Ben5266 Supercharged May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 But the savings in diesel makes up for the extra road tax. Oso depends on the type of car. My tip: if SUV, gotta go turbo diesel to reap the max fuel savings + extra torque to move the big thing around briskly (try driving the XC90 2.5T petrol n you'll know - sibei underpowered). If small hatchback, dun bother - juz stick to petrol. Yes. Let's find the sweet spot. Diesel is $0.51 cheaper than Ron95. $800 tax per year = $67 per month. => 131 liter. So, for me, I burn 100-120 liter per month. Diesel Bo hua.... ..Ok, Maybe FC for diesel engine is better than petrol. So, our scholar quite smart. They calculated chun chun one... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 1.4L turbo ..then its either Opel or Chevrolet orlando .... btw another thing to note on smax ..i feel the gearbox is a bit slow in response in some cases the powershift clutch design is different from dsg implementation, the way the clutch engages...tat one of the possibility i tried the mondeo powershift before also, it feel like a conventional auto, very smooth engagement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 Love my Galaxy. Bought it 6 months ago, but sigh, COE has dropped so has price. Galaxy has just about enough comfortable space, even if taking into account my kids growing up and likely to be as tall as me, or more... It would have been ideal if it comes with sliding door, but strangely other than sharan, only Jap MPVs have sliding doors... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 Yes. Let's find the sweet spot. Diesel is $0.51 cheaper than Ron95. $800 tax per year = $67 per month. => 131 liter. So, for me, I burn 100-120 liter per month. Diesel Bo hua.... ..Ok, Maybe FC for diesel engine is better than petrol. So, our scholar quite smart. They calculated chun chun one... solli ah....do u mean 35L instead of 131L? ($67 divide by $1.90/L after discount) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 Actually most mid size MPVs in the market are more or less the same. Most are in fact 5+2. With the seats fully occupied you are left with hardly any boot space unless you get a set of roof rack and roof box. But how often do you use the +2? It's down to engine choice. I would go for those with 1.4L turbo options except VW. In terms of FC it's still frugal, road tax and insurance are cheaper dan other options. I find that on normal day to day driving you dun get to use a lot of hp & torque. I say that coz I recently bought a OBD link that shows all kinds of stats. I can hardly hit the max hp & torque. I already felt I'm going too fast and running out of roads. LoL... How true... Actually i look at the zafira, 5008, grand scenic, grand picasso, touran, etc., they are not any longer than a normal 1.6 sedan, so it's little wonder there's little or no space to accommodate another row for adults. Even taller kids will find it tough to sit in 3rd row. And of course, can forget about luggage space if 3rd row occupied. Come to think of it, It's amazing that we managed to put 2 child seats plus one 28", two 20" luggage plus a couple of bags with all 3 rows used, in our Wish going to genting a few years ago... was a real squeeze, though... I am 100% sure none of the other european mpvs mentioned above can do this. S-Max might just manage this, while Galaxy should have space to spare. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HermanGuoh 1st Gear May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 solli ah....do u mean 35L instead of 131L? ($67 divide by $1.90/L after discount) also, the diesel is $6K cheaper than the petrol(for the S-Max) so if we factor this in, pretty worth it isn't it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 Treat these as hatchback with extended boot. How true... Actually i look at the zafira, 5008, grand scenic, grand picasso, touran, etc., they are not any longer than a normal 1.6 sedan, so it's little wonder there's little or no space to accommodate another row for adults. Even taller kids will find it tough to sit in 3rd row. And of course, can forget about luggage space if 3rd row occupied. Come to think of it, It's amazing that we managed to put 2 child seats plus one 28", two 20" luggage plus a couple of bags with all 3 rows used, in our Wish going to genting a few years ago... was a real squeeze, though... I am 100% sure none of the other european mpvs mentioned above can do this. S-Max might just manage this, while Galaxy should have space to spare. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 also, the diesel is $6K cheaper than the petrol(for the S-Max) so if we factor this in, pretty worth it isn't it.. Wif the CEVS rebate, the savings is prob closer to $3k coz ur PARF oso reduced. But that aside, for big heavy car, turbodiesel is a practical solution as fuel savings + extra torque make it quite shiok to drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 solli ah....do u mean 35L instead of 131L? ($67 divide by $1.90/L after discount) I calculate the saving using diesel. Diesel price is 1.625 after discount. Ron95 is 2.138 after discount. (price from Shell) So, use Diesel saves 0.51 per liter. 