, 2007 Share July 26, 2007 nope.normal...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear July 26, 2007 Share July 26, 2007 i didnt meant that. A 1.5L is a 1.5L. If u were to mod a 1.5L and a 1.6L, there will be more gains for the latter. Now TS is comparing the performance of 1.5L 110ps vs 1.6L 125ps. Based on performance the SSS will win, but a 1.5L VTEC with 110ps isnt bad for it's class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 Hw much power can a 1.5L put out as compared to a 1.6L both in stock form?Overall 1.5L will put out lesser bhp as compared to 1.6L. you mentioned stock in the beginning, now you're saying with mods keke. and i dun agree that there will be more gains for 1.6L if modded, as compared with 1.5L. keke lets not go OT from this thread 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 vios 1.5 == 109bhpTS 1.6 == 95nhp altis 1.6 == 109bhp not necessarily 1.5 will put out lesser bhp than 1.6. Yes...HP is one thing but on Spore rd u may need Torque more than HP. And study the power to weight ratio will help too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 Pays to keep it all in perspective, when it comes down to it, there's all of 100cc difference between them. Not as much difference as can be made from engine management and design, IMHO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 i didnt meant that. A 1.5L is a 1.5L. If u were to mod a 1.5L and a 1.6L, there will be more gains for the latter. Now TS is comparing the performance of 1.5L 110ps vs 1.6L 125ps. Based on performance the SSS will win, but a 1.5L VTEC with 110ps isnt bad for it's class. 1.5L VTEC engine having 110ps is already very good considering its a SOHC engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncp91 1st Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 The Fit VTEC's output is about the same as the 1NZ-FE you find in G9 Corollas, Yaris and Vios (109hp also). I've not driven a Fit VTEC or its closest relative City VTEC but I have had some seat time on a ES8 Civic VTi which I believe has the same engine. The Honda motor delivers most of its power when VTEC-ing whereas the Toyota is more linear. The characteristics seem a bit different though both arrive at roughly the same conclusion (same power and roughly same torque give or take a few Nm). Although I do believe the 1NZ is a DOHC engine while the D15 is a SOHC. Which brings me to the question : if you wanted to buy the Fit VTEC for the engine, there's other cars out there with the same engine outputs. And if you wanted to buy the Fit because of something other than the engine, well you can get the 1.3/1.4 types which aren't different except for the engine (and disc brakes). And you save quite a bit of money. If you like the Fit, just buy the 1.3/1.4 Fit/Jazz. Forget the VTEC, just get the Swift Sport itstead, it has a significant power hike over the 1.5 VTEC. Unless you are willing to settle for the middle ground, which is exactly where the Fit is at. I think it is a compromise in both ways. You're paying much more than a standard Fit but not getting as much power as you would on the Swift Sport. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
R760 Neutral Newbie July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 Thanks for all the replies ! Actually many bros mention Colt R, but i am not into tc cars, NA more for me. In my humble opinion, colt R might be fast on straights but not necessary ard the corner! Btw, does the FIT 1.5 comes with full discs ? cheers ! Hi bro, have you heard of Toyota Ractis c/w Supercharge! I think our PI can bring in for you. I got 1 w/o supercharger at 60k and sharing the same engine 1nzfe with vios but with padel shift!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 Bro its not OT la.. Ok even for stock vs stock, SSS which is a 1.6L have more power as compared to Fit 1.5L. So if we were to compared these 2 together, definitely the SSS scores in this aspect. Aniwae if TS really looking for performance, top up abit more n get a CVR. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 Is it a factory fitted supercharger or aftermarket one? Dun remember Toyota producing Ractis with SC leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Part_of_it Neutral Newbie July 28, 2007 Share July 28, 2007 hie.. i have a question but i dunoe wer can i post my question.. im a newbie therefore i wud like to ask.. i thought of buying a car but having doubt on which car.. either colt plus or honda fit.. how much issit roughly for opc?? pls enlighten me.. thanx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear July 28, 2007 Share July 28, 2007 (edited) Just to share my personal views on SS. I believe the engineers tune SS more for city driving. I sat in my friend's SS. Pick-up is perky, but once it reaches highway, the engine can be quite noisy. My friend said it's due to high cruising rpm. At 100kmh, it's already abt 3K rpm. It just gives me the impression that SS might lose steam on highway runs. Edited July 28, 2007 by Redboy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...