Lane change etiquette

Nhyone

the BMW driver is seriously [thumbsdown] You were on a bike some more and he just forced you out of your path like that [thumbsdown] MCF should make a thread on the compilation of dangerous drivers [sweatdrop]

Kena the same thing yesterday. I was on the filtering lane from SLE into Woodlands Ave 12. A blue Comfort cab (The new Hyundai ones) overshot the exit & forced his way into the filter lane instead of slowing down. Almost sideswiped me. But, what the hell.... whaddya expect of taxi drivers.... hahaha!!

Not worth thinking about it anymore since used to this type of behavior on SG roads...

I'm a biker too... and was riding for 5 years till I started driving....

It has already been a long complaint that bikers shouldn't squeeze in between lanes. But there are other times when drivers also complain that bikers take up entire lanes. It's just a never-ending cycle.

I never believe in riding a bike in the centre of the lane all the time, cos that is a rather stupid thing to do. But of course, if you wanna squeeze in between... it's still possible to do it in a safe manner. However, I would say that the onus of the safety depends on the biker.. cos these are the places where the drivers can't see you.

TS, I would presume that you are riding a honda wave or something of similar capacity (judging from your fuel consumption). These bikes are sure faster in pick up from a stationery position... but loses out after it reaches 50-60 km/h compared to cars. To make myself clearer, my definition of "losing out" means that the bike cannot pull cleanly away from cars when you twist the throttle in an instant compared to Class 2A/2 bikes.

My humble advice to you is to give way and take evasive action. It would all be too late if some idiot comes up close to you from behind and end up crashing into you. I've had too many friends ending in such a scenario.

Yup, being defensive is the best way, but it's not always possible to make the correct decision in a spilt second. I believed there was no space to overtake, that's why I didn't slow down, for example.

I live by one philosophy when I'm riding: there's no right of way on a motorbike.

I disagree with Magiya when he said Singapore roads are scary. I've had only a handful of dangerous encounters in 2-3/4 years of riding. But any one of them may have been sufficient to end my life. [sweatdrop]

I could kick his door, if you want to know how close he was.

kick la. i kicked a taxi door before. was wearing my cycling shoes (which are quite heavy due to steel plate in the sole) then, gave him a shock. [sly][sly]

of course, he was turning left and i was going straight. otherwise i also LPPL [laugh][laugh]

on a more serious note, u can kick, u can horn, but u are STILL a biker on singapore streets. [:/] gotta put up with some sh!t

u drive too? MY bikers will pull even more stunts.. there is really no end [shakehead]

it seems like courtesy doesn't begin with me here [:(]

Why can't our people learn more social grace?

it did begin with u.

it also ended with u [laugh][laugh]

happy driving [drivingcar]

Edit: may i add, no need to go to US, so far. go Malaysia can liao. the drivers there are miles better in skill, etiquette and situational awareness. the main problem is that they tend to be quite crazy and "fierce". but when it matters (i.e, jam, cruising on highway, approaching ambulance), they will give way.

in SG? BAH [shakehead]

Edited by Boyboy

all these wouldnt happen if you ride in the center of the lane. you dont see cars driving in between lanes do you? you also dun see cars in between lanes at traffic lights.

Becos I think either its very expensive to signal (cos of the bulb), or they scared that if they signal, something will happen to their loved ones. [laugh]

No need etiquette in the future...

Automatic lane change... coming soon

https://www.facebook.com/tvasahinews/videos/771818549612554/

Will be damn useful once all the cars are connected and talking to each other... you can then have a drive like they showed in "i-Robot" with Will Smith.

Problem is though that it takes away the joy of driving [thumbsdown] But if it means I don't have to deal with drivers like below... it might not be so bad after all [:p]

(Please excuse the language)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=05pnnMan1jg

Will be damn useful once all the cars are connected and talking to each other... you can then have a drive like they showed in "i-Robot" with Will Smith.

Problem is though that it takes away the joy of driving [thumbsdown] But if it means I don't have to deal with drivers like below... it might not be so bad after all [:p]

(Please excuse the language)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=05pnnMan1jg

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Aiya... happen everyday lah. Some people cannot make up their mind mah.

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Aiya... happen everyday lah. Some people cannot make up their mind mah.

Yep true... damn frustrating when it happens though. Times like these I think T4 has the right idea when he says have to drive fast... to keep others in their toes [laugh]