131 liter per month, we save $67 The more diesel we burn, the more saving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 [laugh] This is farnie. In other countries, people mentality is to save $$$ and try to conserve energy. Here, due to farnie taxation and regulation, we maximise usage to save. I calculate the saving using diesel. Diesel price is 1.625 after discount. Ron95 is 2.138 after discount. (price from Shell) So, use Diesel saves 0.51 per liter. 131 liter per month, we save $67 The more diesel we burn, the more saving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 How true... Actually i look at the zafira, 5008, grand scenic, grand picasso, touran, etc., they are not any longer than a normal 1.6 sedan, so it's little wonder there's little or no space to accommodate another row for adults. Even taller kids will find it tough to sit in 3rd row. And of course, can forget about luggage space if 3rd row occupied. Come to think of it, It's amazing that we managed to put 2 child seats plus one 28", two 20" luggage plus a couple of bags with all 3 rows used, in our Wish going to genting a few years ago... was a real squeeze, though... I am 100% sure none of the other european mpvs mentioned above can do this. S-Max might just manage this, while Galaxy should have space to spare. I will prefer to be on the 3rd row of a stream or wish even for a 20 min drive compared to the few European car mentioned above. there was a Renault grand scenic on display during the cold storage run at Garden by the Bay... my 7 yrs old kid tried the rear seat.. and said not so nice compared to our current stream... I wanted to try ..but after taking a 5 sec look...abort the decision... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 I will prefer to be on the 3rd row of a stream or wish even for a 20 min drive compared to the few European car mentioned above. there was a Renault grand scenic on display during the cold storage run at Garden by the Bay... my 7 yrs old kid tried the rear seat.. and said not so nice compared to our current stream... I wanted to try ..but after taking a 5 sec look...abort the decision... I'm quite sure Grand Scenic is even worse than Zafira for 3rd row space. For Zafira, just as I was going in to try, the SE told me nicely that it's mainly for kids, but I told him i just want to try it for space. Managed to get in. Then when getting out, had to twist my body in such awkward manner that I sprained my back muscle!!! I used to get this when I started sprinting without sufficient warm up when i was playing soccer... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 I'm quite sure Grand Scenic is even worse than Zafira for 3rd row space. For Zafira, just as I was going in to try, the SE told me nicely that it's mainly for kids, but I told him i just want to try it for space. Managed to get in. Then when getting out, had to twist my body in such awkward manner that I sprained my back muscle!!! I used to get this when I started sprinting without sufficient warm up when i was playing soccer... lolx u have to be a contortionist to get in and out.. I dun mind a 2nd hand Honda oddy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lycanthrope 4th Gear May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 honda oddy is nice ..but too low to the ground Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 honda oddy is nice ..but too low to the ground my mum is staying with me... so cant get car with high step... like SUV.. so the sliding doors of Mazda 5 and biante are good... I know s max is low too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lycanthrope 4th Gear May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 maybe its me and my butt , but i find the ride height is higher than other cars ..but of course can never be higher than a suv my mum is staying with me... so cant get car with high step... like SUV.. so the sliding doors of Mazda 5 and biante are good... I know s max is low too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 22, 2014 Share May 22, 2014 my mum is staying with me... so cant get car with high step... like SUV.. so the sliding doors of Mazda 5 and biante are good... I know s max is low too. This one i understand perfectly. My parents are staying with me too. While my dad is quite ok, my mum is not very mobile/flexible and we'll need to take her into consideration too. When we went to Taiwan for holiday 2 yr ago, we got a chaffeured MPV to bring us around. It was a Hyundai Starex (called iMax there), which was so high up, I had to help her down from the car everytime... Then last year went Australia, rented MPV to self-drive, and got the iMax again. Lucky i was smart and brought along a stepper (those buy from Ikea type, kids used it for toileting when young) and let her use to get up and down from the car... The tricky part is either too low or too high up, also difficult to get in and out... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HermanGuoh 1st Gear May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 pics from my SE ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...