More caught beating readlights.

Apollo

More motorists caught beating the red light this year: Traffic Police

By Ng Lian Cheong, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 29 December 2007 1921 hrs

SINGAPORE : In the first nine months of this year, 62 people were issued with summons each day for beating the red light - that's an 80 percent jump compared to the same period last year.

And of late, the internet is also hawking a special sprays which claim to make license plate "invisible" to traffic cameras.

The websites say spray it on the license plate and the special spray will cause it to be too reflective to be photographed by traffic cameras.

Our news team understands that there has been enquiries about such products here recently.

Winson Ng, Owner, MRS Sign, said: "One or two customers asked if we sell it. I said no. I've been making car plates for over 20 years. I heard about the product, but it can't beat the technology used by the police."

But if the special spray is available in Singapore would motorists buy it?

Ben Tan, Driver, said: ""I will not buy the spray because in the event there's an accident or if something happens, probably the camera is able to help us to witness what actually happened. (It may also) help us to put some of the people, especially those hit and run people, to justice."

When asked, the Traffic Police would not comment on whether the sprays are effective in hoodwinking its cameras.

But it warns that those caught beating the red light will be dealt with severely.

Offenders will be punished with 12 demerit points and fined up to S$230.

Between January and September this year, the Traffic Police issued 16,000 summons to red light beaters.

This is over 7,600 summons or 82 percent more than the same period in 2006.

The Traffic Police say failing to adhere to traffic signals is one of the major causes of accidents at intersections in Singapore.

And "red-running" accounted for about 19 percent of total fatal or injury accidents between 2003 and 2006. - CNA/ch

It is busted in myth busters episode ..... what ever u spray wait for your summon man .... if u dashed the red light .... worst if lucky yr car will miss accidents if not ... huh .... pay summon, pay damage, pray nobody is hurt.

dun quote me on this, but if u turn on hazard light when crossing e line, e camera might not be able to capture your plate no. The theory is e same as trying to take pic of a flash light.

as i said, dun quote me. this info was provided by an ex-TP, the hazard light of the car can blind the camera. So far, my friend has tried it for the past years whenever he was on the verge of beating the red light; he never receive any summons till date.

perhaps it's not hazard lights.

If I am not wrong, there's an allowance of approx 1-2s after lights turn red.

Only if your wheel cross the line after this 1-2s, then u are captured.

As far as I know, transition from yellow to red is almost instantaneous.

If lights still yellow & we think it's unsafe to stop, we can proceed.

So in this case, isn't it illogical to summon us if lights turn from yellow to red whilst we are clearing the traffic lights?

So maybe your friend falls under above scenario.

how about rear fog lights? or if u step on the brake?

but the lights r 'directed' to the rear and not upwards so the cam can't be blinded by the light.. [:/]

apart from then reflective spray...

internet selling oso this plastic plate tat put over the no plate....

one kind is the only look from direct rear can see. side or angle then cannot see...like wat u see on NRIC.

one more is like LRT the glass ...tat goes thru electrical wire. press button then become grey screen liao....

but of cos anything overlay the plate is illegal...

tot in australia...clear plastic is to protect the no plate.....

Edited by Circuit

Quite frankly, if you have time to activate the hazard light or turn on the special switch to grey out the license plate, you'd have ample time to stop the car! There are far too many accidents involving cars beating the red lights, and such accidents are commonly fatal because of side-impacts at high speeds. It is best not to beat the red lights - just that moment of impatience might lead to a lifetime of regret!

The hazard light trick does not work... the flash fills in the shadows so that the underexposure trick will not work. Anyway the hazard light is too weak at that distance to affect the exposure. And as someone else mentioned... the spray can method has been debunked in mythbuster programs.

For supercar owners, you can check out the TopGear episode on YouTube where they test out the limits of the speed-trap cameras. You'd need to be travelling at 240km/h before you are fast enough not to be trapped by the cameras. So if you're going at 200km/h, say goodbye to your license!

Just curious, does the camera shoot you as long as your tyres cross the stop line after the red is red, or is there still some bit of allowance after the light is red?

only activated after red light and if ur ride is still partially behind the line. trip by floor wire sensor.

i do read somewhere before that the car must trip 2 sensor.

1. the first stop line at the traffic light. first shot taken here.

2. the next is the line after the traffic light. second shot taken here. this shot is to prove that you have indeed beat the traffic light and clear the junction.

the whole car must pass the sensors on the floor.. if u see at traffic lights.. there are black lines..

1. Before the Stop line (to trigger the timer for red light to turn green).

2. After the Stop line (to detect redlight beater)

Total there will be 6 frames taken if i am not wrong (cos 6 flashes).. what happened to my dad last time is.. he managed to jam brake and the truck just screech to a stop just nice after the STOP line.. the camera just clicked away.. but no letter came.. [laugh][laugh]

apart from then reflective spray...

internet selling oso this plastic plate tat put over the no plate....

one kind is the only look from direct rear can see. side or angle then cannot see...like wat u see on NRIC.

one more is like LRT the glass ...tat goes thru electrical wire. press button then become grey screen liao....

but of cos anything overlay the plate is illegal...

tot in australia...clear plastic is to protect the no plate.....

Wait for ROV to summon you on the road with this ... worst then beat traffic lights.... LOL but dun beat traffic light lahh life at stake ....

Ever saw a car using a very reflective kind of plastic (not sure if it's lamination or coating) for its license plate holder. Caused my headlights to keep reflecting back at me and blinding me and the license plate number couldn't be seen clearly at times.