Problem, Bros please advice!

Forrestcat

Hi fellow starlet Brothers,

I'm on stock carbs now.....

but these few days i've been having problems.

My idling is very low and, sometimes even after warm up

the car's idling rpm will drop to near 0 and stall when stationery.

Car feels jerky as well.

Any bros here experience the same thing or is it just me?

Can't seem to find a experience mech for troubleshooting carbs leh

It's really frustrating when the car keeps stalling [shakehead]

Hi Bro Venco,

No leh, still the same.......

Haiz.... my mech ask me to go down he help me

adjust the idling speed.

If after adjusting higher still the same,

he says possibility carb spoil liaoz...... [shakehead]

sounds like an air leak somewhere... best case is a gasket leak on the manifold. worst case is the carb is a goner.

have you noticed black smoke from exhaust? maybe too rich also will cause engine to stall.

I think carbs can be repaired? That was what I was told when I wanted to buy a brand new carb but my mech insisted not to.

Hi Bro Kyojin,

If water touches the carbs,

will it cause damage to it?

Just curious as these few days it has been raining and,

very often after lifting up the bonnet,

rainwater just drips down onto the air fiter and carb [sweatdrop]

quite unlikely water will damage carbs, not rain drops at least.

but if there's water in your petrol, then it's a different story...

got that prob before, drive halfway stop at taffic light, engine stall [jawdrop]

mine was the spark plug, 2 of them were bad, real bad. so changed to new set of plug, at the same time new cables as well, after tat okie liao

Hi Bro Rodmansakura,

my plugs are new, but maybe i'm using the wrong ones.

My mech went to change for me plugs meant for Toyota Corona CD.

This plug, the head is longer......

Maybe i will change back to our big head plugs and see any diff [shakehead]

wah, longer head plug?

if wrong plug, e moment u start engine will got funny reaction from the engine block liao...

i tested that before over at saber place.

i guess cheaper way is to change new cable, maybe ur cable had worn out liao

hi bro Rodmansakura,

tks for yr advice!

someone selling brand new plug cables over @ yahoo auctions.

i'm trying to lower his asking price! haha [laugh]

sounds like an air leak somewhere... best case is a gasket leak on the manifold. worst case is the carb is a goner.

have you noticed black smoke from exhaust? maybe too rich also will cause engine to stall.

Hi Bro Kyojin, i just came back from Saber's place.

Left my car there for him to troubleshoot.

I noticed black smoke when he rev the engine leh.

He told me timing problem need to leave car for him to check.

But, it's such a coincidence that Saber's shop is just next to

my regular spray paint shop and they know each other! [nod]

Bro, just went to Saber's place lehz.....

He says timing problem, car vibrating like 3 cylinder engine.

Left my car there for him to check, after work go collect.

Hope damage will be minimal man [shakehead]

Are there any areas to take note when buying spark plug cables? I mean are the cables meant for any specific brand/model of car?

ya i tok to saber just now about ur car. dun worry he can troubleshoot it. i will be dropping by tmr morning to fix up my bonnet. my cb bonnet's rust is a waste of money to repair.

Bro, i don't know how to explain lehz....

Just tell the shop you want to buy Spark Plug Cables for Starlet.

Else, Yahoo auction there is someone selling brand new, $39 [thumbsup]