Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 I see. Sorry to have to rake up your past ..it must have hurt and left a deep scar on you. My condolences. I guess from the way you described you might be having a stage 1 v-tec... that means it opened once ... if you have had a stage 2 v-tec you might succeed .. cos you can open twice .... but honestly the VVT-i is also a good technology ... i am not sure how often it opens though .. must ask the G9 owners around here... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 some people said the DOHC Vtec opens twice one at aorund 5000rpm and the other at around 7200rpm. there are no facts to prove though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 i heard mine does open twice. once at 5.5k and the other at about 6k thereabouts. anyway i duno mine suppose open how many times but as long i am the one in front can liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 hope this helps you all. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VTEC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 The opening of the intake valves and exhaust valves are governed by the degree of the cams. Thus if you are SOHC, you are using one timing for both intake and exhaust. Engineers found that to be rather limiting for performance thus DOHC, (two cams) were used. Intake cam: This cam is used to control the opening and duration of the opening of the intake valves. Exhaust cam: same as about but this time it is for the exhuast valves. This way, tuners can set different degrees for the cams. At high RPMs, the opening of both the intake and exhaust valves have some form of overlap, thus tuners can set the exhaust valves to close a little later, forming a srong vaccum in the combustion chamber, thus when the intake valve start to open, air is sucked in very strongly. Performance is a relative term here. It doesn't mean a SOHC 1.6 has less performance than a DOHC 1.6. A well engineered SOHC 1.6 can also achieve similar if not better bhp, 0-100 and top speed than a DOHC 1.6. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 my previous ride was city vtec, but it ever was eaten by VVT-i corolla G9, shame to talkyears ago, on highway I runned at about 110km/h on extreme right lane, a corolla G9 tailgated me a while, then shifted to left lane tried to overtake me, I floored my throtle (tot Vtec kicked in aready), but the corolla G9 still could overtake me and shifted back to extreme right lane in front of me why did my vtec not work Too bad, KM doesn't conduct lesson on how to use VTEC. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 MUST READ this will clarify everything! http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/VTEC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 Do you mean to say a Non Vtec Corolla can outrun a Vetc ? No way.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcff_1980 Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 sorry my bad about the mistake. 3stage vtec (vtec open twice) should be found in the 96 EK vti (SOHC vtec D-engine), purpose of 3stage vtec is actually suppose to be more fuel efficient instead of power. the B-engine 2stage vtec (open once) is still the more powerful Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snookium 1st Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 Hi, my 3 stage EK VTI vtec(SOHC) is Rev 1 - 3K runs on 12 valve == fuel efficent Rev 3-6K open up to 16 valve == normal fuel intake 6 to redline Cam lifted ( Vtec open) == Chiong mode Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 Bro, you got downshift first to kick your rpm up first? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 That's interesting! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 I see. Sorry to have to rake up your past ..it must have hurt and left a deep scar on you. My condolences. I guess from the way you described you might be having a stage 1 v-tec... that means it opened once ... if you have had a stage 2 v-tec you might succeed .. cos you can open twice .... but honestly the VVT-i is also a good technology ... i am not sure how often it opens though .. must ask the G9 owners around here... no problem, that time I was a new driver, not skillful enough, I think I made some mistake when the G9 tried to overtake 1. I didn't shift down gear before stepping throtle, now I believe this is a major mistake 2. a bit late to find G9's attempt 3. might be the G9 was mod, it could speed up to 130-140km/h shortly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyflirt Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 Hmmmm...... for vtec so far i know is only open once. the norm to open vtec should be 5500rpm for dohc and sohc unless yuo have vtec controller. as for vtec to open twice i dun tink so leh b15(sohc) and b16 all open once as for b18 think also open twice. for b20 i can feel the vtec come in 3500rpm and 5500rpm. i'm not sure whether i feel wrongly anot cos i m using a b20 c urrently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 my previous ride was city vtec, but it ever was eaten by VVT-i corolla G9...why did my vtec not work Was your city manual or auto? sometimes, it is the gearing rather the engine bhp that determines the initial kick during WOT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcff_1980 Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 who do your b20c? HV? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 manual Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 That could be it... so VTEC kick is determined by RPM? but honestly kicking in a second time at above 6k rpm cant do much mah .. cos hit redline already .. also no where to kick already ... I suspect that G9 has installed the Ninja Charger ... that one german technology ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...