Rickster 5th Gear August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 (edited) Hi, yesterday my mom was driving my car when she reversed and accidentally scrapped against a gate with some screw-head protruding out. The resulting aftermath is as shown. The part that is circled is especially bad that i can even see the bare metal Wats the $ damage that i can be expected to fix this wound or can it even be completely repaired in the first place? Edited August 20, 2007 by Rickster ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 fix is only knock back and spray lor.. damage ard $150-$200 outside workshop treat as 1 panel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 20, 2007 Author Share August 20, 2007 Thx bro. Well, don't really mind paying that amount but really hope they can fix it back to the original condition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pathfinders Neutral Newbie August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 maybe it's just me, if the car is older, i would just touch up the exposed bare metal and not go for repair. practical rules for me esp in our country where cars only 'live' for 10 yrs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 20, 2007 Author Share August 20, 2007 Thought bout that, but i guess i'm gonna stick to my car for at least 3 more years. Currently its almost 1.5 years only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 whilst u spend tat amount, dun rush to the painter. goto one of those ICE shops and fix a 4 point reverse sensor and have them spray those as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohdj Neutral Newbie August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 had the same damage as ur car before. the workshop knocked whatever they could....then they applied putty and spray over it. was as good as new. price was S$200. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 Back to original will be difficult. No matter how good the worksmanship u'll still see the uneven shade of the paint on close-up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 20, 2007 Author Share August 20, 2007 Good to know that, which workshop u went to? Can I hav the name and address? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 20, 2007 Author Share August 20, 2007 Yea, guess the marks will not 100% go off, but as long as its not obvious to the untrained eye, thats as good as I can ask for liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 20, 2007 Author Share August 20, 2007 4 point? Hmm, how much? Will be very suitable for my mom when she drives...somehow women drivers are especially bad when it comes to reversing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 reverse sensor ard a couple of hundreds also. but u need to spray the sensor head same color else ugly. so much buy 1st then fix later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohdj Neutral Newbie August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 the one i went to got shut down after the landlord sold the place away... not familiar with any paint shop now....but if u can...try to get a workshop which uses glasurit paints....they're very very good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohdj Neutral Newbie August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 Back to original will be difficult. No matter how good the worksmanship u'll still see the uneven shade of the paint on close-up. usually they will blend the paint into the existing paint...so it depends on the spray painter's skill.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 2 panels...shouldnt cost more than $150. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 20, 2007 Author Share August 20, 2007 I c, will ask them for that glasurit paints. Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 20, 2007 Author Share August 20, 2007 Yap, guess should be around there...$150-200 sounds reasonable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 20, 2007 Author Share August 20, 2007 (edited) reverse sensor ard a couple of hundreds also. but u need to spray the sensor head same color else ugly. so much buy 1st then fix later. Wa, thats ex no point spending so much. Next time ask my mom to take my dad's car instead of mine then no problem liao Edited August 20, 2007 by Rickster ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...