Subarur1 Neutral Newbie March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 maintaining a safe distance is to prevent accident my friend.. y is there so many accidents that caused jams is because ppl follow each other too closely. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knighthunter 4th Gear March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 (edited) The norm on the high way is to give short high beam to indicate that the car behind has intention to overtake. After this high beam signal the car infront should give way if the left lane is clear. If the car infornt ignoring the high beam signal means he/she is a f*cking road hogger!!!! Edited March 28, 2008 by Knighthunter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sucker Clutched March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 Eh.. U have not answered his question.. Road hogging speed will depend on the road condition... If u r on 1st lane doing >90km/h. I dont think that means road hogging, except got emergency vehicle behind u. even if you are doing 300km/h and someone behind is faster than you, YOU ARE CONSIDERED AS HOGGING! Get the facts right! Lets take an example. What if you are even faster than the one behind and the front is clear. If the one infront is running at 160Km/h, a car comes along tailgating right behind, so if the one infront speed up to 200Km/h and the one behind can't catch up, is this still road hogging . Regards, This is called speeding!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sucker Clutched March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 Any car behind us in the first lane and it is deemed faster than us, I think it is not difficult that we can just change to 2nd lane. Giving the car driver the benefit of doubt, he/she needs to drive faster than us for some reasons. Road hogging speed will depend on the road condition... If u r on 1st lane doing >90km/h. I dont think that means road hogging, except got emergency vehicle behind u. But if infront got other vehicles doing <90km/h (due to heavy traffic) Then this cannot be classified as road hogging on 1st lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sucker Clutched March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 Most of the small car drive faster than me... Although i'm only driving a small little car now. that doesn't mean i nv drive other faster cars b4. It is not dangerous to overtake at high speed when u do it properly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Getzoooom Neutral Newbie March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 maintaining a safe distance is to prevent accident my friend.. y is there so many accidents that caused jams is because ppl follow each other too closely. Maintaining a safe distance is right. but not die die follow rules on book on 3 to 4 car length. 1) by doing that, u r creating a long q on singapore road and slowing down the avg road travelling speed. (*creating chances for new ERP erraction) assuming one car is 4.5m in length, and every car keeping 3 to 4 car length. Evry 100 m stretch of road can only accomodate 4.4cars!! can u imagine the extend of jam in such senerio?? 2) by keeping 3 to 4 car length on rightmost lane, u are encouraging ppl to over take from ur left and slotting infront of your car. thus causing even more higher chances of accident. This is worse if u keep tapping your brake to maintain your new 3 to 4 car length behind the newly entered car.. so r u really a safe driver?? In fact, when we drive, we shld look few cars ahead and not just that one single car infront of you. Keeping moderate distance would be sufficient. for idiot guide seek, ard 1 to 2 cars length is more then sufficient... unless urself is speeding, that would need longer dist for braking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veil_side Neutral Newbie March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 maintaining a safe distance is to prevent accident my friend.. y is there so many accidents that caused jams is because ppl follow each other too closely. nuf said, TYPICAL ROAD HOGGER! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subarur1 Neutral Newbie March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 I guess u all should look carefully at my reply.. i meant safe distance not 3-4 car lenght.. different speed would require different braking distance.. y singapore expressway always jam is not becoz got many gaps (safe distance) between cars, but becoz of the way our enterance and exit points. They are simply too near each other... "This is worse if u keep tapping your brake to maintain your new 3 to 4 car length behind the newly entered car.. so r u really a safe driver??" Keeping a safe distance doesn't need to tap brake, just decrease ur acc pedal can liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subarur1 Neutral Newbie March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 do u know y there is workshops that purposely jam brake and caused accident??? becoz got u who like to follow other cars so closely... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Getzoooom Neutral Newbie March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 i guessed u dun really hit morning traffic jam.. forget it, i rest my case with u, mr subarur1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subarur1 Neutral Newbie March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 I'm not here to make everyone's day bad.... just a friendly discussion on road hogging... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 I'm not here to make everyone's day bad.... just a friendly discussion on road hogging... 1. This is very much a fried overnight leftover kind of topic in MCF, and the way you have discussed, you are considered as a road hoggers by some here if you bother to dig out the old threads about road hogging. 2. It doesnt matter whether you are already running at 100km/h on lane 1, so long there is someone that is coming fast behind you then you should just give way. 3. Whether or not they're speeding, leave it to the authorities to deal with them not you. Regards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 If i'm in an emergency, I'll find ways to overtake rather then tailgate, flash, horn or show middle finger and wait for the road to open up. IF you are in an emergency and the car in front is going at 90km/h with clear traffic in front and the beside car is also travelling at 90km/h, what will u do? maybe u can wait and wait and wait until 5-10km of e'way then finally exit off the e'way. arrived at destination 5mins late maybe? 5mins is alot when comes to life and death situation my friend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 Road hogging speed will depend on the road condition... If u r on 1st lane doing >90km/h. I dont think that means road hogging, except got emergency vehicle behind u. even if you are doing 300km/h and someone behind is faster than you, YOU ARE CONSIDERED AS HOGGING! Get the facts right! Lets take an example. What if you are even faster than the one behind and the front is clear. If the one infront is running at 160Km/h, a car comes along tailgating right behind, so if the one infront speed up to 200Km/h and the one behind can't catch up, is this still road hogging . Regards, u say leh?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subarur1 Neutral Newbie March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 seems like many forumers like to put words in my mouth... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 Road hogging speed will depend on the road condition... If u r on 1st lane doing >90km/h. I dont think that means road hogging, except got emergency vehicle behind u. even if you are doing 300km/h and someone behind is faster than you, YOU ARE CONSIDERED AS HOGGING! Get the facts right! precisely!! typical hogger's mindset working here... and to those who "读死书" sticking to 3 to 4 car length one, pls do not just keep jamming brake to maintain ur 3,4 car length when other cars keep slotting ahead of u. there is no presidential award for ur ability to maintain 3,4 car length. u r only pushing the Q in ur lane further backwards. .. no wonder singapore traffic everwhere also jammed.. those hoggers who keep 3-4 car lengths in front i usually give chance and benefit of doubt as i think they are kiasi type. But for those hoggers who have clear traffic in front for at least 3-5km of driving deserve to be Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 The norm on the high way is to give short high beam to indicate that the car behind has intention to overtake. After this high beam signal the car infront should give way if the left lane is clear. If the car infornt ignoring the high beam signal means he/she is a f*cking road hogger!!!! cannot hi beam lah, nowadays driver very easily pissed off one. if u hi beam someone, maybe he will play jam brake stunt like someone mentioned in another thread? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 seems like many forumers like to put words in my mouth... for example? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...