Jc777 Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 Roomba is an intelligent and effective vacuuming robot. All Roomba Vacuuming Robots feature iRobot ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 I'm using the China one, called Cleanmate QQ2. It comes wif a docking station where it will RTB once cleaning complete or low in batt. Bought it S$300+ at OG early tis yr. The local distributor warrants tis robot. So far visited them twice n they were prompt to replace the defective item. I was looking at the Scooba, it vacuums n mops too!!! US selling USD600+, the SG distributor was selling it S$1.4K!!!! I pointed that out to them at Sitex recently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nimby Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 Agree totally with the comments. Saw one selling in the US for about 300 SGD but SG distributor sells for at least twice the amount. I have got one and it is very useful. The problem is with spare parts should any fail. The local SG distributor's prices for the spares are very high, compared to the advertised rate in the US website. The battery for my robot died recently and when I tried to get one from the distributor, I was quoted some ridiculous price. Worse still they had no stocks and had to order from the US. Am now asking a friend to get me a replacement battery from the US direct. Am seriously thinking about going down to OG to look at the China one. However, good a product is, it is no use if the local support sucks when something goes wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 hardwarezone forums, homemaker section. sg roomba thread, 50 pages. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jc777 Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Author Share December 14, 2007 very useful? good. yah, compared the prices and realised that sg distributors selling at about double the price of US, given that USD vs SGD rate is attractive. even with shipping back through vpostUSA or CGW, can get it at a good discount. saw the one OG but felt that roomba looks more steady. Cleanmate QQ-2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jc777 Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Author Share December 14, 2007 hardwarezone forums, homemaker section. sg roomba thread, 50 pages. GLGT? SIC... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speed_ong Clutched December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 I using the latest Roomba 530. Very good. Pick up alot of dirts, dust and hair. Vacuum for 90mins and it will auto dock to its charging station. Save me time and effort to vacuum the whole house. Abit ex though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 Do note that the Cleanmate QQ2 has a UV light below. So it will disinfect as it vacuums. Do read up more on the Cleanmate QQ2. The local distributor really provides good service. S$300+ for one is really a steal, compare to the i-robot machines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foofam77 Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 I'm using the China one, called Cleanmate QQ2. It comes wif a docking station where it will RTB once cleaning complete or low in batt. Bought it S$300+ at OG early tis yr. The local distributor warrants tis robot. So far visited them twice n they were prompt to replace the defective item. I was looking at the Scooba, it vacuums n mops too!!! US selling USD600+, the SG distributor was selling it S$1.4K!!!! I pointed that out to them at Sitex recently. is it still on sale right now for QQ2? How big an area can it cover? If my house is those type of odd shape, how does it ensure that it covered the entire area? I have always been perplexed by this... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tommisan 4th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 The Scooba just mops, vacuuming is not its main task. It is recommended to vacuum separately before using the Scooba. I am now considering to buy the new 560 series Roomba (dunno why it is a diff model from the 580 shown in the US website) Seems to come with a scheduler and wireless control and all parts are modulated, makes it easier for maintenance. Retails for 988. The 530 series retails for 788. Cheers, Tommy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tommisan 4th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 Easily covering 1000 sqft. As mentioned by the distributor here. Anything more, you may need to run the cleaner twice. One thing for sure, corners are unreachable. I am also wondering if the roomba can vacuum over thick carpets, cross over small kerbs (between living rm and kitchen), manoeuvre around dining chair legs? Anyone could help to answer my queries? Thanks, Tommy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jc777 Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Author Share December 15, 2007 my colleague was relating on the name QQ2 with chery QQ and wondering if there are any links. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jc777 Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Author Share December 15, 2007 you are getting from the local distributor? the online prices of the roombas in US are almost half of the retail prices by local dist. adding another $50-100 for shipping by vpostUSA/CGW, it would be much cheaper to get from US. the only downside is no warranty/support and more expensive accessories if not getting from local dist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 The QQ2 is definately still on sale, some of the homefix outlets do sell it. Mine is a HDB 5-rm flat, I let it loose in my living room. My living room is all tiled, no carpets. I do shift my dining chair to the kitchen to let it clean more efficiently. It cant clean 90 degree corners, so the little edge is not cleaned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 1.4K for Scooba? The demand must be high as I got it about 1.2k 9 months ago. Actually, it's quite ok to vacuum and mop, just that it's slow unlike Roomba. Also, problem with Scooba, once the sensor get dirty from mopping very dusty places, it can go haywire and unable to back off. I could not fix it by cleaning by water and only could resolve it by spraying WD40 on the sensors. Other than this, it's pretty ok. Oh yar, rem to get an extra battery, you'll appreciate it after using it. Anyway, the newer releases of Scooba has not reached here yet and is able to last longer and defintely cost less than S$1.4K. Next time round, I'll bring in via vpostusa. The performance of such products depends on how fast they can sweep across all corners. From my previous research before I bought scooba, Karcher is better (only vacuum) and superbly quiet. However, the price is very fantastic as well at 2.7K. I'm using the China one, called Cleanmate QQ2. It comes wif a docking station where it will RTB once cleaning complete or low in batt. Bought it S$300+ at OG early tis yr. The local distributor warrants tis robot. So far visited them twice n they were prompt to replace the defective item. I was looking at the Scooba, it vacuums n mops too!!! US selling USD600+, the SG distributor was selling it S$1.4K!!!! I pointed that out to them at Sitex recently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 bro, dun need to buy original battas from US lah... bring the old batt to sim lim... look ard and u can get your batts refitted with new ones! it should cost betw $110-120, using higher rated batts somemore... beats waiting for your batts to arrive... but if u want the original batt, lemme know... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 What's with the Chinese fixation on naming anything that is "QQ"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jc777 Neutral Newbie December 17, 2007 Author Share December 17, 2007 seems like they like the letter 'Q' very much. they even have a chinese version of ICQ called QQ. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...