Hamburger Hypersonic October 25, 2007 Share October 25, 2007 (edited) i remember few years ago there were tis operation done on e rear muffler,where they open it up n do "something" to it.there after they weld it back ago n put it back.it claimed to ve a better flow at e convenient of using back e stock muffler.Is tis "operation" still in practice?Any comment on tis modification Edited October 25, 2007 by Hamburger ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear October 25, 2007 Share October 25, 2007 illegal, fine $500.. there's more info on it if u do a search Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 25, 2007 Author Share October 25, 2007 shld't be.u cant tell as everything is still stock.i tink they rearrange the pattern flow in the muffler to be more direct as to achieve a better flow.me did it few yrs back n it pass inspection w/o problem.wondering if any bros still doing tis Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear October 25, 2007 Share October 25, 2007 (edited) it IS illegal.. it is just hard to detect actually, the sound is noticeably louder than stock. not as loud as sports muffler (legal or otherwise), or as nice. dun think pple will post so openly abt these issues . bro Vtim started a thread on this not so long ago, with pix of the operation too EDIT: p.s, what's ur muffler set up now?? Edited October 25, 2007 by Boyboy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 25, 2007 Author Share October 25, 2007 i remembered tat sound level increased was not so bad in my previous ride.Anyway,mine is all stock xcept for K&N drop in.Just planted a Unichip n was v impressed.so now would like to free up the exhaust bhind to add icing to e cake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocoyo Neutral Newbie October 25, 2007 Share October 25, 2007 bro...in SG....u can do whatever u want...but don get caught..... if get caught.....answer it yourself...coz nobody will answer it for u..... cheers....just my 2 cents..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dingo35 Neutral Newbie October 26, 2007 Share October 26, 2007 Only louder when you rev the engine hard. Fkow better than those legal semi-flow muffler like SS and Remus. Previously on operated then change to SS. Find that operated better and change back. The best thing is I even pass my inspection with an operated muffler. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 26, 2007 Author Share October 26, 2007 it seems tat it is a cheaper way of getting e best out of ur muffler while still maintaning its stock look,which is e look i m looking for. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear October 26, 2007 Share October 26, 2007 Think it would cost you around 100-120 to operate your stock muffler (Can't remember the exact cost liao) but take note that it carries a fine of 500 bucks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuhsuan Neutral Newbie October 26, 2007 Share October 26, 2007 $100 to $120?? Can't be Fong Kim... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 26, 2007 Author Share October 26, 2007 thanks to bros for the concern. putting legality aside,we can comfort ourselves tat e "operation" was done bcos it is a cheaper way of making e car more env friendly by replacing e old n dirty damping material in e muffler. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dingo35 Neutral Newbie October 26, 2007 Share October 26, 2007 Mine was done at FK at $150 a yr back. TP won't spot you unless they peer down to look. Even so, its very hard to spot unless you put your hand on the muffler to feel for the welding. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 26, 2007 Author Share October 26, 2007 me ride is a ah pek mpv.TP sees me also shake head n wonder,why on earth is he driving a loti car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear October 26, 2007 Share October 26, 2007 (edited) serious bo???? alot of getzers selling their operated muffler. dunno is it cos due for inspection, or wanna upgrade to legal sport muffler. suspect is inspection, cos they sell other LTA-illegal stuff too. i guess when the time comes i could "just do it" n go for inspection also apparently, many rides also got center muffler, thinking of doing sth to it but heard the sound is damn obvious Edited October 26, 2007 by Boyboy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear October 26, 2007 Share October 26, 2007 Saw some doing it in Man Actual price can't really remember liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raidi Neutral Newbie October 26, 2007 Share October 26, 2007 ANy difference in performance between a stock muffler and a branded muffler? Called a few shops, the branded muffler can increase 5 to 7hp - yeah and oso burn abt $1k in the pocket. Oso sound a bit more deep for the branded one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged October 26, 2007 Share October 26, 2007 i remembered tat sound level increased was not so bad in my previous ride.Anyway,mine is all stock xcept for K&N drop in.Just planted a Unichip n was v impressed.so now would like to free up the exhaust bhind to add icing to e cake if not wrong, shoould have done your muffler then install Unichip. Becuz now after de-cat, i believe you will have to re-tune your Unichip again for max. efficiency Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 26, 2007 Author Share October 26, 2007 only operating on e rear muffler n e cat is untouch. me although no green activist,but still care abt env.(yeh...like real)The truth is if i do away wif e cat,back pressure will drop together wif low end torque.Something tat i wish not to as torque is v crucial for mpv.Checked wif tuner n they say has no adverse effect on e tuning unless i changed to extractor or de-cat. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...