PSLE Math Qns

Simplyme

you mean dy/dx kind one har...gave back to my teacher and it is in the grave nowlipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.gif

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gifme oni interested in atomic stuff like prodn of X-rays, Compton scatter, photoelectric, gamma, photons, blah blah

Ha Ha i was also shock to know pri sch start to learn algebra [dizzy]

She cant complaint la, wait the P invite her to her office to drink kopi how [:(]

Anyway she said the model thingy the kid is learning now is actually to help them to understand algebra with ease in the later stage wo [laugh]

Dont know how true but I dont appreciate the model thingy also... me old dog cant learn new tricks ba...

Walan compton effect somemore!!! Sibeh cheem...

Last time I read the material sucked into black holes revolves around an accretion disc before dropping beyond the event horizon... think Bai Singh works the same way also when his c0ck enters other ppl's black holes [lipsrsealed][laugh]

Edited by Porker

man...that is one hole of no returndizzy.gifdizzy.gifdizzy.gif

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gifbut can you imagine the supernova effect from the opp end of the man/womanlipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.gif

laugh.gifPosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

who is this smart aleck in the ST comments:

gabrielwyl

Yesterday, 10:18 AM

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Frankly, I found all the hoo-ha ludicrous.

The questions in the paper today (21 Oct) are very easy for the level. I find it saddening that even teachers take 19 minutes to solve them with calculators.

The first question is a trivial application of algebra, although with standard technique of drawing models taught during my time it can be done.

The second question is just a trick question. The phrases 'rows of 13' and so on are just distractions. It suffices to know that 6/14 and 7/14 have been taken away. That leaves 112 seats which is thus 1/14. So multiplication yields the answer.

The third question is also trivial. Calculating the volume of water is easy and does not need a calculator. We then get the surface area at the bottom of the two containers and add them up, then divide volume of water by the total base area.

I took 2 minutes to finish all three problems without a calculator, and again, it is apparent that students who could not do the problems have a lot of soul searching to do.

actually algebra also a model.....only difference is that it is automated model and you no longer need to figure it out with pictorial or illustrative models once you figure it out the first time.

no wonder he is so smart:

gabrielwyl

Yesterday, 12:58 PM

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#29 - I do agree that the GEP programme does identify the brightest (I was from the GEP programme myself, and my whole class scored above 265 for PSLE easily). However, having them not needing to do the PSLE will lead to just too much flak for it to be feasible - just imagine the whining parents go "oh, my darling boy is not GEP but im sure he is better then them, make them take it..." and so on. (And indeed, some of the top PSLE students are non-GEP)

Frankly, I do not believe the self-esteem effect is that big. Looking at all previous posts, we do not have any parents/students complaining about the difficulty. Perhaps the ST exaggerated the issue - a newspaper exists to tell the people what they want to hear i.e. the SEAB must be at fault in some way or another.

Let me look at question one.

In order to even begin to determine the amout of rice sold by each shop we need to take into account the geo location of Shop A and Shop B. The location would then allow us to determine the gravitational factor which arises from the

Edited by Wolverman

In view of being in-line with the Pri syllabus, I have changed Qn1 solution:

Since

156 - A

-------- equal to ratio of 4/1

72 - A

We can simply deduce (4 - 1)Units = (156 - A) - (72 -A)

3 units = 84

1 unit = 28

Hence, 72 -A = 1 Unit

72 -A = 28

A = 72 - 28 = 44kg (Presto)!

Let me look at question one.

In order to even begin to determine the amout of rice sold by each shop we need to take into account the geo location of Shop A and Shop B. The location would then allow us to determine the gravitational factor which arises from the