Car Washing Sequence...

Typhoonz

How many of you guys got a sequence to wash you cars? For instance you start with the rims, then on to the doors so on and so forth...

I just use 1 pail of water for my weekly wash - first, wipe the windows while the water is still clean. Then, wipe the body when the water starts getting murky. Then wash the rims when the water becomes black. Black water + Armorall rims cleaner can still keep the rims looking clean. Once every 4 months send the car for grooming, that's it.

1. Loosen visible dirt such as dry grass by rinsing the whole car once.

1. Soap Roof

2. Soap Bonnet

3. Soap Boot

4. Rinse Roof, Bonnet, Boot

5. Soap left, Soap rear, Rinse

6. Soap right, Soap front, Rinse

7. Rims

8. Dry

Edited by Nutty

My sequence:-

1) Rinse the whole ride

2) Starting from roof, bonnet, doors (Wash using shampoo with wash mitt)

3) Rinse shampoo away

4) Dry the whole ride

5) Wash windscreen

6) Clean engine compartment (Alternate week)

7) Wash rims cum tyre

8) Go up to upper level to apply wax & all other necessarties

Total time spend:- 2.5 hours plus minus [:p]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

My sequence is slightly different from the other bros here.

1. Rinse whole car with water + a little #901 to loosen dirt/dry grass/'flowers'

2. Shampoo lower parts of the car (side skirt/wheel arch region) with shampooed foamy water as these parts always kena mud.

3. Using same sponge, clean rims + scrub wheels

4. Using a different sponge, clean from Roof, bonnet, boot, doors, everywhere else

5. Rinse

6. Dry all paintwork but not the glass surfaces.

7. Apply #751 to wet glass surface and dry.

8. Apply Turtlewax foam wheel cleaner. (Can't rmb the name..its the green spray can)

Yup, this is just for washing. Waxing is a whole different story. [cool]

Estimated time taken : Roughly 1 1/2 hours [nod]

(1) Open Bonnet and clear dust with small brush;

(2) Dusting and vacuuming of car mats;

(3) Vacuum interior of car including the trunk;

(4) Wash interior of car;

(5) Apply TyreShine on my tyres;

(6) Wash my rims;

(7) Rinse car exterior with water and clean off dirt and grimes (from top down);(8) Apply Liquid Wax (by TuffSeal)(from top down);

(9) Rinse car with water (from top down);

(10) Drying (from top down);

(11) Apply DG 521;

(12) Apply DG Leather Conditioner (twice a month).

Duration: 2 to 2.5 hrs every week rain or shine.

Including my CO's ride...multiply the above by 2 [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Wash cars at my chicken farm porch so won't be obstructing others and can take my time [nod]

[flowerface]

Edited by Chickenfarm

She offered to help lah but I know her standard (or shld I say my standard is quite high when it comes to cleanliness) so I told her to stay home [laugh] Otherwise she clean oredy I still got to clean somemore then it's duplication of work liao [sweatdrop]

On days where I'm tired, I'll split into 2 days to clean each car [flowerface]

Women's standard of car cleanliness defers greatly... I guess it's the same for housework...

Can also get her to clean the car with you mah... The both of you work on 1 car and move on to the next lor...

Okie... Will take a look at homefix... How much did you get it for? I just realised my mistake for washing my windscreen with the same detergent for my car... Oops...

Anyway, which detergent are you using for your car? Also from autoglym?

Then we'll end up fighting cos like I said...whatever place she touches I'll end up cleaning them again so better to cut down on her "manhour" and let her do her own things at home [sly] Like that I dun need to "standby car" after that and save on the fighting [laugh]