Chongster 6th Gear January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 sunshine empire? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 I monitor and does my own analysis on stock counters. Earlier part of 2007 was a super bull for all my counters. On average, I made about 40% return per month out of oil, property and construction related counters. Some times in a day I make around $2k. Forget and about doing your own business. Those who suggested that have zero experience in entrepreneurship and simply a hearsay. I failed in 3 business startups, with startup capital ranging from $40k to $3,000,000. For any business, if you are lucky, the first 3 years is confirmed negative. After the 6th or 7th year then you should break even provided you don't run into cash flow problems within the first 3 years. After 10 years then you can talk about decent returns, of which 90% of startup failed to attain that level. And even if you have successfully reached 10 years in operation, there will always be constant competitions arising from both smaller niche player as well as financially backed players. In addition to all the risks, at the back of your mind will be all your commitment telling you to quit. Your car needs financing, your HDB loan, your renovation loan, your child program, you need to give parent money, washing machine spoilt liao but last 3 months you failed to make any sales and rental is up, your credit card and overdraft is max out, your car is also due to a major servicing, your chief sales/technical guy wanted a significant pay rise or he will leave, and to make things worst, you need to top up your medisave Think again... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 wah u fail in 3 businesses... ranging from $40K to $3M... wanna ask you: 1) where u get all your fundings? 2) with $3M start-up cost, what kind of business are u in? 3) since you got $3M, why dun u juz reture? 4) are u an undischarged bankrupt? 5) if you are bankrupt, how much you are paying per month now? how long u think you can be discharge? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 There is no perfect fairness in the world. We pay them some commissions so that we can continue our lives without monitoring and spending too much time on stocks market. I used to be getting ard 10% per annum on average from stocks trading in the past, but it distracted me from work and caused my blood pressure to shoot up when the market was volatile. Nowadays, I trade less and buy more Unit trusts for more ease of mind. Happier now... Warrants - dun think abt it if you dun even grasp the fundamentals of stocks. I have friends been burnt badly recently. I've also gone through that. Yes, it distracted my attentions on lots of thing. The best is, just leave the money with the Fund Managers or the Private Banking officer. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 $100k to $200k no diff. Add another zero behind and we are talking.... $500k is the low end average today, i feel. Anyway, when i last had $200k fully disposable cash, i sat on it for a year before buying a D9 property for $600k in 2005. Now I would say, keep half liquid, and get into good value stocks with the other $100k. You can choose to break it up 2 times or 4 times to get into the market. After that just relax and wait for time to pass. Of course, you'll need to first believe in Singapore and its future. Cheers Gong Xi Fa Cai Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 i like ur nick and avatar... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 my nick is the same as my old nick just with 2 behind My avatar also no change. the watch i'm wearing... why you like it now, last time dont like leh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redwood Neutral Newbie January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 (edited) Thanks for the advise. I think you got me wrong. $200k is already the disposable cash, which is not for investment purpose. Thus, I'm asking, besides thinking about fixed deposit offered by the banks, is there any other instrument in the market that will give > 2% PA earning. To share an example, Maybank gave 2.38% in their 1 year fixed deposit in the ISAVvy account. You may think that i'm stupid, but i'm applying the following rule: Amount to invest in stock/unit-trust/bonds, A = (1 - (current-age)/100)* (Total Amt you have) Hence, (Total Amt you have) - A, will be left in the pocket which is not to be risk. Edited January 19, 2008 by Redwood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heathgtti Neutral Newbie January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 Just giving my advice here,as far as fixed deposits go, you get a bank percentage amounting to under 3%p.a, in a yearly inflation of 3%, you already lose at the end of the year.....For unit trusts, you get a space in a basket of bluechips that each are affected by an incredible amount of variables(just look and the stocks now),sad isnt it.....not to mention, the people managing your account have no vested interest in you personally and do you think they will make your account their priority? so whats the answer? physical assets!!! Land, will cost too much to start in..Long term....not for everyone,fixed market audience If you want to earn 8% to 14% p.a..own the assests, have the lowest investment risks and find out what the private banking big guns are doing for their high net worth