Count-Bracula Twincharged July 16, 2014 Share July 16, 2014 Bai tui bai gah siao Sing ga por nang bai tui champion leh . . . .eng gai si boh moon tueh [laugh] We skipped most of the rides and spend most of the time shopping and eating ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 16, 2014 Author Share July 16, 2014 hey guys!!!! check this out!!!!!! [laugh] Universal Studios Singapore the top amusement park in Asia: TripAdvisor By Melissa Lin SINGAPORE - Universal Studios Singapore has been ranked the top amusement park in Asia by online travel site TripAdvisor, beating the likes of Hong Kong's Ocean Park, Tokyo Disneyland and Universal Studios Japan. Overall, the Sentosa attraction came in eighth in the world in this year's TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice awards. The 242 winners worldwide, announced on Tuesday, were chosen based on reviews by users of the site. Discovery Cove in Orlando, Florida was ranked the top amusement park. Mr John Hallenbeck, senior vice president of attractions at Resorts World Sentosa, said USS takes pride in "delivering the best experience for all our guests". "We are very thankful to TripAdvisor travellers for their continuous support, making Southeast Asia's first and only Hollywood movie theme park the top amusement park in Asia," he added. Wild Wild Wet at Downtown East was the other Singapore attraction that made the cut, coming in as the ninth best water park in Asia. Indonesia's Waterbom Bali came out tops in Asia, while Spain's Siam Park was No. 1 in the world. The ranking was determined through an algorithm that considered the quantity and quality of reviews gathered over 12 months. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 16, 2014 Share July 16, 2014 Not bad lah except a bit too small in scale. Must praise a bit..... Admission fee is no more expensive than MY's parks. Food's prices are OK by park's standards comparing to most places in the world. Q not too bad also except Transformers...... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 16, 2014 Share July 16, 2014 i think weather plays a big role lah. Tropical weather walk around where got shiok. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator July 16, 2014 Share July 16, 2014 One word - Crowded. Both the parks are extremely crowded even on normal weekdays. Tourists, students what not. Most rides you need to wait more than 120 minutes to get on. Some even 160 minutes. Even buying food and drinks also need to queue and the queues are not short. Other than that, the usual expensive and tasteless food. You will need to plan your rides or get in early to use your express pass. That said, Disneyland feels old and dated. The rides seemingly have not changed for 30 years. Disneysea is definitely newer and more interesting. You will need about one day for each of the park. Stay at the hotels within the island. Hilton, Sheraton etc. Not too expensive and you save yourself the hassle travelling. The monorail goes in a circle. IMG-20130205-00374.jpg 9am. Entrance of Disneysea from Monorail. There are 2 entrances. Both are same. We decided to go for breakfast first at the JR Station. Thanks for the info. From what I've gathered so far, both Tokyo Disneyland & DisneySea are extremely crowded, dated and maybe even primitive, but still a must to go. Will definitely visit Disneyland if I am going to go ahead with my Tokyo plans. The only other one I've went before was Hong Kong Disneyland when I was younger and was told countless times "HK Disneyland sucks. You should go Tokyo Disneyland!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 16, 2014 Share July 16, 2014 Some tips when visiting Disneyland (advise from Japanese colleague who brought us to Disneyland) -buy tickets online & print it out (there is website to even show the number of visitors for the day) -get fastpass by scannng your ticket to skip the Q for the rides & other popular attractions (these are located nearby each ride. But you might have to come back 2hrs?? later but no need to Q so long. The time slot is stated on the ticket so don't miss it. And the next fastpass is only available 2hrs later??) -get English map of Disneyland (need to ask counter staff for it as those in the open are in Japanese) -pack some tibidits & drinks for eating on the go. However do get the the Mickey Mouse ice-cream & if you like pop-corn, buy the colourful container for free refills once you enter Disneyland (my colleague bought the container only when we were about to leave so no chance to refill) My colleague told me females like Disneyland and some would go several times a year (I did notice much more female than males). Saw many school girls visiting Disneyland on Sat when we went Definitely felt it was way better than HK in terms of attractions & the people & the merchandise Fastpass timing is roughly 2 hrs ahead. So for example, the most popular ride is always the Haunted house freefall drop. So what u do is go scan your ticket. Then they give u a fastpass ticket for 2 hrs later. U come on time, u can use the fastpass ticket. Queue is like super short. Then u spend ur time walking around and queuing for other rides. I bought my tickets at the disney shop. I think it's in a mall near shinjuku. Think it's in Taka. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 16, 2014 Share July 16, 2014 i went disneysea with my wife. If u like disney/cartoon movies, u will love it. Thanks for the info. From what I've gathered so far, both Tokyo Disneyland & DisneySea are extremely crowded, dated and maybe even primitive, but still a must to go. Will definitely visit Disneyland if I am going to go ahead with my Tokyo plans. The only other one I've went before was Hong Kong Disneyland when I was younger and was told countless times "HK Disneyland sucks. You should go Tokyo Disneyland!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator July 16, 2014 Share July 16, 2014 i went disneysea with my wife. If u like disney/cartoon movies, u will love it. It is my must do list if I ever go Japan. Lots and lots of Disney merchandise are on top of my shopping list. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 16, 2014 Share July 16, 2014 It is my must do list if I ever go Japan. Lots and lots of Disney merchandise are on top of my shopping list. top tip. If u want to buy women's disney clothes etc. When u enter the park straightaway go to buy liao. My wife couldn't even find a disney related top in S/XS size at around 4-5pm. Many jap girls/women when they enter the park, they head straight to the shops. