Ahyoo2002

Bidding status as at 03/12/2007 21:15:03.52 hrs

Category Current COE Price ($) Quota Bids Received

A Car (1600cc & below) &Taxi 1 2,174 4

B Car (Above 1600 cc) 1 1,163 3

C Goods Vehicle & Bus 1 347 1

D Motorcycle 1 454 53

E Open 1 1,088 1

i hope COE plunged to low low so govt dun make so much.

KNN...every f### thing to do with cars all up.

Petrol price up govt makes the most. cant remember it's 35% or 35c per litre, for doing absolutely nothing.

ERP up

Carpark up

Insurance up

Tyres up

Soon, when u go servicing u also can expect to pay 20% more

Rd tax also will up but not now cos govt will tell you roads now cost a lot more to build and they need more $$$ cos spent a lot on all the E already (KPE, PIE etc etc)

So let's see how up can COE go.

Edited by Check13

sometimes, i wish we have a recession soon. of cos provided tat i still have my job during recession time.

things have all become so bloody expensive the middle and lower class are all kenna squeezed like siao. the rich gets richer while the poor are getting poorer.

yah, very jialuk, paying more than $10k for a piece of paper [:p]

Paper? What paper? Now they don't even give you this piece of paper [laugh]

Not forgetting that the civil servants are out hunting for cars. For popular made, if they want to get it before CNY, they have to book now. So the COE, can't be too far from what it is currently.

Regards,

I think its just a warm up session for now. If demand don't go up, then it would be really interesting to see what we can expect for the low period (during Lunar New Year).

Problem is things like fuel price, maintenance, projected car usage (all tied to cost) are usually conveniently brushed to the back of the mind when buying a car.

Based on my previous bike ownership, I travel about 23,000km/year. Now I am driving about 30,000km/yr. Every place seemed so accessible now with the car. [sly]

Unless one is working from the big AD, we 'outsiders' cannot really know for sure what is the demand like.

Since the bonus is good this year end, I believe the supporting level will maintain till CNY.

Demand may be weak you guys say, but is it so weak that the number of bidders is less than the quota?

Many times I observe the bidding process, when bidders is ~20 over the quota, the COE price may be around $8k. But the COE price immediately shoot up to $14k when the bidders is ~50 higher than quota. (Can I assume that the number of low 'Dream' bids put in by individuals is only around 20-40 persons, while the majority bids are by AD themselves)

So there lies the problem of allowing AD to set the bids. They will not want to waste time to rebids, so they put in the bids that is in-line(usually $1-2k lower) with what the customers has already agreed to pay(when they sign on the car price package).

So unless the demand is lower or just 20-50nos over the quota level, there is no real chance of COE going below $10k level.

Alternatively when one of the Major AD has shipment issues that delay one lot of car shipment, then maybe AD will not bid aggressively for that round, Maybe then the COE will 'crash'. This may be what happen when the $8k COE a few months ago.

I remember Hyundai cars few years ago, where there is the 'Bid your own COE' package.

If many AD can come up with this package, only then will the COE price be low.

hehe, I never think let AD bid for us is good.

But:

"So unless the demand is lower or just 20-50nos over the quota level, there is no real chance of COE going below $10k level."

Bidding status as at 22/08/2007 16:00 hrs

Category Current COE Price ($) Quota Bids Received******Unsuccessful Bids

A Car (1600cc & below) &Taxi 8,118 2,189 2,315******126

B Car (Above 1600 cc) 16,010 1,124 1,288******164

C Goods Vehicle & Bus 6,890 452 628

D Motorcycle 1,189 481 648

E Open 17,302 1,093 1,538******445

Only extra 126 bidders over quota and COE is $8118

also:

Bidding status as at 13/02/2007 16:00 hrs

Category Current COE Price ($) Quota Bids Received******Unsuccessful Bids

A Car (1600cc & below) &Taxi $5,200 2,670 2,823******150

B Car (Above 1600 cc) $6,002 1,272 1,382******110

E Open $11,804 1,301 1,686******385

Also about 100+ over quota.

Ok I shall revised my range from 20-50 to 100-200.

To get lower COE, the number of over bidders should preferably be less then 200 perhaps.