Starhub MOL suxx

User12343

recently discovered that my BB service is painfully slow, even worse than a 56k dialup...happens very often.

everytime i called up their helpline, those recorded crapsh!t messages telling u to bypass the router yadda yadda yadda connect directly to the cable modem yadda yadda yadda still has the same sluggish problem. [thumbsdown]

dunno how many times i called them, and they say they will monitor my connection for 24hrs and see if the problem goes away...

anyone has similar experience with their BB?

my one either alway drop or dam slow sometimes, see beh dulan, pay so much also like that..

knn..

called them up to kao peh, they say my router problem..

thing was, when i was stayin at my old place, my internet was f**kin fast, this place dam slow..

tell them are u gonna pay me back when internet is unavailable? so when its slow, its my problem? i pay, not to get problems from u. and your problem don't pass to me or i will give u problems. after i scold the tech big time, smooth internet from then on.. i on the 6500 one.. [:)]

Used to have a problem with MOL also.. Dunno some cable problem outside my flat to the antenna side..

Ask them to come down to check and they replaced the cable.. 2nd day, I use again no problem liao and they called me to inform me that they had change some cable..

So ask them to come down to check ur cable point to the antenna side.. no joking..

you are right.. usually the connector is faulty. i have the same problem. they came twice, in 3 weeks. 2nd time finally resolved the situation by tightening the connector outside of my flat.

recently discovered that my BB service is painfully slow, even worse than a 56k dialup...happens very often.

everytime i called up their helpline, those recorded crapsh!t messages telling u to bypass the router yadda yadda yadda connect directly to the cable modem yadda yadda yadda still has the same sluggish problem. [thumbsdown]

dunno how many times i called them, and they say they will monitor my connection for 24hrs and see if the problem goes away...

anyone has similar experience with their BB?

What time did you experience the slow down?

Also are you on wireless?

many a time, only simple problems like connector or cable faulty.. cannot understand why they cant just send a technician down to check..shakehead.gif

not enough people, then employ more lor.. create more jobs..tongue.gif

that time i must have make a lot of noise for them to come down the next day.. Email and phone non stop..laugh.gif

Edited by Beei

juz to share..

- yes, depending on the MOL plan you have, most routers sold out there cannot even support the speed MOL have. I've personally tested them. Connect your system directly to the modem and try their utilities.starhub.com to get a feel. if u hit speed as their average.. then u know its time to change to a good router.

- your PC/Lappie has an impact too. i've just upgraded to the 100mbps MOL.. my lappie keep reporting 20Mbps when i should get 60.... i know my router can support 100mbps, so i go turn on my PC as last resort. it got 61mbps...

- wireless have impact, depend on strength.. mine is excellent strength.. my maxed at around 30.. becoz its only 56mbps (with overheads) you will get around 30-40 on wireless.. eventhough u r running 100mbps on MOL, u will still max at 30-40..

there are a lot of variables in this equation. i would say that it can be due to their fault as much as your equipment's.

use the http://utilities.starhub.com utilities on both trace and bandwidth meter, then you can actually send them the results for their trace..

they gotten back to me in like 3 days on some reasons..which i find useful in diagnostics.. if u understand a bit of networking.

trace is important as they need to know the hops you are getting out of your house.. too many hops means slowness..

hope this helps.

most fault in connectors can be seen in ping tests.. there will be missing or drop packets.

use http://utilities.starhub.com tests as well (there is a ping test there)

or.. from your command prompt type "ping host -t"

if out of those pings, there are numerous timed out.. i think there are some connectivity issues... as per say.. this is jus general.. becoz, it can be due to you network equipment too or your cablings.

thanks all for the response.

as i'm on a wired 100mbps LAN connection supported by a linksys router, effectively the 802.11b/g is non-existent. WLANs do not give a stable performance compared to wired LANs.

it occurs randomly, once in 5am in the morning, once in 11am, once in the afternoon...

long before the free upgrade to 6mbps, the service availability of the 2mbps package was far superior to what was offered now.

as i'm no longer on contract, i have each and every intention to switch to mio and see.

[nod]

hi, if you are using below 10mbps of link speed with MOL, then it should not be router issue. linksys for me, with firewall + SPI turned on, can only maxed out at around 9-11mbps.. belief it or not. (for more popular models, not the latest and the greatest from linksys)

If you are not using WLAN, turn it off in your router. this will help save some bandwidth and processor time of your router.

Also, try the speed test via http://www.speedtest.net or use the utilities.starhub.com in different times of the day on good ones and bad ones to see the diff.

I'm juz afraid that even though u change ISP, you will hit the same prob again because of the issues that might be connected to your equipment.

But if u going for MIO, pls...... look at the promo.. my colleague was floored given different promos with different benefits...

rgds

depends on where u r D/L lah... those upload pawn sites of cos slow. i just d/l smthg fr microsoft and HP. 450mB and 127mB, total in under 25 minutes.

brothers printer site is also superfast.

so here big pipe, ur connection to small pipe wun help much. even if it is 512kbps also same problem.

Where do you stay? The bandwidth is actually a fixed pipe whereby people share this pipe. So if there are more people using this, naturally the speed will drop. Have you tried using direct LAN connection? How's it? Actually there's nothing they can do if your connection is slow except "monitor" or unless they do something to the shared point (like adding more booster or something)