Used Volvo

Sfchung

After months of trying to decide between used SAAB 95, Volvo S80 vs new Camry 2.4, and months of showroom visits, newspaper poring, online checking and what nots,I have finally plonked down a deposit for a used S80 2.0T today. Perhaps it was my imagination but I tot the S80 is a tad noisier than the SAAB 95?. Is this true? Anyway, this car has 24k mileage on it (how come we don't say kilometerage?) and still has 2 mths warranty on it and the purchase is subject to STA check. I worked out the depn to be just below $10k per yr, better than the new Camry!. Probably can get the car in a few days time....Any advice fellow MCFers can give b4 car handover, ie things to checked for etc.

U can start the engine, wait 5 minutes then press the accelerator quick to >halfway down about 5k rpm. Make sure there is no delays; check the smoke too. Make sure no smoke at all (a little white cloud at acceleration is ok). Check for leaks, coolant level an the usual lot. If otherwise avoid.. more tips here:

http://www.samarins.com

the resource folder has a check list for collecting new cars, but i guess some pointers for 2nd hand too......

btw, congrats on the new ride, when you driving down to show us man......

I am sending the car for STA check. Won't their tests reveal all these defect issues if any? Otherwise no point in sending to them lor....

Thanks everyone for their tips!

I certainly hope to meet up with all u guys! However recently my current ride has not been feeling very well(absorber/shock problem) so no mood. Plus by the time I knock off work and taken my makan , I'm dead beat to drive all the way to Bishan leh.. I stay in Jurong, work in Bedok!

Let me sort out the car this week first lah!

Point to note about the S80 (and most Volvos in fact), is they generate quite a bit of wind noise from the side mirrors area, not sure if they fixed the problem in the newer S60 and V70 but the pre-2000 generations had this problem [shakehead]

On the other hand, the turbo surge will override the wind noise [thumbsup]

I just picked up the car last night. The STA check was ok scoring A's most of the time. Phew! Also checked for outstanding summons from Malaysia, clean sheet.

Yes, I noticed the noise. I wasn't sure whether it was tire noise or wind noise. Any remedies? But pickup wasn't as great. Potential ecu chipping candidate? Perhaps after the warranty is over. Had some trouble figuring out how the the trip computer works though. Was poring over the manual last night. Still haven't understood everything yet.

TB, any tip on how to install the CD changer? My audio is the HU 6XX something. What is the most cost effective way? I read that some ppls used somekind of adapter to connect to an Alpine unit.

The 2.0T has limited ECU mods as Europe and the US don't have this engine model so aftermarket tuning is limited.

What brand and model tires your S80 have now? We can determine whether the tire noise can be a contributing factor by the type.

As for adding a CD changer, best bet is OEM unit as aftermarket ones is difficult to splice into the factory HU. However, like you mentioned, the Volvo HUs are made by Alpine [;)]

A 2.0L Turbo with a heavy body, I don't think you should expect great pickup. Respectable, is more appropriate! [laugh][laugh][laugh] I think it should be quite good, for that size.

What's the Power, Torque and kerb weight?

Anyway, congrats! [thumbsup]

You have any experience with Superchips? I see that they have a rep in Singapore.

Tyres are Michelin Pilot HX 215/55, ZR/16/93W

Wind noise is a common design fault on volvos, dun ask me why.... [:|]

For the HU, was told that some of the adaptors could suffer from signal loss. U may wanna try www.crutchfields.com to see if they hv an adaptor to suit your HU.

When you are younger, "respect" means can "chiong". When you are older "respect" means "dignified"?? [laugh] I no longer young liau...

Per spec bhp should be 180. I haven't read up on the others yet. Will do that during weekend.

Checked the 'whole world" for adapter for HUxx. Nothing available yet. Some of the website says "akan datang". Guess just have to wait out lor.

Called up the local rep for Superchips Racetech Autosport. Say akan datang end of month. Cost 1.5k. They are not flashing the chip, but replacing it. What is not so good abt Superchips compared to other "stealth" chip is that any changes in the ecu mapping is visible to diagnostic software. Rica and other chips are encrypted and invisble to these software.

I'll wait till my warranty is out and make a decision later.