Adrianli Hypersonic October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 Cameron Highlands Road Trip 02/10/07 Woke up 5.40am n ready for a road trip. The last time I visited CH was in 1990 during the world cup, that was some 17yrs ago!!! Set off at 6am sharp with me pulling wife out of the house door. As u guys should know ladies take their own sweet time. Went for a splash n dash to meet our ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 8, 2007 Author Share October 8, 2007 03/10/07 Had a early sleep the night b4 n woke up early. There was nothing much to do, switch on the TV n watch whatever was on it. They had astro channels like Starsports n Star Movies, etc plus the free to air channels. Took out my virtual tourist printed guide I printed for the trip n looked thru the places of interest to visit. The main places to visit are Tea Plantations, Strawberry Farm, Bee Farm and Vegetable Farm. Had my Duning Donuts breakfast n it was yummy, beat all the whatever donut outlet in SG even after being kept overnight. We left for the two Strawberry farms that were at the foot of our resort. They were Kasimis n Healthy Strawberry farm. Looked ard n no self-plucking allowed. However they do let us sample their strawberries. They were sour lor!!! Yucks!!! We left empty handed n decided to head for the top of CH, which was Gunang Brinchang then to the tea plantation. On our way there, we came upon the biggest town in CH, Brinchang. I missed a turn going up Gunang Brinchang n drove till a dead end n chanced upon a huge vegetable farm. Took a few pics and was surprised to see them farming corn at CH. I never tot corn is able to be grown in cold climates. The place a bit stink due to the natural fertilizer they use, aka some animal rear waste. Re-tracked n followed my GPS up to Gunang Brinchang. But halfway, there was an AWAS sign n we did not proceed further. Juz b4 the AWAS sign, there was a Mountain Strawberry farm. We decided to pay them a visit. There was an animal farm on the premises also, but it was pretty rundown except for a few domestic animals. Took some pics n went over to see the plants there. They have many varieties of plants n lots of cactus. A Banglah showed up n followed us ard showing us ard too. Saw a obscene looking cactus that looks like a man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 8, 2007 Author Share October 8, 2007 04/10/07 Breakfast was curry puff n samosa from the pasar malam we bought the day before. By 9am, we checked out n bid farewell to Strawberry Park Resort. I decided to take the newer route, Simpang Pulai, down CH. The roads were wider and allow me to travel at a much higher speed. Basically, avg speed down hill was 90-100km/h. I Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 You bed at Melaka like the aftermath of some hot action with your wife. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 8, 2007 Author Share October 8, 2007 No lah, its taken in the morning b4 we wana check out. Using a hp camera. No hot action in morning lah. It happened the night b4. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moonwalker Neutral Newbie October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 Nice photos and thanks for sharing.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 how much u pay for bayview? used to stay there during my last company business trip ... after they upgrade (lobby only) and increase the room rate, no longer stay there liao ... why u didnt take pix of the bare bottom guy?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moonwalker Neutral Newbie October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 btw..Gunung Brinchang is at 2000m above sea level, drive along the highest road in Peninsular Malaysia to reach to the top. Panoramic view..a TV reception tower up there and the Equatorial Hotel is right below.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 8, 2007 Author Share October 8, 2007 I book them thru asiarooms, S$98 per night. Not bad at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bentwy Neutral Newbie October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 thanks for the pics and write-up bro. CH used to be like a 2nd home to me growing up. it has changed alot since then. last visted last dec. thanks for bringing back the memories! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Batliwala Neutral Newbie October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 Great news, good pictures and good reporting.....dude you made it to the top of Guning Brichang......wasnt there as caution sign (can see that board lying with the barricade tape on road). Wonderful you put a photo at the junction I turned around I think it is very close to the top about 1 more km. Nice photos I will put my photos also soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 8, 2007 Author Share October 8, 2007 Nope, I never make it to the top. Stopped at the AWAS sign there. The large signboard of G. Brinchang is exactly where the AWAS sign is. Dont wana take any risk. FYI, I'm one of the very few wearing bermudas n short sleeve shirt everywhere I went. All the locals were wraped up. The weather was cooling like turning on the aircon. Suits me well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 8, 2007 Author Share October 8, 2007 It brought back memories of mine too, 17yrs ago when I last visited n stayed at a bunglow. It is still ard till today. No change at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 i going penang in nov Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 great writeup bro! Like ur pics, esp the accident one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyongchi 1st Gear October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 Drove to the top during my last trip up last year. Tracks at certain parts are very narrow, only good for one car. If u meet another car coming down, u're in big trouble. One of u has to give way. Certain stretch are very steep too - 1st gear up. Was very worried w gearbox overheating. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carcraze 1st Gear October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 "Nope, I never make it to the top. Stopped at the AWAS sign there. The large signboard of G. Brinchang is exactly where the AWAS sign is. Dont wana take any risk." bro, good thing you didn't continue. your sunny might not have made it to the peak. i was there last month with my family. we took the CR-V. the "AWAS" sign was not there at that time. there was this section of the road -nearing the peak- completely destroyed. it was like a true off-road track. big pot holes, all sand and small rocks(no tar at all). it was raining as well. so the track became really "muddy". A couple of times, the rear wheels did spin but the so-call "intelligent" AWD system would kick in (thou a tad slow in terms of reaction time) and get us out of that situation. i stayed at Strawberry Park as well but paid a much higher rate. RM170 is a real good deal!! You should have visited the coffee house in strawberry park resort. Their scones are really good! The fresh strawberry milkshake was lovely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shox87 4th Gear October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 lovely writeup bro. normally my family and i would stay over at hotel equatorial whenever we go up to malacca. but theres a new hotel near the seaside opening this month. its the HOLIDAY INN. looks really good. hear that they are having the buy 1 nite free 1 nite offer. not too sure bout that. too bad, im not too sure where most of the speed traps are along the NSH. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...