Worth it?

Luv_presea

A relatively new van might be good choice.

-Fuel is getting more and more expensive and presea's FC is not that great at 10km/l.

Fuel price will only rise but not fall.

-Road tax would be close to $1500 for such a COE car.

-In Singapore, it is expensive to own a vehicle. If you really wish to have one, own it for a good reason. The van could help you do a side-line business.

-Older cars are more prone to breakdowns. In the process of dismantling a part to fix it, the mechanic might create yet another problem in the repairing process.

The only thing that is deterring me from getting a eurovan right now is, all the mechanics I have talked to told me Eurovans are more expensive to maintain. Parts are not lasting and the charges can be expensive.

If it is not necessary to get a car (or van) immediately, you may wish to delay ownership for the time being. Use the money to invest and build up your wealth instead.

Just my 2 cents worth.

Edited by Albeniz

yup..this model.

oh wait..for COE cars, i suggest getting a lower cc one. the higher the cc, its road tax premium(coe cars cap @ 150%!) would generally be higher! i'm paying S$358/- for 6 mths road tax+radio lic for my 999cc starlet.

yes, u're not wrong. euro van's parts are more ex hence maintaining it might not be easy. which is why i'm recommending the suzuki every and daihatsu hijet. looked pretty decent.

not into those lei.. i only like eurovans.. cheap, efficient, powerful and sporty looking..

cant find a way to test drive one yet.. i went to view a red one with full bodykit and with new 10yr coe going for $18k weeks ago and its [thumbsup]

do u know if i full loan on the caddy, whats the interest like?

daihatsu hijet:

The Hijet is powered by a 660cc petrol engine which is more than adequate given its light 900kg body. Fuel economy is an outstanding 16km/l. Safety features parallel that of passenger cars with dual airbags, ABS and a collision-safe body.

suzuki every:

The side panel glass are actually windows that can be winded down for passenger-car like comfort. Safety features on the Every include airbags and ABS. Central locking is standard.

i can wait for the right opportunity.. have been looking and planning for a long time now.. but getting my own transport can save me lots of time.. it takes me almost 2hrs to get from upp thomson to lim chu kang end..

as for the maintainance, really have to find a good condition one.. i've heard the pricy parts for eurovans.. but overall i'd guess its cheaper than buying a car.. with current petrol prices.. [sweatdrop]

(heard for diesel we can get it from companies for a much lower rate..)

i doubt full loan is provided. u probably haf to set aside like 2k for initial deposits and extra 1k by ur side should anything fails and u need some repairs.

interest rate probably around 4% to 4.75%. i think it largely depends on how many years of loan u intend to take. the lesser the better cuz u are paying less interest. and i dun think finiance company would be willing to full loan 10 yrs. probably 5-7 yrs.

wow.. thats cheap.. know about the road tax issue.. roughly how much is ur mthly expenses for ur starlet? i did consider this corolla too but price a little on the high side..

salah advise lah u.... buy a OPC A168 better, can drive to malaysia, cheap road tax, good FC (ku ku getting 12KM/L) can seat 5 or more, tear all jap and conti cars and drift like a KING.... super dupper TOKONG sial [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][laugh][laugh][laugh]

throw aside road tax and insurance, this is the rough amount i'm paying for:

installment: S$350/mth (3 yrs loan, interest @ 4.75%.. [knife] )

parking: S$45/mth (got lobang for my season parking and got free parking at nearby office [sly] )

petrol: S$160++/mth (gets around 12.5km/l, i'm abit heavy foot)

misc: standby $100/mth

total: about $655+++/mth

Yes, take the shortest loan term with the smallest interest, if really, really need to borrow. It would be good if you could save up and then pay one lump sum.

Imagine, if you take a loan of $20k, 5% p.a for 7 years.

The total interest would be 5%x7 = 35% =$7k.

That means, when you borrow as little as $20k, you have to pay $7k just for the interest alone. You have to pay $27k in total for a mere $20k loan.