BMW 3 series or Lexus IS250

Fivegear

I have owned a BMW 328i and Merc C class before getting the recent IS250.

The BMW is best to drive. It's not a performance car. WRX or Lancer Evo is but the IL-6 BMW are sweet to drive. BMWs are expensive to maintain and electrics do go wrong often, about 2x/year. Nothing major but still a nuisance to go to workshop. Forget about the 320i, 4 pot and it's so lethargic. The BMW interiors are too bland. Well built but bland.

The Merc C is safe, refined and reasonably reliable. Overall good but overpriced.

The IS 250 is by far the most refined. It's engine is so quiet and has a lot of nice features. Doesnt bother me if it's a toyota etc. It's a good car. Serive is butler like !! Beware a bit of tyre noise and the cramped back seats though.

Like for like price wise, IS 250 over BMW 320 (and even 323 which has a smooth but toothless engine). C 180 is just to underpowered, almost as bad as the 320. Only my 2 cents worth

bro

must compare apple with apple mah. IS250 compare with C280 la

irresponsible idiot. there are others out on nsh. u wanna drive fast, go track. i curse all who speed and hope for them to burn in hell or if not, burn at the side of highway after their crash.

Yes u r right mate - I already fear god so dun worry, this time I forgot - pls blame the car itis sooo quite - I din know it was doing tt speed until I came back & check online I kena summon............. Haiz....... i am old leow laaaa pls dun curse me laaaa. For your concern, I will pray tt you dun crash & burn by a snail traffic on the NSH. [;)]

I agree that irresponsible driving is inconsiderate but by "cursing" them, what diff are you from them? What goes around comes around. Chill mate!

Yeap, fully agreed ........ :D

Dammed I got caught doing 220km doing on the NSH & that stupid Lexus saleman now tell me the IS250 only cut off at 240km........

Best part abt the IS250 is i din even know i was doing 220km...... haaa haaaaa

Now my girl friday who paid the fine, tell me if i dun break 240 she is not paying my fine for me.......

BMW is soooooooooooooo old school

So you should get something faster than 220km/h, now your girl thinks that you are a kid and wouldn't pay for you.

When I was 21 year old, I already do 200km/h constantly, for almost 2 hours, in UK. It was just a 5 cylinder Fiat.

Now, 10 years on, I am doing 240km/h, simply because anything faster than that I will not be able to handle the emergencies. I don't consider this fast because Porsche, Ferrari, lamborghini can do much better in term of stability and brakes, and my car is just not meant to go too fast.

Old school? Ya, I'm kind of traditional, Lexus is too modern for me. I better stick to Merc and BMW, you young guys can go for Lexus.

Yeah people buy bmw just because it's perceived to be a good car.

But the low end bmw are just not refined enough.

Lately I go chance to drive a 320i, the cabin is noisy, the interior is normal, the suspension is soft, some resonance when

In first or reverse gear( without stepping on the accel).

Worst is the pungent smell from the air con on initial start up! There is mould in the air con system for a 6 month car!!

I will never get a low end bmw. It's really for people who want to live the bmw fake dream!

Agree!! ^_^

bro

must compare apple with apple mah. IS250 compare with C280 la

But he's correct also, dollar for dollar, IS250 is value for money. It is like the NTUC fairprice of luxurious car.

But one thing, Lexus is clever to start the hybrid technology, that part I respect them a lot. Now BMW and Merc maybe using turbo or diesel to achieve the better fuel economy, but Lexus was leading the pack when it started selling Hybrids in the luxurious market.

But he's correct also, dollar for dollar, IS250 is value for money. It is like the NTUC fairprice of luxurious car.

But one thing, Lexus is clever to start the hybrid technology, that part I respect them a lot. Now BMW and Merc maybe using turbo or diesel to achieve the better fuel economy, but Lexus was leading the pack when it started selling Hybrids in the luxurious market.

lexus give u more displacement for the same money lor

So you should get something faster than 220km/h, now your girl thinks that you are a kid and wouldn't pay for you.

