Linusloh Clutched December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 My other half offered to buy me watch, budget as above haha... Any to recommened? I dunno much abt these things... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miketow Neutral Newbie December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 Omega Chrono Seamaster Automatic - about 4K plus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 Omega 2008 Olympics Limited Edition Constellation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ninafrost 1st Gear December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 Hi Linusloh, 5K budget is pretty decent. You have plenty of choices to pick from. Question, do you want to buy a watch more for the brand then for the workmanship? Personally i would look out for these brands 1) IWC 2) Panerai 3) Bell & ross They have models in the range of 5k and below. These watches have good aftermarket value and are very suitable for guys. Best if you can shop around and personally try on the watches to really find sumthing you like. DO NOT BE FOOLED BY PICTURES. They can be very deceiving. Vivo city Sincere has pretty good range to pick from. Happy Shopping! Best Nina Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redwood Neutral Newbie December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 (edited) Can buy a pre-own rolex. Buy new one, the depreciation will be very high. Example new rolex oyster perpetual submariner about 8-9k or higher (not sure is it M series now). Buy pre-own, other series, about 5.5k. older series you can get it below 5k. When you sell, you won't lose much. Edited December 21, 2007 by Redwood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neotan Neutral Newbie December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 if you are adventurous, you can check out: http://esearch.rakuten.co.jp/rms/sd/esearc...&max=439999&p=0 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 (edited) warouz... this feller open mouth already $5K leh. so the amt to him is sup sup water lah. recommend ex one not pre-own one otherwise his other 1/2 will not forgive him. personally i like this [inline "101637_s copy.jpg"] Edited December 21, 2007 by Apollo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 head down sincere watches at vivo and point point lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linusloh Clutched December 21, 2007 Author Share December 21, 2007 Hey all, Tks for the recommendations! So many! I tot omega with all the diamonds on it sure 10k or more Too loud for me... Aiya, other half offered so better take it haha... (of cos got to 'return' a 'better' gift... ) IWC's nice, but got <5k ones? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 I know nothing about watches. I have not been wearing one for a decade. Can watch be used as a tool for investment? Buy it at 5k, keep it and then sell it at say 50k 10 years later? What are the downside? Some watch expert please advise, many thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocobelle Neutral Newbie December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 oei, mont blanc li pun si wo share ah? everytime oso recommend one [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 Unique mah... TagHuer so common. function as normal and dress watch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 warouz... where got watches tat can make 10 fold I also want. take out all CPF and dump there better then get measly 2% return fr GIC not enuff to cover inflation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocobelle Neutral Newbie December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 no need 2 buy 2nd hand one lah sm pple oso maybe pang tan go KL buy easily chirper by few hundrd $$ liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ninafrost 1st Gear December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 Hello Linusloh, So you like to know more about IWC. The sticker price for watches especially those from boutiques(eg cortina and sincere) usually offers 15-20% discounts based on the sticker price. PLease ask for them if they do not mention it. It's a standard discount for everyone. So based on the discount given, you can look at the range of 1) SPitfire (Standard, Non UTC) 2) Portofino 3) Pilot series (Standard, Non UTC) I think the other IWC models are like 5k and above. Do go ask around first. IWC is currently very hot on the market but please do shop around and don't rush headlong into buying it without doing your homework. For investment purposes, you can read up more in this forum. http://forums.timezone.com/ For second hand watches you can also visit this place at funan http://www.passions.com.sg/ But like some people say, maybe your gf will be miffed that you want her to buy a second hand watch for you. [laugh] Happy shopping. Best Nina Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 But I read in Straits Times that someone actually made money by trading watches. The article was quite a few years back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linusloh Clutched December 21, 2007 Author Share December 21, 2007 Hi, looks like u r quite into watches IWC's look good. So does bell & ross. I like paneiri too, but they look a bit too 'simple'. Not looking at investments la, prob keep for...well, forever heh. Dun need the brand, I prefer good built and workmanship. I'll look up the site u mentioned. Tks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocobelle Neutral Newbie December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 dun say neber warn u hor IWC servicing oso beri xpensive one i gv up & left mine on the shelf long long time ago liao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...