clients,that even the average investor can now get involved in,message me.....and i will give you the information to research yourself.cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 (edited) plse give me the info. I dare say I have never, in my 10yrs in the financial industry been able to do as you described. ie. 8 - 10% (SGD) lowest risks and i cant really think of any bigger guns in the sector that i dont partner...... Edited January 19, 2008 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 AS you know Red, no free lunch. If there was, one was only lucky. Now, if you believe in OCBC, you could simply queue to buy the Pref Shares at $1.01 currently This share pays non-cumulative fixed dividends of 4.2% pa and is liquid. Which means you keep it for a year you get 3.2% pa effectively. The are a whole host of other risks which woudl take me whole day to explain to you but essentially, this is what it is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redwood Neutral Newbie January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 (edited) You're right, leaving any money with the banks will lose at the end of every year due to the current inflation of > 3%. But i already have a well diversified portfolio in unit-trust and stocks, thus will not want to risk this cash on hand. Furthermore, for the past few years, i have already getting use to cashing out the monthly interest rate (std chart) to buy things for myself so putting in unit trust/stock which usually takes some time for a good yield will not be a good choice for the lifestyle. This few weeks the funds market is really terrible. 2/3 days ago, lose few thousands in China and India funds. Property is also very high, not possible to go in to fight with the rich. Seems that a lot of investors is talking about buying unit trust on commodities, what is your opinion on this? For the past few months, the price is always up and up, is the price sustainable? People says gold will shoot very high, few days ago i think it drop or something. Will gold be at the 1000 mark? Fuel price will be > US100 but it only go to that mark once and now came down already. Edited January 19, 2008 by Redwood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redwood Neutral Newbie January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 Is the prospectus in OCBC website? You have idea of the front and back end load and annual charges if any? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redwood Neutral Newbie January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 HEATHGTTI, can PM me the info? Thanks a million. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heathgtti Neutral Newbie January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 the thing is, the U.S keeps saying there may be a possibilty of recession coming, however,for the rest of the world watching, we say they are already in recession.My opinion is stocks,will be worst hit,and the signs for taht recovery is not yet in view..naturally unit trust if managed well simply cushions the variations which affect your investment,at the cost of next to nothing gain.You hvae to ask yrself when it comes to unit trust in today climate,with the global outlook as it is now, given a chance..wouldnt you agree that having tangible assets that appreciate in value be better than trusting anyone with your money, taking into account the 97 upheaval, ask yourself thru it all, what 2 areas out-performed everything, made no losses and maintained a average yearly increase of 34.4% from 94 to today? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heathgtti Neutral Newbie January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 i have to appreciate your 10 years experience in finance,but quite frankly it surprises me that in that time and especially most of all in the last year leading up, you have not been exposed to Fine Wine Investment market, you should look into it, i would not go telling i have 10 years experience and not be able to quote the result of that sector as a reference to make a healthy comparison. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redwood Neutral Newbie January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 (edited) Bro, i think you send to wrong person, never say i got 10 years experience in finance. Should be for throttle2 right? Anyway, i heard of investing in fine wine before. A few friends of mine earn quite a lot. But is it true that the lock-in period is usually quite long, 3 to 5 years before one can withdraw from the investment else the penalty is usually 50 to 60% of invested amount? Edited January 19, 2008 by Redwood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heathgtti Neutral Newbie January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 With hsbc, Sg private banking advising their clients into Fine wine investments, its a case of those with the research and the fore-sight that will make the move and be the ones to capitalise on what is a very stable and lucrative market albeit specialised to a point of elitism.Now that it is very much open, i recommend you do your own research lest you think i am not being objective, and you will see the viability of it as an investment alternative that fulfills the safety and diversity of todays portfolio requirements.if you need any help or have any questions feel free to ask me...cheers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...