Vtfoo Neutral Newbie August 14, 2007 Share August 14, 2007 Parked my car at a condo in the east. Happened to park at the resident's lot by accident as the marking on the tarmac was very faint. Furthermore, there were plently of other lots around. But luck would have it, my car was clamped. The thing is the left rear wheel was clamped and I attempted to drive off without seeing the clamp. Of course, the clamp worked like a charm and the car couldn't move. I press harder on the gas and heard some shrieking sound coming from the rear. I got out and smell buring rubber and some smoke coming form the rear left wheel. There was no note on my windscreen or any thing at all that might have warned me about the clamp. And I don't have the habit to check if my car was clamped before moving off(don't think anyone has). Nevertheless, the rims were badly scratched and i suspect the suspension was damaged as well. Anyway, I talked to the security guard and was told that i was the one who committed the offence first by parking at resident's lot so there was no cause for compensation. Now when i drive, i hear a knocking sound coming form the rear suspension. What recourse do I have? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear August 14, 2007 Share August 14, 2007 i suppose there should be a case as they should do their best to notify you even if it was your fault.... And true enough no one will check for wheel clamp...i think I should start checking for one in future....and frankly speaking...they should clamp the right if it is possible....typical singaporean....only think one step only...never think ahead... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redune Neutral Newbie August 14, 2007 Share August 14, 2007 wah u so suay ah.. go F the management and ask for compensation.. even if they were to clamp, they shld leave some notice OR even at least clamp it on the right for u to see.. brainless, i shall say them.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear August 14, 2007 Share August 14, 2007 complain to the the Management. Though u may have committed an offence but they shld at least notify u or place sth on ur windscreen to tell u tt ur car has been wheel-clamped. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissan_s152001 Neutral Newbie August 14, 2007 Share August 14, 2007 Wa liao.... Go F the management... confirm is their fault.... yes u did park in the wrong place... But the stupid guy who clamp ur wheel shd clamp at the right front wheel.... and place a big note to tell u tht the ur car is clamp. Ask the management to pay for the damage.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 14, 2007 Share August 14, 2007 errm i think you can't make any claim since you caused the damage unless.... You might be able to exploit some sort of loophole if they didn't have "clamping signs" enroute from the entrance to the lot you parked at as well as in the vicinity of th the lot as you would have no cause to look for a clamp if you did not know it could be clamped. if the act of putting the clamp on was the cause of the damage then you should be able to get compensation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madscientist Neutral Newbie August 14, 2007 Share August 14, 2007 Hope you got pics of the not so clear signages, etc... as well as the stupid thing to clamp the rear left wheel without notice! Should be able to claim... but may take a long process... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nazaki Clutched August 14, 2007 Share August 14, 2007 If u have money, go sue them. You have ur valid point that they didn't put notice for the wheelclamp on ur car. However, U are at a wrong also given the condo shld have warning signs placed for unauthorized parking. If u have money to spare, attempt a law suit and u might win, but it might take long. Else, just repair ur rims and ur suspensions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear August 15, 2007 Share August 15, 2007 Parked my car at a condo in the east. Happened to park at the resident's lot by accident as the marking on the tarmac was very faint. Furthermore, there were plently of other lots around. But luck would have it, my car was clamped. The thing is the left rear wheel was clamped and I attempted to drive off without seeing the clamp. Of course, the clamp worked like a charm and the car couldn't move. I press harder on the gas and heard some shrieking sound coming from the rear. I got out and smell buring rubber and some smoke coming form the rear left wheel. There was no note on my windscreen or any thing at all that might have warned me about the clamp. And I don't have the habit to check if my car was clamped before moving off(don't think anyone has). Nevertheless, the rims were badly scratched and i suspect the suspension was damaged as well. Anyway, I talked to the security guard and was told that i was the one who committed the offence first by parking at resident's lot so there was no cause for compensation. Now when i drive, i hear a knocking sound coming form the rear suspension. What recourse do I have? They are supposed to put a sign or note to inform you that your car is being wheel clamped. If you need help in claiming ... do give me a call .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear August 15, 2007 Share August 15, 2007 Yes ... must sue them ... then the security guard kana ... then next time don't dare to wheel clamp other people's car liao. But if he don't do that .... management complain ... so end up ... he sure unhappy ... then quit ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear August 15, 2007 Share August 15, 2007 The security is damn kok lah... clamp on the left rear wheel. actually i think u should approach the condo management for compensation, i'm sure there should be some form of standard procedure for wheel clamping, like clamping on the right side or leaving a note, which in this case doesn't seem to be correctly done. better go settle this issue quickly before they denial everything ever happened. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 15, 2007 Share August 15, 2007 I think it's the security guard who is the kok. He may have did it on purpose. The clamp should be on the front driver side wheel where it's obvious. So sneaky put on the left rear wheel. I think on purpose one lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie August 15, 2007 Share August 15, 2007 You can claim damages to your car. Damages to your car and parking offence are two seperate issues. You can pay them the fee to remove the clamp but you can sue till their pants drop for the damages to your car. Seek a lawyer asap. He will advise you the course of action. You have a good case to fight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched August 15, 2007 Share August 15, 2007 Parked my car at a condo in the east. Happened to park at the resident's lot by accident as the marking on the tarmac was very faint. Furthermore, there were plently of other lots around. But luck would have it, my car was clamped. The thing is the left rear wheel was clamped and I attempted to drive off without seeing the clamp. Of course, the clamp worked like a charm and the car couldn't move. I press harder on the gas and heard some shrieking sound coming from the rear. I got out and smell buring rubber and some smoke coming form the rear left wheel. There was no note on my windscreen or any thing at all that might have warned me about the clamp. And I don't have the habit to check if my car was clamped before moving off(don't think anyone has). Nevertheless, the rims were badly scratched and i suspect the suspension was damaged as well. Anyway, I talked to the security guard and was told that i was the one who committed the offence first by parking at resident's lot so there was no cause for compensation. Now when i drive, i hear a knocking sound coming form the rear suspension. What recourse do I have? write in to managment and complain. ask for compensate. tell them if they don't you will write in to the press and media. see they scare anot. if not write in lor. they lose face sure scare 1. if they get your car done without having to fook out a cent. den fine. if not write in. at least you do smt. maybe they will compensate you. suing is a little over liao. i think not very possible bah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear August 15, 2007 Share August 15, 2007 Wtf those stupid morons !!! Want to clamp , do it at the driver side mah . Also , notices must be issue to warn the owners irregardless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silhoutte Clutched August 15, 2007 Share August 15, 2007 Agreed. You have a very good case to fight. Give it to them one time good! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie August 15, 2007 Share August 15, 2007 Not to put down people but most of the time, these security guards may not earn enough to own a car so they do not know much about such things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Medane Neutral Newbie August 15, 2007 Share August 15, 2007 Seek adv from lawyer and see if you hv good case to put forward and appropriate compensation. It hv been my practise to go around the car before getting in to ensure visible condition of my vehicle. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...