Milgram Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 We motorists should petition this to the Gov...the only thing I'm apprehensive about is whether they will listen and act on it or not...or just give us some lame reason to shove the traffic light camera option down our throats.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear September 14, 2007 Author Share September 14, 2007 since P&P rule singapore, when they ever listened to civilian sound Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verna24 1st Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 I heard sometimes even if there are flash and you got caught.. the TP will have to review the photo. If your number plate is ambigious, e.g. number is not clear or a bird was flying past your number plate ..then they cannot prosecute you, so you are safe.. I saw some car plates very reflective..i think they did on purpose, if camera flash..only see bright reflection..if TP bikes catch them..i wonder how much fine... in USA, the reflective licence plates are legal i think..saw in car magazines (USA) before... then a bird must be flying behing my no plate at tat time, cost i did not change my plate thru out but then...........i also worried 4 quite sm time lah, and nw i always slow dwn when near traffic, no matter in front gt car or nt. till nw, my records r clean will 1 it 2 b like this thru out my driving life Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Agree with you bro.... traffic light cam does not help a bit.... my place nearby got a traffic junction with the cam.... every now and then, I will hear cars/lorry/bus doing e-brake..... kns.... and a few time, after e-brake I hear a pom sound.... langga liao.... ... think the countdown timer will be more helpful.... I am sure some of you are aware that at some of our traffic junction, you will see camera mounted on a lamp post.... like those you see on the expressway.... matta say is for security and what not.... but who can guarantee it is not use to catch traffic offender.... and you can see more of this camera..... so next time, they may phase out the traffic cam and use this instead.... you don't see camera flash, don't even know you kena until you see the letter.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minicop Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 very true!if got countdown timer, I would not overtake that lorry liao I guess SG gov can install the countdown timer, but I guess they will increase road tax or ERP cause they will mention that it need money to install, maintain and repair the timer. End up we pay and pay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minicop Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Well it is always like this. Then when you ask for photo to review and where the source of photo. They will tell it you it confidential so cannot show the source. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dankoo 4th Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 You can also use the arrows painted on the road to gauge. There are 3 arrows before each junction. If your car at the last arrow when lights starts to change before junction, then you are quite safe to cross before the it turns red. If you are at the first arrow (meaning 2 more to go), then you should slow and stop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 seriously this photo thing is really telok.... last time on the road, kena caught and summon you know right away..... nowaday, sometime you don't even know you commit an offence until you receive the letter from TP..... and worst, you gotta take it that you commit the offence.... you wanna appeal, firstly, it happen so long ago, we really cannot remember what we did and secondly, they make it hell of trouble for you to do it.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 just slow down and DUN BEAT the redlight... then nothing to worry at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcff_1980 Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 countdown timer good! countdown left 4 sec = speed up and chiong left 3 sec = better floor trottle and chiong! left 2 sec = better drop gear/ kui vtec/ kui turbo/ mivec/ vvti whatever u have and CHIONGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 yup its very bright...like lightning and 2 or 3 flashes... *personal experience Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 or were there any more cars behind u when u beat it? from hearsay, its only the last car who will kena... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 for car, it is okay... cause most of the car can reallly really floor the accelerator and cheong if really boh bian.... the last time I kena the traffic camera, was driving a van.... my fault also not alert enough.... when the light turn amber... I hesistated, step on the brake, sxxt, too late, too near and cannot brake too hard as van will skip... so try to floor the accelerator, NB.... step until the accelerator want to drop to the road liao the van just crawl forward.... after that, candid camera... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 then again, I think most of us got no intention to cheong red light.... it's that sometime, you drive to a spot near the traffic light where you have to deicde in a split second either to cheong or brake...... the raod condition like night time or raining make it worst... and of course we got to understand our ride... else like the post above about me driving my van.... thought after brake liao can still cheong.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 same experience also.... it is damn bright.... unless blind, else sure to know you kena candid camera..... Then again, have you guys had this experience..... was driving along Yishun Road, near the Kathib MRT, where there is a Cam there.... a few times liao.... when I drive pass, suddenly there was flash.... NB, got a shock, not sure what happening, did I speed, oh no... but cannot be, not driving very fast.... then realise it is lightning.... going to rain.... NB.... another one is along Orchard Road.... drive pass the traffic light, kena flash, got a shock, then realise it is those tourist taking picture.... NB... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 15, 2007 Share September 15, 2007 If you kenna, it's $200 plus 12 points... But since there wasn't any flash, chances are you never kenna... Wait 2 weeks lor... If you have nothing by then, you are safe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobangking88 Neutral Newbie September 15, 2007 Share September 15, 2007 Hi there, Best to play safe and slow down, just in case a kid decided to beat his red pedestrian light and decided to cross and never see u, especially at night hard to see pedestrians at times, imagine what might happen.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobangking88 Neutral Newbie September 15, 2007 Share September 15, 2007 (edited) Actually the Arrow marking on the road is a good judge, normally u can see abt 2 arrows just before the STop line. If its yellow, if u pass the 1st arrow, usually able to cross, if not better to stop already and play it safe. Edited September 15, 2007 by Lobangking88 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...