Weichien Clutched September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 seems like church always have rotton egg threw at them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 Wahz.. Simi church? Say lehz, then people can siam farfar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 I guess when u have kids U'd find out that kids dont always listen to their parents & parents do not have much control over what their kids do. Some churches brainwash their followers. I have had friends who'se churches even dictate who can be their friends or who they can even date. If they have marital disputes they will places cameras all over their home to record what is being said etc. Its not easy to decern whether a church is true to the teachings of Christ or just out to promote its own self interest. To know whether the tree is good or rotten, you have to see what kind of fruit it bears .:) I also know of a friend whose church object his relationship with another girl in the same church. Ultimately, Love prevails and they are finally married, they both left that church too. My cousin also need my aunty's fury before she woke up and go back to her book during her 'A' level last year. She was spending too time in the church, same goes for her elder sis whose in NUS. The younger one eventually did the family proud and score either 4 or 5 As in her 'A' level. So time management is very important. I have nothing against any religion. Sometimes, its the goers that got themselves invloved too deep. Still I feel someone should be there to watch over the young teenagers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 How many mega-churches here ? Can count on one hand liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 Got meh. I can onli think of 2 hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 haha. 1 in the west 2 in the city 1 in the east. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 The west 1 also operate in the east leh so how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 1 west 1 also operating in the east. but there's another 1 in east which also operating in upper east Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 i am lost Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 1 church actually operating in the west. 1 of the most expensive church in sg and in asia i think this is the 1 u're talking about which also operating in the east due to space constrain. another 1 operating in the east and in the central have since operate in the east. same district as the 1 on top. there's 2 more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 20, 2007 Author Share September 20, 2007 Not really all church... but always that "selected" few that keeps getting hantum. I've the privillege of attending 14 yrs of education in Methodist schools (Kindergarten, primary, secondary and jc) and i would say the problem lies in the way they preach and reach out to people. I've seen pastors and religious leaders during my school days who spoke passionately about the good of their faith. They really live and breath by the words of God. I've also seen how these same people condemn other faith/religions. What's the point man? I don't see other religion doing the same thing back to them... so why this hostility? I mean, how would they feel if others speak bad of them? A religion is one that provides guidance and support to its believers. Religion teaches its believers in leading a purposeful life. If other religions are able to provide all these, what's wrong in believing them. The scary part about these "new-age" church is the way they market themselves: State of the art auditorium, internet/webcam broadcast, tithe machine payable by Nets/Credit Card, trendy cafe (similar to Starbucks standard). On a social level, they many levels of support group. I asked one of the person in charge why is there a need for all these, in my opinion, luxuries. She said all these are necessities as their aim is to make the church a place like a family so that young people will wanna come. So i told her that didn't she realise that becos of all these "goodies", the youngsters are now spending more time in Church than at home? She said the church is aware and they are happy with it. To me, this is all wrong. A family is the basic unit of society. Nothing can replace it. What this church is doing is exactly what the sender of letter to ST forum is highlighting Just my views hoh... btw my religion is SEX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 We can start a new religion together liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 20, 2007 Author Share September 20, 2007 hahaha.... just look for the ones with chio chio architectural, multi-million facade made of titanium can leow!! another good indication is the number of young chio that goes in and out of the premises Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 Everything in sg must be commercialize mah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 20, 2007 Author Share September 20, 2007 hahaha!!! Bow down to the almight Durex!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 Oh mighty DUREX!!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 20, 2007 Share September 20, 2007 This will be the big hit among sg. Who know we can even beat the ................ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...