Joseph22 Turbocharged July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 308 has been in our market for a few years now.... it's the 3008 Crossover vehicle that's gonna be launched end of the month.... using a 1.6T 155bhp 6AT.... i read Topgear Singapore July edition, one of the writer/editor seems to condemn DSG....cos it just doesn't work on paper.... hmmm.... he says the gearbox has a mind of its own.... which Auto gearbox dont have mind of its own?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 you ask me i ask who??? i don't engineer gearbox or design them.... i guess "A mind of its own" is due to the gearbox not following your mind, behaves otherwise.... and that is somehow frustrating to the writer for him to write an article on it.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 you ask me i ask who??? i don't engineer gearbox or design them.... i guess "A mind of its own" is due to the gearbox not following your mind, behaves otherwise.... and that is somehow frustrating to the writer for him to write an article on it.... that is why sometime reading article and trying to be funny with the article can be very interesting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 looking forward to the new Jetta anyways.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Japan96 Clutched July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 I will go for Jett first more horsepower and look better than Mercedes a class Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 the new 2011 Jetta lah.... one thing "bad" about the VW brand is the dullness that the car gives.... its a sense of dreadfulness whenever i see a VW on the road.... no wonder its Volkswagen....The People's Car.... or maybe i'm still a youth, that's why the aged, grown up looks doesn't appeal to me.... lol... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtfsl Neutral Newbie July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 just think that the T and the N are uncle's car.... if vw is common on the road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear July 7, 2010 Share July 7, 2010 wah you ask me ah.. i sure say 1.4 TSI BHP 160 mah. cause i test drive both and the Twin Charge gave a more spirited drive. but hor. if VW 1.2 TSI Jetta is selling at Toyota price. then differnet thing liao After some research, I realised that the development of the TSI engine family as below 1.4 TSI twincharge to 1.4 TSI to 1.2 TSI. From Engineering point of view the 1.2 TSI is a genius development that make the 1.4 TSI twin charge looks clumsy despite being a more powerful engine. Car with 1.2 TSI engine car is the car to go for at present period IMHO, Hybrid car like Prius looks too complex to me now. When things are too complex, the reliability become questionable 1.2 TSI engine is simple and beautiful , just a low inertia turbine and load control vlv to achieve fuel efficiency, low emission and reasonable torque and power equivalant to a normal 1.8L engine. What this engine need to proof now is it must be reliable ...aka don't burn or eat oil like yester-year turbo car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear July 13, 2010 Share July 13, 2010 After some research, I realised that the development of the TSI engine family as below 1.4 TSI twincharge to 1.4 TSI to 1.2 TSI. From Engineering point of view the 1.2 TSI is a genius development that make the 1.4 TSI twin charge looks clumsy despite being a more powerful engine. Car with 1.2 TSI engine car is the car to go for at present period IMHO, Hybrid car like Prius looks too complex to me now. When things are too complex, the reliability become questionable 1.2 TSI engine is simple and beautiful , just a low inertia turbine and load control vlv to achieve fuel efficiency, low emission and reasonable torque and power equivalant to a normal 1.8L engine. What this engine need to proof now is it must be reliable ...aka don't burn or eat oil like yester-year turbo car. the experts dun seem to think so. 1.4 TSI won engine of the year 2 times in a row instead of the 1.2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsogoodman 4th Gear July 13, 2010 Share July 13, 2010 the experts dun seem to think so. 1.4 TSI won engine of the year 2 times in a row instead of the 1.2 that's because they just launched the 1.2 TSI in 2010 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 13, 2010 Share July 13, 2010 (edited) that's because they just launched the 1.2 TSI in 2010 TSI Twin Charge will still win the vote lah. its not just about Fuel saving. its also about power to Fuel ratio when they consider the engines and drivablity. Edited July 13, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 Irregardless, TSI series engine is good Want power, use 1.4 Twin charge, want frugal engine with reasonable power, use 1.2 TSI :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hutan 1st Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 Irregardless, TSI series engine is good Want power, use 1.4 Twin charge, want frugal engine with reasonable power, use 1.2 TSI :) no lah, Honda fans will tell u.. no VTEC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 no lah, Honda fans will tell u.. no VTEC Then you tell them. VTEC Jia You. IVTEC bua Jia You but Bo power Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 no lah, Honda fans will tell u.. no VTEC I may have "piloted" three Honda before and now, but I not necessary Honda Fan hor. Sometime in life, you may not end up with the car you fancy..... . Ride and handling wise i still prefer conti since I also drove VW and Chevrolet before. But to be honest, Honda engine is smooth and the VTEC has play it's part. The most important part is the driver, the driver must know the strength and weakness of the car and harvest on its strength to enjoy it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 I may have "piloted" three Honda before and now, but I not necessary Honda Fan hor. Sometime in life, you may not end up with the car you fancy..... . Ride and handling wise i still prefer conti since I also drove VW and Chevrolet before. But to be honest, Honda engine is smooth and the VTEC has play it's part. The most important part is the driver, the driver must know the strength and weakness of the car and harvest on its strength to enjoy it yeah i can understand. like the car i fancy is SLS AMG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 yeah i can understand. like the car i fancy is SLS AMG Aspiration and reality are very different lor..... but must still have a dream with a good faith and keep to the truth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 (edited) Aspiration and reality are very different lor..... but must still have a dream with a good faith and keep to the truth yeah. that is why i am keeping to the target of C180 (money not the main issue as the car not consider very expensive cause save a life time sure got the money to get, its to obtain the status to drive that car.) Edited July 14, 2010 by Joseph22 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...