Petrol price drop in USA (28 Jan 08)

Kwh1

Gasoline prices fall below $3 a gallon

Sun Jan 27, 2008 3:05pm EST

NEW YORK (Reuters) - The average price for a gallon of gasoline in the United States fell below $3 due to less demand and slightly lower oil prices, and was likely to hold steady, according to an industry analyst.

The national average for self-serve, regular unleaded gas was about $2.98 a gallon on January 25, down 9.43 cents in the past two weeks, according to the nationwide Lundberg survey of about 7,000 gas stations.

"For the immediate future, unless crude oil prices either leap up or fall dramatically, I expect little change for average price of gasoline in the street," survey editor Trilby Lundberg told Reuters on Sunday.

Both refiners and retailers experienced shrinking profit margins, which means gasoline prices will likely rise when demand increases.

"Gasoline demand is in its traditional winter hibernation and when it wakes up, rising demand meeting depressed industry profit margins will cause a hike at the pump," Lundberg said.

At the current $2.98 a gallon, retail gasoline is 79.23 cents more expensive than it was a year ago.

Honolulu, Hawaii, had the highest average price per gallon at $3.35 for self-serve, regular gas in the nation, while Tulsa, Oklahoma, had the lowest at $2.70 a gallon.

Edited by Kwh1

Pump prices will NEVER decrease. Only discounts will fluctuate with the crude oil market (albeit at a much slower pace). Get ready to see additional discounts anywhere between 3% to 5%, making the total discount 8-10%. But I'm expecting to see that happen only after Feb CNY period, when demand for petrol dips after the festive season.

tat's wat i suspect but not beri sure, last week got SPC at 5.38 (lowest) not their price just 14ct today to 5.83 already.

sud b getting less n less oil...

even if depression, still only got less oil not more.

Still the same for Shell, pumped the day before. Let's see if the other petrol co. follow suit in the days to come. To be honest, after paying so much for petrol for so long, I'd welcome even a modest 2% extra discount.

[whip][whip] Let's see wat sg petrol coy will do. [rifle]

SG petrol will continue to up up up the petrol prices.

Oh, don't be too happy if the prices were to drop by 1 or 2 cents per liter coz if that happens, I'd be really really worried (they are sure to come up with a bigger hike in a few weeks time).

Let's see if we could see lower pump prices these few days or .... weeks [rolleyes][rolleyes][rolleyes]

There will be no reduction of prices. They do not practise price reduction. If they do, the prices will be going up and down according to crude, but no...so far we only see a continuous upward trend.

The only exception was 1.5 yrs ago when the price went down by 1 cent and went up 3 cents(if my memory didn't fail me [rolleyes] ) within 3 weeks.

sibeh sian... now i dun dare pump full tank becos it not rising anyway... unsure.gif

machiam long wait for it to drop or at least more discount... no 3 no 4...

i dun think it will be dropping soon. last month oil price in US oredi fall below 100USD mark. but over here still have not drop.

they will bang on chinese new year festive season coz we die die will drive during this period.

i guess price will only come down after chinese new year