Watch to recommend S$5k or less

Linusloh

Thanks Nina. Just wondering if Raymond Weil just upped and closed operations here and in Bangkok(BKK) as I wanted to have my rw serviced and strap replaced. Thanks again.

Not sure abt the old monaco, but the current monaco watches are more suitable for "mature" people... which I think dun suit me.. tongue.gif

i am very into LohLek esp old antique ones

You can have a Oyster Datejust or AirKing for about that price.

I love the Airking bcos it was a commerative series

join www.sg-roc.com for more info.

you will be surprised to find that LohLek is not as expensive as perceived to be

i was quoted 6.5k for explorer (dun noe simi number ah) in KL last month leh [:|]

but too bad my cousin nt keen on tat watch [:/]

so we bought another model instead [;)]

Last Nov, I bought my black dial explorer II in spore for 6.5k. y need to go all the way to K.L to buy?waste time & $$$!

The Airking is at abt 4.5k after disc.

Edited by Lsk005

I had my first Rolex ODJ when I was 18.

My Dad gave it to me. It was about 20 yrs old.

I wasnt too attached to it becos it was an ah pek watch so I sold it.

That is one of the very very few regrets in my life.

When I have a son, I will remember not to pass him my Daytona at age 18.

He probably wont appreciate it.

haha

Aiyoh !! wat a waste you sold yr ODJ !!

my story is slightly different

i came from a well to do family that fell on hard times

the ODJ was the only indicator left of our heritage

so i always had taste for the finer things in life... despite my humble background

the only reason it was left behind was bcos it was damaged and fetched no value.

everything else tat can fetch a penny was sold

when i was 10, i swore to myself i will restore that watch and my family reputation to its former glory ... and i did wat i started out to do

But to much regret... the LohLek kept breaking down and maintenance is bleeding my wallet dry.

According to the agent ... the initial damage was quite severe ( no chance to ask wat happened ) and ... it will jus never be the same again

Moreover, given its age ( btw... it is born the year that our previous reign of Garmen solded Christmas Island to the Aussies ... so you have an indication how old is the watch) i had been advised by the agent not to subject it to daily use. It cannot take the stress of wear and tear. Now I keep the watch in a secure place and only wear it on special occasions

i will pass the watch to my boy ... jus like my grandpa bought it for his son

but not before educating him on some tough love

Edited by Comnao

yap, buying a 2nd hand rolex is a good investment, no money liao can pawn the watch...but must be careful... dun get fake 1, some immitation rolex can be really quite good quality, I ever come across plp using real casing but internally fake.

I thought Hublot Luna Rossa (which I like alot) costs less than $5k and was shocked to find that the tag is $20k! But I not into watch in the first place so pardon me.

Well I've now given up on my Rolex.

What a waste of money.

And you have to get it serviced annually.

And that service will cost you more than servicing your car will cost you.

Cheaper the watch the better IMO [scholar]

My Lolex 5 years already, din service it at all. [laugh]

IMO, Pre-own ROLEX watches is not a very good investment vehicle but you're right that no money can pawn, will not lose much thus wearing Pre-own ROLEX is like wearing it for free. New ROLEX depreciate sharply if after few years one wants to sell.

Before paying money to seller, better to go down to ROLEX centre to do a verification about $75 only.

Edited by Redwood