Melaka Hotels and Resorts

Kelpie

If possible try to get the Kid Suite. It only slightly more expensive than the standard room. My son loves it. The room is huge with separate small partition for the doubled deck bed for the kids.

For some reason, I can't even find the selection for Kid Suite. http://www.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/hi/1/en/r...ckagesFlag=true

Can you help direct me to the link?

For a pic, refer to my previous post, http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...2256484#2256484

If it doesn't show up as one of the selections,it probably means it's not available on your selected date. Try other dates..

i just stayed at equatorial over the may day holiday

the traffic is not that bad, just need watch out for the entrance carefully sometimes blocked by bus, just beside there is new shopping centre with carrefoure, can link by underground direct all the way

safety there very good, just park inside b1 or b2 as more crowded lot of sg cars

travel around just take their 2 or 5$ RM bus

You mean the Palawan shopping centre car park can link to Hotel Equtorial?

Regards,

Sounds good. So it's just the driveway and the road beyond that's choked with traffic. I can live with that.

Main consideration is actually the security level of the carpark. I can bear with a bit of inconvenience and sacrifice some level of luxury, but I don't want to wake up to find my car missing!

[laugh] Not so bad lah! SG registered premium conti cars can also be found in Melaka, Just make sure you use at least a steering wheel and park head-in even in hotel's car park. My car less than a month old, already set foot in Melaka and KL.

Regards,

Holiday Inn just after Mahkota Century, along the same road.

Ahh, that means a stone's throw from malls and makan places. Works for me! [thumbsup]

There is also an Upbridge right infront of HI that links you directly with NSHW.

Regards,

From your pic, I think the Strait's view is worth gunning for. Can list out the rest of the circled buildings?

Not sure whether I'm correct, they only have open air carpark.

Regards,

I've stayed in Equatorial whenever I am there. Good hotel with a safe car park (I guess). I would advise taking the suite there as the room is big. You can also check in at the VIP lounge on the 21st floor ( I think ) and not on the ground floor. Furthermore, the lounge serves free beer and red wine daily after 6pm for the suites. Other times, you can go in and help yourself to the finger food and drinks.

Also when you eat out, must try the teochew food at a certain coffeeshop near Jonker St. But you must book first before you go there as the shop can seat at most 8 tables. Just ask the hotel staff to book for you.

When I 1st went there, I was puzzled why the check-in has to be on the 21st storey then I realized the 21st floor check-in is only applicable to suite guests. The problem was they have so few staffs on the 21st floor and the check-in took a long waiting time.

Regards,

yup renaissance a bit far, but they have transport think is hourly or two hour once to city area. went to the carpark to survey and spotted alot of singapore car and one security at the entrance. the last time i went there by coach i'm the only one who alighted at this hotel the rest went to equitorial

Good that hotels post a sentry at the entrance of the carpark for peace of mind, but who knows, they may just turn out to be the spy planted there to feed back what's available in the carpark to the syndicate.

I still remember how a Toyota Estima was driven out right under the guard's nose at A'fomosa.

I've ruled out Puri - my kids don't quite like being squished by surrounding buildings, and they need to pool to expend their energy.

I don't get the location of Holiday Inn looking at the online map, but isn't it quite close to Equitorial (maybe 200m away?). Actually I would have gone for Equitorial, except that I was kind of deterred by Kelpie's comment on the very busy traffic in front of Equitorial. Perhaps Kelpie can help elaborate if this is more for security or safety?

1. I stayed in Puri with my family. It is a different feeling altogether, at least the kids get to know what is it like staying in such old houses.

2. HI is even nearer to Markota, in fact they are neighbours.

3. Not staying with equtorial is a personal choice and yes, I do not like the one way traffic infront of equtorial since I will be driving around in Malacca. I seldom leave my car in hotel carpark and I like to drive around in my own car. Being one way traffic, it is kinda of difficult to get in and out based on my personal experience during peak hours and if you miss the turn, you have to go around the one-way street back to equtorial.

4. IMHO, there are also better hotels than equtorial and I like to try out other hotels too.

Regards,

I understand what you mean by the one way traffic that surrounds Equatorial. Do you feel it's safe to park along the streets?

In anycase, I've just confirmed my reservation at Equatorial - The price is similar to Holiday Inn, but what swung me over was the RM88 ringgit credit. [rolleyes]

If possible try to get the Kid Suite. It only slightly more expensive than the standard room. My son loves it. The room is huge with separate small partition for the doubled deck bed for the kids.

For some reason, I can't even find the selection for Kid Suite. http://www.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/hi/1/en/r...ckagesFlag=true

Can you help direct me to the link?

For a pic, refer to my previous post, http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...2256484#2256484

If it doesn't show up as one of the selections,it probably means it's not available on your selected date. Try other dates..

I've seen the earlier pic of the Kid's Suite you posted. Since it didn't appear, I suppose it's not available on my selected dates. I don't have the luxury of choosing other dates due to other commitments.

In any case, I've just made my reservation with Equatorial.

Sounds good. So it's just the driveway and the road beyond that's choked with traffic. I can live with that.

Main consideration is actually the security level of the carpark. I can bear with a bit of inconvenience and sacrifice some level of luxury, but I don't want to wake up to find my car missing!

[laugh] Not so bad lah! SG registered premium conti cars can also be found in Melaka, Just make sure you use at least a steering wheel and park head-in even in hotel's car park. My car less than a month old, already set foot in Melaka and KL.

Regards,

As long as the car next to mine is 2 x more expensive, I think my car will be left alone[laugh]. I shall keep my eyes peeled for such a car.

renaissance is a 5 star hotel, dont think they will let this type of thing happen due to their reputation

I would think so, but I'd still err on the side of caution and use my nutcracker steering lock, park head-in, turn-steering-wheel anti-theft deterrent.

The relative ease in which these thiefs break into car is simply astounding.

Equatorial's Getaway Package gives you RM88 per day stay that allows you to offset against meals, massages etc incurred within the hotel.

But then when in Malacca, you probably be dinning outside. Moreover, don't find dinning in Equatorial that fanstasic and it is also expensive. I didn't use the credit when I was there.

Regards,

I have immobilser, shock sensor, anti hijack and steering lock which could still secure the wheel even if you cut away four parts but my fear is getting held up at knife point and simply being asked for keys and wallet.

So I think the best tool is the GPS tracker, but my next question is who will track and retrieve the car for you?