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 16, 2014 Share July 16, 2014 (edited) The time i went disneysea, it wasn't crowded. Longest line i waited was 30mins, no queue for any of the food stalls. Have to see your timing lo. SINGAPORE - Universal Studios Singapore has been ranked the top amusement park in Asia by online travel site TripAdvisor KNS, kelong or they vote themselves one ah? Edited July 16, 2014 by Mockngbrd 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear July 16, 2014 Share July 16, 2014 I'll be going with family in nov. This will be mine 4th time with wife but 1st with my son so have to take 2 day pass so that he can enjoy the rides as now he is taller and is able to go for most rides. Tokyo Disney is way better than HK. Was very disappointed with HK esp with the very nice ride - winnie the pooh it is so nice in Tokyo but in HK it was so jerky that my son then 1yr old freak out and that's the only ride he took while we spend 2 days in the park. Cant wait to return to Japan. Love the people, culture and food. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged July 17, 2014 Share July 17, 2014 Not a fan of amusement parks. Tokyo Disney is ok just because of the fireworks at the end of the day. I wouldn't go there again. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jayy25 6th Gear July 17, 2014 Share July 17, 2014 (edited) Do bear in mind that Jap school holidays are in Aug (not too sure the actual period but you google it anyway) so if you are visiting the theme parks, brace yourselves for bigger crowds and longer QsI'm heading to Osaka /Kyoto end Aug (visiting universal studio/temples and such) - all in 1.2K on SQ flight for a 5days/4 nights Now if you are looking for best deals for Free and easy, you can head to JTB in ION and work on the deals with the customer service folks (look for local staff cos the in my opinion the Jap staff tend to be less effective in searching good lobangs) Have fun! Edited July 17, 2014 by Jayy25 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 17, 2014 Share July 17, 2014 Not a fan of amusement parks. Tokyo Disney is ok just because of the fireworks at the end of the day. I wouldn't go there again. Different people, different strokes. Disneyland is probably too kiddy for most adults unless u have kids in tow. Disneysea is ok if u like disney cartoon movies. Some people just find it incredibly boring. The night shows at disneysea was only soso but the day shows are great. Well it's just like how some people like to go overseas and sit in a cafe. dunno for what lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 17, 2014 Author Share July 17, 2014 going to an adult cafe to chill out now!!!! donno whether got adult amusement park or not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear July 17, 2014 Share July 17, 2014 How you know? Maybe they are sisters or lesbian? FYI, the T-Shirt been cut and the shape is the actual breast looks like pic taken in New Orleans, give away are the beads hanging around the neck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 17, 2014 Share July 17, 2014 In Ropongi. going to an adult cafe to chill out now!!!! donno whether got adult amusement park or not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged July 17, 2014 Share July 17, 2014 Was there in May. Between Tokyo Disneyland and DisneySea, I prefer Disneysea. The atmosphere is way better there. Disneyland rides are too kiddish. Anyway, some information to share for those who are thinking of going / going soon. 1. http://dejiki.com/2013/08/tokyo-disney-resort-theme-parks-tips-and-tricks/ This is a blog entry (not mine) which I used for research before going to the parks. Very informative, quite updated. 2. http://www15.plala.or.jp/gcap/disney/ This is what you should look out for if you're planning a trip to Disneyland/sea. It's in Japanese, but it's a calender with Arabic numerals, so Japanese is not needed to understand. It is a Crowd Forecast Calender. Click between the two tabs (red and blue). Red - ディズニーランド = Disneyland Blue - ディズニーシー = Disneysea The numbers in sequential order is the date, and the one in the smaller box is how much crowd is expected (in thousands, so 20 = 20,000 crowd) 3. Tickets.Someone mentioned you can print the tickets before going. Yes you can, but I wouldn't do that. You'll need your ticket to scan for fast pass, and if you're holding an A4 sheet of paper, it's not going to be long before your sheet of paper becomes something to wipe shit off. The card ticket is more rugged (by a little) and besides, it's Disney! Yes, you can fold your A4 paper, and laminate or what not, but still, Disney character tickets! 4. Plan your day In the morning, the Japanese school going population are still at school, so the place is less crowded, but once the annual pass holding kids come in, the wait times might double. So, go for the rides you want first. Get fastpass, learn how the system works (there's an explanation in the first link given), and if you still don't know, can always offer to sponsor my trip to Japan with you so I can teach you. =D (I'm a straight guy, so the only special you would get is a Singaporean guide in a foreign land.) For those who can afford it, stay at MiraCosta Hotel. Worth every cent. It's the only hotel IN a Disney Park in the world, as well as it gives you a Happy 15. What's Happy 15? It's the HAPPIEST 15 minutes of your life in Disneyland / Disneysea! You get to enter the park 15 minutes before the park opens. Empty park, just you and the few other hotel guests. Don't waste time queuing for fast pass (if you're not going to take the ride again), just take the ride. No / 2 minute wait time for what would be a 2-3 hour wait time for some rides later in the day. My GF and me took two rides, one fast pass, and was strolling around even BEFORE the rest of the world got into the park. Learn the Fast Pass system. Simple guideline: 1. Once you get a FP (Fast Pass), you cannot get another until the time stated for return for that FP or just wait til 2 hour later. Popcorn: Get the refill only if you want the box. Refills aren't free. Food inside the parks are at reasonable price. In case you're worried you get hungry, get onigiri and sandwiches from Maihama JR station before you enter. They open very early. (I went to the station at 7 or so). You can bring bags to almost every single ride. Disneysea: Choing for the Toy Story. It's worth it. =D That's about all I can think of, any questions feel free to ask. I wasn't a Disney fan (my GF was, and I was there as her slave for the day), but I thoroughly enjoyed both parks. Oh ya, check out the fireworks date too, not every day got same show. They showcased a new show on the night we went. Sooooo lucky! ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...