Can Appeal Reckless driving charge ?

Samshio

Hi, I was involved in a accident in a car park while I was reversing. I admited my mistake and the other party claimed my insurance. The damage was quite minor.

What I did not know was that a few days later the other party saw a doctor and claimed doctor fees.

It become a police case, and I just found out that I got charge with reckless driving and to be fined $500 with 6 demerits points.

I was shocked. I was only driving 10 km/h, reversing, and the damage was so minor. How can I be reckless driving ??!!

Anyone of you encountered this before ? Can I appeal ??

did you knock down some1? or into a car?

congrats bro.. since you admit your fault liao, he still wanna squeeze everything out of you.. this type of ppl also got.. sad to hear that..

Edited by Redune

did not knock anyone down. The accident was so minor, the bumper had a minor bump only.

He was still fine after the small accident. I went to the workshop with him, settle everything, he was still ok.

Who knew he like that. [smallcry]

Did you take a picture of the incident/damage?

If so, that guy will not win the case. You can then take your time to counter sue him for all the distress/loss of opportunity etc. Make sure that bugger burn for what he did. DO NOT let him off!

If no pic...then it NPNT [:p]

Better pay lah....learn from this lesson!

Count yourself damn lucky NOT TO HAVE HIT A PERSON IN the lot instead!

If this is the case, you'll be standing before a judge to see how many months ( if ever) you're going to get for not being able to touch a steering wheel, let alone drive!

Ppl like you already get away with minor infringement still come here to 'cow-pay, cow bu'!....so you want to get the BIG one, where you cannot eat or cannot sleep properly for months before you'll know what sentence you'll get, is it? [:/]

bro really felt sorry for you....KNN after reading your post really want to give this fcuker a punch on his face....bl00dy hell, how come got such people around...such a despicable fcuker !!! [furious][furious][furious][rifle]

hope you find a the way out to counter his claims....wondering whether you want to seek a lawyer for help first...

Got picture.

The problem was that it has become a traffic police case where I had to make a police report. Now the traffic police wants to charge me with reckless driving.

I don't really mind about the money since he already claim my insurance for the car, but I feel very "yuen wang" (accused of something I did not do).

It was such a minor accident and got fine $500.

I was searching the web and found that this guy got into a more serious case was fine $200 only.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STIStory_210386.html

so should I just bite the bullet and accept the charge ?

Bro, I already let him claim my insurance for everything.

I'm not shrugging responsiblity.

What I am disputing is my charge of reckless driving. If minor dent is reckless, than what about those guys that cause major damage on other cars ?

I think the problem was that the other party claimed 21 days of MC. But I still saw him walking around the void deck a few days after the accident. Didn't look like he was in any bad shape.

[smallcry]

You cannot like that compare lah...if you use your case, then there are worse case than yours!

Your points will be erased after sometime, money paid out can easily be made back! [;)]

But if you really hit someone and that person lands up in ICU..then, what example are you going to use to compare against? [:/]

Why don't just move on and from now be a wiser and more cautious driver? [;)]

a simple bump on the bumper and he claimed 21 days of MC? simi LJ? [confused]

is it his father is the doctor? or could he haf dropped his 2 balls after u bump into him? tats really bxxxxxxt to the max leh.

Hi, I was involved in a accident in a car park while I was reversing. I admited my mistake and the other party claimed my insurance. The damage was quite minor.

What I did not know was that a few days later the other party saw a doctor and claimed doctor fees.

It become a police case, and I just found out that I got charge with reckless driving and to be fined $500 with 6 demerits points.

I was shocked. I was only driving 10 km/h, reversing, and the damage was so minor. How can I be reckless driving ??!!

Anyone of you encountered this before ? Can I appeal ??

Sometimes , the pain from injury will surface after several hours when the adrenalin and endorphin wears off. He can look fine now, but will be in pain later.

Got picture.

The problem was that it has become a traffic police case where I had to make a police report. Now the traffic police wants to charge me with reckless driving.

I don't really mind about the money since he already claim my insurance for the car, but I feel very "yuen wang" (accused of something I did not do).

It was such a minor accident and got fine $500.

I was searching the web and found that this guy got into a more serious case was fine $200 only.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STIStory_210386.html

so should I just bite the bullet and accept the charge ?

You should contest the charge. It has become a case of not just money. But principles! I'll do that if I were you.

Better pay lah....learn from this lesson!

Count yourself damn lucky NOT TO HAVE HIT A PERSON IN the lot instead!

If this is the case, you'll be standing before a judge to see how many months ( if ever) you're going to get for not being able to touch a steering wheel, let alone drive!

Ppl like you already get away with minor infringement still come here to 'cow-pay, cow bu'!....so you want to get the BIG one, where you cannot eat or cannot sleep properly for months before you'll know what sentence you'll get, is it? [:/]

Dude..... u abit 'over' right??????? [sweatdrop]

In usual accidents, if no party is conveyed to hospital it will not be a TP case even if police came to the scene and attended to the accident. Even if one party lodge a police report, TP will not investigate (unless it involves garmen property)

Nonetheless, should either one party see a doctor after the accident and is awarded 3 days MC or above and he makes a police report, TP will investigate.

Then again, I see from your side of the story that this chap looks like he is pulling a fast one. Do appeal to the charge, either through writing or go down see the TP personally and make a statement. Although no witness to the case, the insurance surveyor report, IDAC photos etc will assist in TP's investigation. 21 days MC is abit too much even for a whiplash.

according to his statement...I don't think he will end up in ICU, simply this guy (the one whom made medical claims) is trying something funny and making something despicable....

honestly...with the speed of 10km/h in MSCP...how serious of accidently you can encounter....if he really suffer that serious...then at the first place he should call for an ambulance...no after days or weeks then he made claims against our bro !!