Meecar Clutched February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 your valued opinion needed. personally i dont think so but many do think it is i cant understand a few issues here hdb flat is for the people hdb flat is subsidized hdb flat upgrade ... tenants no money but can use CPF to pay for lifts but this does not directly contribute to increased the money in the cpf, if this can be used this way why cant i use it to pay for my children's education hdb flat should it be dont to compete with the private sector (eg apartments and condo), then how can business survive, a case in point ... seven eleven - cheers, Giant, cold storage - NTUC hdb flat price also increased even more than private see link http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,...,156849,00.html? therefore after considering the above do you guys think those of us staying in hdb flat should be proud and remaining staying in one thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 personally i dont think so but many do think it is You should have started a poll, so easier to see the reply. But I doubt the "many do think it is" statement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 As long the valuation lower than condo(except for boon keng dbss ah), they'll juz misuse the subsidise word Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 HDB already said that their subsidy is a 'market subsidy', not a cost subsidy. mainly means that they will price it lower than market, but will still grab ur hard earned money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 [reply] HDB already said that their subsidy is a 'market subsidy', not a cost subsidy. mainly means that they will price it lower than market, but will still grab ur hard earned money. I pity those fellow citizen whom cannot keep up with the market... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 Wow, just one year the HDB prices increased from $280k to $364k, about 30% increase... No wonder comes the high inflation... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched February 21, 2008 Author Share February 21, 2008 that is why i am asking you guys whether hdb flat is subsidized taking account the the flats are already built at the same time what is your opinion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 [reply] that is why i am asking you guys whether hdb flat is subsidized taking account the the flats are already built at the same time what is your opinion Question: Are HDB flats really subsidized... (as per title) Answer: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 for sure they are subsidised.. subsidised by the people who bought them.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched February 21, 2008 Author Share February 21, 2008 THAnks for your frank answer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 (edited) That's the price buying from HDB or the valuation price of a resale unit? If it's resale then it's not under HDB already mah. Having said that, I don't subscribe to the notion that HDB sell their flats at subsidized prices... more like 'earn-less-than-they-would-have-liked' prices... Cos if they did, it's DEFINITELY gonna cost THEM ... like maybe a chunk of the 66.6% Edited February 21, 2008 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched February 21, 2008 Author Share February 21, 2008 dont quite follow your trend of thoughts sorry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 Wow, just one year the HDB prices increased from $280k to $364k, about 30% increase... No wonder comes the high inflation... If i'm not wrong, the inflation figures the garment come up with do not include housing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 (edited) I'm asking if the price jump from $280k to $364k is the price of a flat to be bought from HDB or bought from the open (resale) market. If it's from the resale market, HDB is not in the picture. Other point I was making is that I don't agree the HDB flats (bought direct from HDB) are at subsidized prices. It's at a 'affordable' price that still allows HDB to make a decent profit. And if HDB were to really up the price of their flats, the unhappiness of the people will be felt by the government around 2010 Edited February 21, 2008 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 i dun mind paying $$ to upgrade the damned lift, but according to FAQ fr HVeeDee but they say not ready to build, no plans to build, dunno when. really cheesepie... built OrlanPig straydiam 2 years can do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched February 21, 2008 Author Share February 21, 2008 i wrote to hdb about making the lift stop at even floors because presently they stop only on odd floors they took a survey to see if everybody in the block is keen in theory 50% of tenants will not benefit and what is the incentive for them to agree to an upgrade and pay a few thousand dollars i wrote to hdb that hdb was built for the mass that is for the young and old policy makers want families to stay with parents (elderly) how to when elderly parents have twice knee surgery and had difficulty in climbing staircases it is a design flaw without taking account that not everybody staying in the even floors without lifts are young and able so if hdb is subsidized, what exactly is hdb subsidizing they have not given me an answer yet do you guys got an answer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 I think hdb has a policy that help ppl earning no more than a certain amount per year. These ppl are entitle to get loan from hdb which can stretch 20 or 30 years with low interest rates. So that their monthly installment is kept low for them to make ends meet. For those of u combine family income per year exceed that certain amount, u dun get this policy and pay as per normal. As for those who mentioned prices of flats increase is bcos the prices for the building raw material increased by a few folds. Those in the construction coys will know. I'm in the engineering field, prices for metal inflated a few folds at one go and it keeps going up . As for lifts upgrading, I think the residents are not being forced to upgrade, they get to vote. I had seen a couple of blocks which didn't reach the 75% required vote to go ahead. Old ppl in the past had live with the situation of lifts not stopping at every floor for the past 20~30 years liao. IMO to some old folks it is not priority to have it. If really want to kpkb, the point should be why it took hdb so long to come out with the 'lifts stopping at every floor' idea to help senior citizens? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 If you ask the govt this question, they will say yes, HDB flats is subsidised, but based on market subsidy and not actual subsidy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...