Jasonllh Neutral Newbie July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 hey bro, check with you. LCD TV looks better with SD broadcast or plasma?? seems like plasma is better leh. wanted to get lcd full hd but stepped on brakes after looking at the Sd broadcast of my friends' sony bravia and sharp at different locations. look grainy and occasionally u can see line interference quite clearly. Due to higher resolution thus magnifying the intereference?? my old ed plasma tv do not produce such problems. maybe bros here can advise? strange thing is everyone is buying LCD TV??? as for plasma for dvd viewing, i still feel it has a more 3d effect cos lcd tv picture looks flat. all other good points u mentioned of lcd applies. that's why i so confuse already ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 anyone bought panasonic plasma TV lately? any feedback on watching TV 5 & 8 vs DVD movies? How does it compare to LCD in TV 5 & 8 prog vs movies (DVD)? pls share yr experience. many thanks Watching TV using plasma is clearer than LCD screens. Reason being LCS screens are made up of pixels and thus, to run the TV shows in a non-native resolution will reult in interpolation. Thus, making your images look blur from a distance and if you go closer, can see blocky & jagged edges. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 I just migrated from CRT to Plasma. Decided to buy the assembled-in-Singapore because of brandname, confidence in local production and cost. No regrets. I, too believe that locally made/assembled products are better in terms of quality than those from countries in this region or china. Plus, supporting our local economy would be good for us in the long run. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 (edited) LCD is better Its so obvious that plasma is losing this game the no. 1 bane of buying a plasma is that it doesn't support PC input. Even panasonic's viera has to keep coming out with "reasons to choose plasma over LCD chart" I got Sony Bravia V series 46inch. one can argue that the contrast ratio blah blah for plasma is better. but come on, LCD is the way to go. Look at Sony, Toshiba, Hitachi, Samsung, LG, Sharp and other big players, they have stopped producing plasma and concentrate full force on LCD. Totally skewed info. Edited July 27, 2007 by Rickster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Focusdude Neutral Newbie July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 thanks bro,Wow good deal, you mean your pana 42PV70 is $2400 then less(- $200-$400) = $1800 for 3yrs warranty? Can confirm pls, if yes, then I will go to Best today or tmr to get 50PV700 Did you get the 5 yrs warranty? Bro, I'll be buying the 42PV70 too (plus a 32" LCD). Any chance we can get better price if we buy together? :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 thanks bro, Wow good deal, you mean your pana 42PV70 is $2400 then less(- $200-$400) = $1800 for 3yrs warranty? Can confirm pls, if yes, then I will go to Best today or tmr to get 50PV700 Did you get the 5 yrs warranty? Wow, u very good at bargaining but then I thinl you are a born-lawyer. I said after $400 less from the NTUC voucher, it was $2400(ie $2800-$400-$200=$2200). 5 years warranty? No the salesman did not seduced me into it, maybe the set can last 7 years so no need. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 I too was once in a local assembled industry for US/Europe/Japan market. But we do have members from Malaysia and China, we make a great team. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 (edited) When I first saw the plasma, I 222 realised that it did not support PC Input. I was infuriate that I went to Japan, and they called the Singapore side to include that in. In fact they did one more up - they add 2 HDMI. Maybe PC 'wireless" TV connection is in the pipeline, please be patience. Edited July 27, 2007 by David Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 Thanks bro for good inputs, I watch TV more on channels 16,12,11 & 10 more often. Based on the feedback, seems plasma has an edge over LCD at the moment. I am thinking of pana model 50PV700, it has SD card slot. I saw the LG plasma with harddisk, looks good, oso the samsung plasma ( only concern, samsung seems very good in LCD tech). the pricing is not much difft, give & take abt $500-700 between these Jap vs Korea plasma model For the Pana which you quoted, it's the Japz model and should cost a few hundred more. Not sure if it's worth you getting one just the SD card slot. BTW, you want the slot for what usage? For LG, look at PC5 and as I wouldn't recommend other model, esp the one with HD. HD usually have higher failure rate, so it's better to get another DVD-recorder with HD inside then get it together with the TV. Samsung is good for LCD but for Plasma, I think the market leader are still Pioneer, Pana and Hitachi. Frankly I just brought my plasma and LCD, so I have done my homework. can let you copy so that you don't go thru the same hassle. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 if you go places like Harvey Norman, I believe you can bargain a bit and also their extented warranty. For neighbour shops, at times, the discount is also quite good. I also got a 42 plasma and 32inch LCD recently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Focusdude Neutral Newbie July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 Thanks bro for the info. Any likelihood that HN can match the pricing for outlets like Audiohouse? By the way, which brands/models did you get for your sets? I presume they're for your living room and bedroom respectively. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 I think their price is quite comparable. you can try getting a quote from Audiohouse and ask HN to match. Unless the dealer have close linkage with the distributer, their profit margin are actually the same. I was actually looking at Pana but in the end, I opt for LG PC5... if you look at the spec of LG, it's better compared to the pioneer, Pana and Hitachi. and the price also very good. 42inch for abt 1.8k with 3 years warranty. If you keen to know more, I can PM you the shop i got it from. the cheapest quote I have for Pana 70 is about 2.1k. the 700 from japan is much more expensive. I would hold the purchase for Pioneer coz the 8 generation is coming out soon. Hitachi is still expensive. If I were to get hitachi, i would top up a bit for pioneer but pioneer is going to have new Gen coming. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 If additional SD slot is a few hundred more, then it is not worth it. save that few hundred, get a PS3($799), you will have slot for MS, SD, and so on... and a Blu Ray player, MP4 player, MP3 player, Web Browser, Linux PC, and play game. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiver Neutral Newbie July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 I was looking for a LCD screen to play my PS3 too. That was B4 the GST hike. The salesman at Megacourts told me that if I wanna get a LCD tv for playing PS3, it is adviseable to get a Sony LCD screen as the dunno wat frequency is more in sync with the PS3 as both products are from Sony. He told me that Xbox or watever wun haf such prob as Xbox dun have its own TV brand. How true is it?? Anyway in the end, I bought a Toshiba LCD due to budget constraint. Was struggling inside whether to heed his advise and get the Sony LCD. But ok lah. I think my screen is rather clear for a 32". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 Yup, that was my point as well. doesn't really justify the premium except that it's made in Japz which have better QC but frankly, local made are not far off as well. Moreover, there's warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 I believe it's the response rate. thus if you have LCD and watching fast action movie or even soccer, you will see shadowing or something to that extent. but not for plasma (correct me if I'm wrong) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Focusdude Neutral Newbie July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 Bro, thanks for your reply. For the LG PC5, any reviews on the internet? I tried searching for them but to no avail. Any freebies that LG is giving for the purchase? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiver Neutral Newbie July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 Hee. Oic. I not really tat IT crazy kind. So i dun really noe. Thanks for the info eh. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...