Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 20, 2007 Share November 20, 2007 If you need to remove excess...prob its too much. What I do is... First tyre...squeeze a bit more...then go thru. If not enuff to cover the tyre, apply a little more. 2nd tyre...squeeze lesser...cos sure got left over from the first tyre. And dispense the product lesser by each tyre. I dun have to remove excess product from the tires. Leave for a few hours (I will go home, shower, change then I go out....never apply liao straight away drive off.) If you want super shiny, apply a 2nd layer after you are done on the 4th tyre....go back to the first one....but I find the 2nd layer is actually a dust magnet....attracts lots of dust to the tires. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear November 20, 2007 Author Share November 20, 2007 Thanks for the detailed guide! I will try out other brands and see the performance first. If still no good, will go back to MPE with your instruction guide! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic November 20, 2007 Share November 20, 2007 Maybe the design of the sidewall also played a part? I see some sidewalls have a lot of small grooves where the excess can be left inside it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear November 20, 2007 Author Share November 20, 2007 Err.... I think I did not notice that leh. Maybe leh! But typically for Meguiar Endurance series, it only spin off when it rains or hit water. If its dry, no problem at all! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silveratenza Neutral Newbie November 20, 2007 Share November 20, 2007 It's about $8+ per bottle. Worth trying since its not very expensive. I have tried and impressed by it. I have used Meguire Purple gel as well long ago, its quite troublesome and make a mess of my hands all the time. Foam spray is much more easy and can use it anytime, just store it at your boot and take out to spray whenever u want your tyre to shine again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear November 20, 2007 Share November 20, 2007 Meguiar Endurance series...i think u need to apply it thinly then leave it overnite to dry if not...it will spin off.. so the best is to leave overnite..apply at nite time??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear November 20, 2007 Author Share November 20, 2007 Thats true. the meguair one really messy. I believe the Turtle wax gel will be the same. To me, the splash off is a main criteria. The spray type can respray as many times as you want. Just that you keep spraying off money only! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear November 20, 2007 Share November 20, 2007 Later i go downstairs and buy I use to like meguir gel too,but can't find it anymore.Now using liquid purple form which i find it a grade lower than the gel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear November 20, 2007 Author Share November 20, 2007 Typically, after I wash car on my own, I will not drive out liao! My washing typically is on weekends. So it can be afternoon or evening and i will stay home after that. Therefore the gel is left overnight! I have to say the gel is good in terms of looks and durability, only issue is applying is pretty messy and the splash off issue for me only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear November 20, 2007 Author Share November 20, 2007 Which liquid purple foam bro? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear November 20, 2007 Share November 20, 2007 Its not a foam,its in liquid form Meguir Endurance High Gloss. Last time i use the purple gel type ,but can't find it....or i dont search good enuff Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear November 20, 2007 Author Share November 20, 2007 Carrefour, Autobacs, Stamford all these sure have one lah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear November 20, 2007 Share November 20, 2007 Last time go Stam jurong dont hav leh...nvm,i try the turtle wax first Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear November 20, 2007 Author Share November 20, 2007 Ya. Cheap and good one try first. Then give me review since weather always rain! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear November 20, 2007 Share November 20, 2007 Hehe.. I am not the tyre expert but I have try couples of tyres shine brands and maybe just share my little few cents.. One thing I have find out is tyre shine will looks different on different tyres and durability varies as well.. people may laugh "sure bo" MD but it is true..I am using Duragloss on myself and on my ride .. Her tyre shines last longer than mine .. Both of us using Toyo but different models... It coluld be different compound ..Linus used to purchase of those gallon type of tyre shine for me from Malaysia..on his BFG..the tyre shine looks ok but on my previous AD07..tyres looks brownish even after application. Meguire tyre shine - one of the better in term of durability but negative side..it tends to spill onto car fender when over application. Amourall tyre shine - Almost similar to Meguire.. looks wetter look to me.. durability wise quite lasting..same.. over spill when over application. Amourall spray type - Foam.. It does not last at all.. Waxco liquid type - Cheap if you get it over the causeway.. durability wise so so and quite matt finish.. Eagle wet tyre shine and Meguire wet look (spray type)- very wet look.. but gone after heavy downpour.. Gel type is more durable than liquid and foam just that over application may cause over spill.. Depends what you like wet look or matt.. my preference is matt as it gives the tyres looks new.. wet look i find is abit artifical but all depends on yr liking.. Cheers Benny Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear November 20, 2007 Author Share November 20, 2007 Wah, Expert also come to give advice liao ah! Anyway i saw very good reviews on the Meguiar Hot Shine High Gloss tyre coating which is spray type which claim to last very well. Below is quote: "In late October, hurricane Wilma devastated the Florida Keys. Key West was under no less than 4 1/2 feet of water. My car was destroyed due to the severe storm surge. It sat underwater for over 45 minutes. The waves the storm surge produced pushed my car into several building columns, a metal bike rack, and chain link fences. When the storm surge receded, I went downstairs to see what was left of my car. Only my wheels and tires survived the storm. What I found odd was the condition of my wheels and tires. The wheels were caked in sand, seaweed, debris, and everything else that was in the water from the hurricane. My tires only had rocks stuck in between the tread. The Hot Shine was STILL on my tires after the hurricane. My tires were perfect, and I am still using them. I just detailed my car 4 days prior to the storm. I use Hot Shine High Gloss Tire Coating every time I detail. I find it amazing that your products can withstand a major disaster. Thank you all for making incredible products." Can even withstand hurricane ah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear November 20, 2007 Share November 20, 2007 (edited) my little finding onli la .. hurricane..no joke manz.. I used the Hot tire shine before..ok onli lei..maybe must have hurricane ba The traditional way for the tire shine to last is to brush the tires each time during car wash and apply tire shine Edited November 20, 2007 by Maddriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear November 20, 2007 Share November 20, 2007 he should write in to Meguiar ... they wuld be more than happy to make him their spokesperson ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...