Vyap Clutched October 8, 2007 Author Share October 8, 2007 not sure abt CRT...the line count vs plasma , plasma has more lines (pixie), contrast ratio etc........anyway, am Only comparing with OLED, LCD & Plasma ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear October 13, 2007 Share October 13, 2007 http://www.consoleshop.com/product.php?pro...49&page=3#votes interesting device Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 Bro, My 5 year old LCD projection TV just konked out again (bulb blown and already replaced once 2 years ago).... need to quickly get a replacement as I don't wanna keep having to do a bulb replacement every 2 years or so. (Its a Samsung Tantus model BTW). Anyway, do you have any recommendation on which to get( Plasma or LCD) and also the model? I want a big screen (46 to 52") but also don't want to spend too much. The Bravia from the website puts it at SGD$16K for the 52" .... that's way, way above my budget. What's your take on the Pana 50" (TH-50PV700H or TH-50PV70H)? Any indicative price to feedback? I haven't had the time to run about the various shops to check them out yet. Thanks for your assistance. BTW, you sell the TVs??? I'm pretty impressed by the Bravia's quality, esp in the area of shading. Was looking closely at a 42" philips LCD & a 42" Bravia at courts yesterday. The Philips LCD seems not to be able to handle shading that well. Notice that on many scenes, the part whereby black slowly blends into other colour seems to be a little blockish and colour gradient is not smooth at all. The effect is like ur LCD monitor displaying a sunset scene on 16-bit colour. However, such problem does not exist on the Bravia at all. It seems to be able to handle gradient colours way better than other LCDs. Also i realise taht the Bravia seems to produce less "heat-wave" like image edges while running low-res (TV/VCD). But...the price also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 I think the moment all the LCD/plasma panels starts to show live TV feed, no one would bother to even look at them Not only is the image blur, the aspect ratio is also skewed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 the saving grace would be when all channels are on HD.. but take a few years to come in. I think Best at IMM got live tv feed but must ask them to connect it up. actually the best way to buy LCD is to burn your own tv prog into dvd and ask the shop to play it. Firstly, we get a constant comparison, Secondly, the source, including the quality of antenna cable can be removed, Thirdly, the shop people will know this buyer know his stuff, so don't smoke or do their sales pitch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 Eh.. you think SONY is cheapo meh Philip's LCD now got this ambience light. think that's the reason why they have it, to shift people's attention away from their colour quality Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 (edited) I find the ambience light thing a little too exotic for my liking. The problem comes in when your wall is of a different colour other than white/cream. It'll look just....so wrong... BTW, the panasonic 50-inch plasma that ends with a 70 seems quite pleasing to the eye when watching a normal DVD...wonder is it a good buy at the current price of 3.5K after $400 worth of NTUC vouchers. Dun understand why is it that a 50" plasma seems so cheap when compared to a 50" LCD. The visual difference they give is really so marginal that one will be hard pressed to tell the difference if they were to play those HD DVD scenes even side by side. Edited October 15, 2007 by Rickster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 agree.. the ambience light is a a gimmick.. i don't think we really need it. for the Pana, i think the 70 is made locally. 700 is from Japz and 7 is from china. price is ok for a 50". I'm not too sure about the production of Plasma and LCD but maybe it's more expensive to make big LCD as it started as small LCD monitor for PC usage and people start adding tv card to make it into TV. I would say that for 37inch and above, plasma would be a better choice... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 (edited) Yap, thats right, the ones ending with 70 is assembled locally w/parts from japan. Not only a better choice for viewing pleasure, but for the wallet as well. The price of LCD when it goes above 42" becomes almost like exponential Edited October 15, 2007 by Rickster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 but the spec for LG is rather impressive compared to Pana.. and cheaper as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lorinser 1st Gear October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 Ordered a 42" 700H from Lucky Store with S$400 NTUC/Shell/Taka voucher. Comes with 3 years warranty and wall mount with service to install. Tomorrow they come and fix..... so excited!!! Now Pana has new 700H model, full HD and 100,000hr life but cost 1k more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strat 6th Gear October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 Can PM me how much you got it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 How much u got it for? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 I see, will take a look. wats the model? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 oh... Japz spec.. so how muchic ? For 1k more, but are we really getting that much back from the tv? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 LG PC5... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear December 17, 2007 Share December 17, 2007 i finally took the plunge and buy a pana 42inch full HD plasma...... i was torn between the 50inch plasma HD ready and full hd 42inch the 50 inch they will selling at 3199..... but i still buy the 42 inch plasma with gifts....... so after special christmas price...and gifts and discount vouger, i pay a cool 2800..... can't wait for it to come this sunday Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear December 17, 2007 Share December 17, 2007 Eh.. which model did you get? 2.8k doesn't sound that cheap leh.. usual question. your model number is 7, 70 or 700? between 3.2k and 2.8k, i will take the 50inch coz it's only 400 different. anyway, what gift and vouchers did u get? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...