BoneStock 5th Gear November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 correction...it's pedestrain hit car....but driver still in deep sxxt ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 We have encountered several aunties or ladies talking over the phone while crossing the road w/o see any cars coming to their way. I think they 'own' the road... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 i rmb when i was a kid. i use to ride bicycle, and once i was approaching a car my bicycle brake suddenely jam and can't brake. i crash onto that car. and my body land on his bonnet. screaming in pain. in the end he pay me 300bucks. + hospital fees. that was in the early 90's. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged November 19, 2007 Author Share November 19, 2007 you are lucky that he paid and you are alive imagine if you are the driver, bo dai bo ji suddenly someone crash onto your car and yet you got to pay for all the damages including your own Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viviobluerex Clutched November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 wah, still recovering from shock just now, was driving along kim seng road, just after great world city. there is road works in the middle lane 3. i was in lane 2, a van in lane 1 just slight behind me. as there is a RED traffic light in front, both me and the van and cruising to a stop from 50km/h. when we just pass the road works, suddenly a teenage gal about 20yo out of nowhere dash across our path and she instead of checking for traffic from the incoming direction, she look at the other direction while dashing across! i immediately horn and ebrake thats when she realise she was looking at the wrong direction, she scream and continue her dash across, van also horn non stop. i think i missed her by 1/2 car length KNN, if i have driving faster, i probably have killed her. sometimes, even when drivers are not at fault, when we knock down someone, sure alot of trouble.... Sounds like you met a China Student. They cross road here like cross in China. So like in China, many dies on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcff_1980 Neutral Newbie November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 that because singarpor law fukedup if the law is changed such that drivers wont be liable for hitting JAYWALKERS, i believe there wont be anymore idiotic jaywalkers. everybody guai guai cross pedestrain crossing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corsair Clutched November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 wah, still recovering from shock just now, was driving along kim seng road, just after great world city. there is road works in the middle lane 3. i was in lane 2, a van in lane 1 just slight behind me. as there is a RED traffic light in front, both me and the van and cruising to a stop from 50km/h. when we just pass the road works, suddenly a teenage gal about 20yo out of nowhere dash across our path and she instead of checking for traffic from the incoming direction, she look at the other direction while dashing across! i immediately horn and ebrake thats when she realise she was looking at the wrong direction, she scream and continue her dash across, van also horn non stop. i think i missed her by 1/2 car length KNN, if i have driving faster, i probably have killed her. sometimes, even when drivers are not at fault, when we knock down someone, sure alot of trouble.... I always find the two roads running parallel to great world city as super dangerous... Despite the roads being so wide, many pedestrians take great risks to jaywalk, and I narrowly missed hitting one of them once. Take great care when driving there, especially if you exit out of Great World carpark. TP should do something abt the situation there. Lagi worse on Friday Saturday nights, where the discos and bars are nearby. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evilernie 4th Gear November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 I had similar encounter near Liang Seah Street, kinda piss off with a bunch of teenager who was strolling across the road from Bugis Junction, they even walk slower when they see my car coming towards them. One of them even got the chick to give me those nasty look. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 chance to test if you horn is working - make them malu in front of his friends. I always give a light tap then wave my hand to indicate that I have the "right of way" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vesfreq Neutral Newbie November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 (edited) If I was there, I would also be cursing and swearing. Some even can walk and talk over the phone, when the pedestrian light is red. The youngsters, especially, are guilty of it. Uncle and auntie handicapped cannot blame, but those youngsters got 2 fine walking legs still can walk like they own the road. That day, I drove into nus. Those who went before should ve realised that the undergrads in the uni dont even bother to look out for cars. One even looked down on the road while walking across, as if road got money. If some big lorry come cannot see fellow, she already up there wearing halo flying in the clouds. Oh and she not that chio, if anyone wants to know. It seems like *touch wood* something must happen before garment pass some law to fine reckless jay walking. Or next time, car must emit some beeping sound to warn all pedestrians to siam..... The singapore's driver's pledge, "We the silly drivers of sillypore pledge ourselves as a united species of traumatised road creatures, so as to siam all speed cameras, avoid kena hit by bird sh*t, speed when safe, while watching out for 2 and legged stray creatures straying on the road. All that for a better tomorrow, while hoping summon never come and insurance premium never up." Edited November 24, 2007 by Vesfreq Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vesfreq Neutral Newbie November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 He hasn't seen the coffin yet. Wait he see, tell u his look sure different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hope_n_pray 2nd Gear November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 Yah.. In the event of an accident, the motorist is always in the wrong one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fddd Neutral Newbie November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 Alway unless there is eye witness Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joshterran 1st Gear November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 wah, still recovering from shock just now, was driving along kim seng road, just after great world city. there is road works in the middle lane 3. i was in lane 2, a van in lane 1 just slight behind me. as there is a RED traffic light in front, both me and the van and cruising to a stop from 50km/h. when we just pass the road works, suddenly a teenage gal about 20yo out of nowhere dash across our path and she instead of checking for traffic from the incoming direction, she look at the other direction while dashing across! i immediately horn and ebrake thats when she realise she was looking at the wrong direction, she scream and continue her dash across, van also horn non stop. i think i missed her by 1/2 car length KNN, if i have driving faster, i probably have killed her. sometimes, even when drivers are not at fault, when we knock down someone, sure alot of trouble.... Bicycle Cyclists are the KINGS of the roads... They can ride their bicycle on road, walkway, pedestrian crossing, cycle against traffic, in all cycle or do whatever they like... Vehicle motorists can't do aything but only to give way to them COS our LTA & TP close two eyes... Pedestrians are the QUEENS of the roads... Anyhow cross also never mind... as long as vehicles dun hit you... Pedestrians have the right of the way...PROTECTED BY S'PORE LAW.... Dun know how our president feel if one day one pedestrian just cross the road while his motorcade travel along Orchard Rd and the motorcade has to E-brake to avoid... ================================================================================ ======== Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chromas 1st Gear November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 Yo bro, how are you? That's why whenever I see people about to J-walk across the roads near my house, I'd rather rev up / speed up and sound off the horn at them. I'm sure I invite loads of unwanted "international greetings" from them but I do hope that they really wake up and learn from their mistakes and at think twice about J-walking again when sometimes the traffic light is less than 15 to 20m away. 15 to 20m of extra could someday save those people's lives, cos they just might meet a driver who isn't paying attention to them or thinks that he has absolute right of way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silhoutte Clutched November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 Wah really heng man u... I totally understand how u felt cos a similar incident happened to me man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silhoutte Clutched November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 If an idiot dare to jaywalk in front of president car or prime minister car, that bugger sure kena fine + jail. But first and foremost, he/she will get fined. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 Sadly the law sides with the ones who were born with a full size brain but without 100% brain cells included. Well, put it this way : If a person STANDING (not walking or crossing), and is facing oncoming cars by the side of a road, and our car is almost passing by that person. At that split second, s/he suddenly dash out in front of our car. I don't think under that circumstance, anyone of us will be able to stop in time. This is a clear cut suicide case. Question is, are we still at fault? Given the TS's case, I believe the TS won't be at full, or even more than 50%, at fault. There was a case along Alexandra Rd where the driver was able to prove that the road light not enough to see a person was crossing the road. (But ALL cars here had headlights, and are suppose to switch on after 7pm right?) So, its not always 100% drivers fault lar. Which is that case number? Surely this can't be real as such a verdict can very easily be challenged. In SG road law, when a car knocks down a pedestrian, the driver of the car will be guilty until proven innocent. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...