When I was 21 year old, I already do 200km/h constantly, for almost 2 hours, in UK. It was just a 5 cylinder Fiat.

Now, 10 years on, I am doing 240km/h, simply because anything faster than that I will not be able to handle the emergencies. I don't consider this fast because Porsche, Ferrari, lamborghini can do much better in term of stability and brakes, and my car is just not meant to go too fast.

Old school? Ya, I'm kind of traditional, Lexus is too modern for me. I better stick to Merc and BMW, you young guys can go for Lexus.

Waahh .... cool man when I was 21 - riding 125cc old bike into JB doing sales 50km per hour only.... cant even remember the bike model or brand, it was loan to me by bike shop bec nobody wans it.

Driving safely & stay alert when doing fast..... dun doze off like the stupid double deck bus driver on the NSH near Ipoh.

I personally believe choice of cars is really a life style choice. For me, the Merc is an old man car, since I am old leow better dun drive a merc. The BMWs have a scary service records too many problems. Lexus hmmmm so far so good ley ................. cheap & good ....... also very sporty & fast ( IS250 ).

[rolleyes]

Edited by Limbat

Waahh .... cool man when I was 21 - riding 125cc old bike into JB doing sales 50km per hour only.... cant even remember the bike model or brand, it was loan to me by bike shop bec nobody wans it.

Driving safely & stay alert when doing fast..... dun doze off like the stupid double deck bus driver on the NSH near Ipoh.

I personally believe choice of cars is really a life style choice. For me, the Merc is an old man car, since I am old leow better dun drive a merc. The BMWs have a scary service records too many problems. Lexus hmmmm so far so good ley ................. cheap & good ....... also very sporty & fast ( IS250 ).

[rolleyes]

hi bro

lexus.. to some is expensive jap car leh...and i see the interior i get headache

BMW 3-Series Specifications

2,996 cc 3.0 liters in-line 6 front engine with 85.0 mm bore, 88.0 mm stroke, 10.7 compression ratio, double overhead cam, variable valve timing/camshaft and four valves per cylinder N52

Power: 172 kW , 230 HP SAE @ 6,500 rpm; 200 ft lb , 270 Nm @ 2,750 rpm

Lexus IS250 Specifications

2,499 cc 2.5 liters V 6 front engine with 83.0 mm bore, 77.0 mm stroke, 12.0 compression ratio, double overhead cam, variable valve timing/camshaft and four valves per cylinder 4GR-FSE

Power: 152 kW , 204 HP SAE @ 6,400 rpm; 185 ft lb , 251 Nm @ 4,800 rpm

To me,i still going for beemer performance.Always choose for Germany's Performance.

hi bro

lexus.. to some is expensive jap car leh...and i see the interior i get headache

Yes, mate - here the price comparision is between BMW & Mercedes ( maybe also VWs & Mini ) price range.

Me hor... 1st few day not yet see the interior got headache leow ( bang my head against the low roof ). I am still trying to get use to the interior, but the sound system siok man.... I also love the seat cooler - now my big backside always cool on long rides. :wub:

Yes, mate - here the price comparision is between BMW & Mercedes ( maybe also VWs & Mini ) price range.

Me hor... 1st few day not yet see the interior got headache leow ( bang my head against the low roof ). I am still trying to get use to the interior, but the sound system siok man.... I also love the seat cooler - now my big backside always cool on long rides. :wub:

haha yes the audio and soundproofing i have to agree. the perforated seats also i very impressed. even my C-class dont have these. but you see even japs car 1 range below eg. camry / accord got that kind of command interface with the dial. IS should also have it instead of so many buttons.

BMW 3 series any day over the Lexus (aka Toyota)......its not just whats under the hood, theres a refined understated elegance about the 3 series that makes it even more desireable then the Mercedes contractors car....