Genie47 1st Gear December 24, 2007 Share December 24, 2007 Kelvinator. Brings back memories. Is it the Cyberdyne model 101 or the new 1000 with polyalomer technology. When I got it, the fridge was really good. When it was going down, it was like going to Kelvinate all the appliances in the kitchen. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spikedoll Clutched December 24, 2007 Share December 24, 2007 same same...my kitchen not very big ..so cannot get 2door fridge how is it ? I haven't start using leh.Does the ice-maker works 24/7 as long there's water in the container? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kieran1975 1st Gear December 24, 2007 Author Share December 24, 2007 just check with one of the shop and a 400+L japan model (not made in japan) will cost ard 900++. They recommend me a LG model GRM 562 at $800. Is it Good? They told me a MADE IN JAPAN Refrigerator will cost me at least $1500 or more for 400+L. so should i settle for a japan brand but made in malaysia or a made in korea brand.... ========================= I had a Kelvinator(Made in Philippines) which lasted me abt 14 years. Now I changed to a Samsung. Cost abt $800 for abt 400lit capacity. I guess if this fridge can last me 10 years, I wil b happy. The only problem when I change fridge is to get 1 with similar dimensions as the previous 1 cos otherwise it wont fit in the space in the kitchen. That was a challenge to get as big as possible at the best price. Most Jap brand fridges r not made in Japan anymore cos of the cost. Koreans sud b ok but now not all Korean brands r made in Korea anymore. Check this website.. http://www.khome-kelvinator.com/general/aboutus.aspx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kieran1975 1st Gear December 24, 2007 Author Share December 24, 2007 Hi bro, your NR-B402V is it good? nosiy or not? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 will look out for mitsubishi fridge tommorow, since a few bros has good comments on this brand. now should i get one with top or bottom freezer ? Good luck definitely recomended. But prepare price beyond ur budget. Got below freezer? Never seen b4 ...only know below is for veggie compartment. My science teacher ask " Why freezer on top and not below". Ans: Cold air condense Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 dont quite understand what you mean. cold air is denser so it should stay at the bottom, so why freezers are built on top? It is wasting cold air what. Anyway, modern fridges are built with separate ductings, so that the meat smell does not go into the drinks area. So the cooling systems are different. Don't see what your science teacher is trying to say. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kieran1975 1st Gear December 25, 2007 Author Share December 25, 2007 will be looking at this model S SERIES MR V45S (less than $800) and MR-CU46S (ard $900). http://www.mitsubishielectric.com.sg/produ..._series_MR_V45S http://www.mitsubishielectric.com.sg/produ...series_MR_CU46S anyone currently owning one of this model? comment pls. Thks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 (edited) 10 years is a bit too long. 5 years I guess. Because not only compressors need to overhaul, but the technology of fridges may allow you to save more money in the long run. Many people will say their xxx brand fridge can last 20 yrs +, but never realise the leaking old rubber seals, the old tech compressors are costing them a lot more in electricity bills over these 20 years that they can actually get a couple of new fridges. Not to mention the noise and the excess heat (to me, heat = wasted energy). Edited December 25, 2007 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 Tat was during my pri 6 soon after,i stop schooling The idea is cold air from freezer will go down to cool the other compartment. The rest u can argue with him But tat was long ago,technology has improved Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 Mine is something like tis with 3 door compartment,but last time i bot expensive sia. http://www.mitsubishielectric.com.sg/produ...series_MR_CU46S Still good and quiet running coming to 10 years now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 nah. I don't bother to argue with teachers... yeah, the fact that tech improves every 5-10 yrs, it doesnt make sense to keep a fridge for longer than it's worth. Unless is those who spend really big money on those super expensive hi-tech, which turned obsolete too fast... too 'sayang' to throw away then start to replace here and replace there. Maybe my thinking is different, I buy practical mid-range products, but I change every (few) years. Replacing with a new product is always better than having to keep the old expensive mofo that you have to bleed just replacing parts. Applies to my car, pc, laptop, TV or fridge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 I wont change it ,if it ain't broken...so far my WM and fridge still Butt coming to 10 years woh meaning...if it broke it can breakdown together,thus need to spend more on buying both Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 (edited) Tat was during my pri 6 soon after,i stop schooling The idea is cold air from freezer will go down to cool the other compartment. The rest u can argue with him But tat was long ago,technology has improved fwah... i parmpee 5 only.. but i know smthg else. my kachang puteh friend say 3 door type is different. the fresh veggie one uses quick freeze which has a stronger blower fan (blowjob u know), so blow blow beri fast so that the item will chill down. different fr the middle one which is just s normal chiller with recycle fan. the top section one uses deep freezing. so effectively, all compartments have different purposes. mitsu one even added ionizer to the quick freezer to help storage life. Edited December 25, 2007 by Apollo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 Is he from moooosetafar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 tats why must cater budget first for replacement ma. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 no he used to say at cathy cineleisure, now selling at geylang becos his customers grow older, now they prefer to sit at kopithiams, sip kopi, throw smoke around, watch ma-piu-po, watches live mooobees like polis catch chicken. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 same same...my kitchen not very big ..so cannot get 2door fridge how is it ? I haven't start using leh.Does the ice-maker works 24/7 as long there's water in the container? havent deliver yet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chris80 Neutral Newbie December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 will look out for mitsubishi fridge tommorow, since a few bros has good comments on this brand. now should i get one with top or bottom freezer ? Mitsubishi is a good fridge. Recently got one at $700. Bought at Hong Liang at Bukit Merah, very near to those car and bike workshop. Did a comparision and found the price to be cheaper by about $100+ than Courts. Check this out. http://www.singaporebrides.com/cgi-bin/for...409&page=348399 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...