Titanium 4th Gear March 30, 2008 Share March 30, 2008 (edited) i have 1 320GB and 1 500GB HDD just to store datas.. the 500GB is the main..the 320GB is the backup.. but now, i need some software which can backup automatically..anyone can reco any? http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...&displaylang=en http://www.2brightsparks.com/syncback/ I tried the SyncBack, quite cool... but dunno whether can it do schedule sync or not. else just use the NTbackup, is gd enough... Edited March 30, 2008 by Titanium ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Upguy1 Clutched March 30, 2008 Share March 30, 2008 i back up notebook and desktop data to external hard disk... backup software is acronis trueimage 11... its a damn good backup software i tell u.. can back up files selected or whole partitions etc etc.. is user friendly too.. u should try this software..can be had for $60 plus bucks..... most important is to back up frequently.... u never know when disaster will strike Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jayzee Neutral Newbie March 30, 2008 Share March 30, 2008 SyncBack using windows schedule to run the task. btw, the people behind this SyncBack is residing in singapore. ST got report on them before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaoxing 1st Gear March 30, 2008 Share March 30, 2008 I have one networked storage PC with 2 pairs of RAID 1 (mirror) HDDs, each 500GB as my network storage. This gives me 1TB of storage space. As a back-up for it, I use a Buffalo Terastation Pro (earlier version) running RAID 5 using 4 x 400GB HDD. This gives me 1.2TB of storage space, enough to backup the data in my storage PC with some room to spare. This gives me redundancy and availability. Reason being, RAID alone in a single system is not enough to ensure availability of data since if the system mainboard has a fault, the storage PC won't be able to startup in the first place. This is where the Buffalo Terastation comes to rescue. While it makes data available, I can try to revive the storage PC and remedy the problem. Ideally, you should also have a remote storage in the event that both becomes unavailable due to unforeseen circumstances such as burglary, fire, power outages causing damage to equipment. But that implementation is way too costly for end-users like me (considering the amount of storage space I would need and the time needed to backup over the internet). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear March 30, 2008 Share March 30, 2008 hopefully u wont become another edison chen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger21 Clutched March 30, 2008 Share March 30, 2008 Bro, My laptop hard disk just crashed today too. Me now in UK, dun have my recovery disk or XP CD with me, and need to submit my report on Monday morning... Really regretted not doing backup too...Now too late, have to re-type everything from memory, and I'm lousy with that. Made worse by the open office writer in the common computer room which I'm not used to... Wanna cry already... Hopefully the PC shops are open on Sundays so that I can try to recover my files.... Just to "shu ku shu ku" abit... all alone in a foreign land..... I'll usually backup my pictures and files in a DVD ROM, also, in a spare external harddisk which is only turned-on for back-up or to get old data. (Both not with me now... ) If ur PC is crashed and not corrupted, u can do the following... 1) Take out ur HDD, connect it as a Secondary or External HDD by using another PC. 2) Boot up ur laptop using Linux LiveCD or BartPE CD and then copy ur data over... Yup, last night someone lent my a Linux OS that runs on CD, so managed to recover my report. Will have to get a hard disk enclosure and a new hard disk now. Will run Linux now till I go home.... Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear March 30, 2008 Author Share March 30, 2008 Bro, My laptop hard disk just crashed today too. Me now in UK, dun have my recovery disk or XP CD with me, and need to submit my report on Monday morning... Really regretted not doing backup too...Now too late, have to re-type everything from memory, and I'm lousy with that. Made worse by the open office writer in the common computer room which I'm not used to... Wanna cry already... Hopefully the PC shops are open on Sundays so that I can try to recover my files.... Just to "shu ku shu ku" abit... all alone in a foreign land..... I'll usually backup my pictures and files in a DVD ROM, also, in a spare external harddisk which is only turned-on for back-up or to get old data. (Both not with me now... ) I totally can understand how you are feeling right now ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear March 30, 2008 Author Share March 30, 2008 mine norton ghost. to clone hard disk disk commander 10.. to help partitioning error getbackdata ... as the name tuneup utilitities All this must be done manually right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear March 30, 2008 Author Share March 30, 2008 I uses an external Buffalo drive and have a backup software runs on my machine. It copies all the file from the notebook to the external drives and keeps a copy every hourly. It does so in the background so you need not worry about remembering to start it. Its call Time Machine and its for the MAC. The are many auto backup software out there doing similar things for the PC, highly recommended. Hope this helps. So the hardware is just a normal external harddisk right? The things that does the backup is the software .... right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gs300999s Clutched March 30, 2008 Share March 30, 2008 (edited) Thats spot on. Some external Hard disk, the more reputable ones like Seagate OneTouch and buffalo etc comes with the required software for doing automated backup. Nowadays they are just maybe 10-20% more than those OEM ones. I bought my 500gb buffalo from comdex last month at 169 nia. Disk is on all the time, peace of mind knowing that I get about 26 generation of backups in the disk, each 1 hour (so i get every hour for last 24 hours) interval and a weekly and monthly one as well. Edited March 30, 2008 by Gs300999s Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dm318 Neutral Newbie March 30, 2008 Share March 30, 2008 With Mac, can either use simple external disk with Time Machine, or using Airport Extreme with external disk using Time Machine or Time Capsule. Quite simple really. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear March 30, 2008 Author Share March 30, 2008 Dear all, Recently, my main harddisk data got corrupted. I didn't have any back up. So lost all the pictures which I took in the past. Just would like find out how do you guys do backup on your data. I am using a synchronising software to backup to my external HDD. I feel that it's easier than to keep having to manually copy / paste files. Actually .... Microsoft Windows has "Briefcase" function .... which is able to do sync-ing ... but to one location only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear March 30, 2008 Author Share March 30, 2008 Static Data such as pictures - backup 1 copy to 2 DVDs, 1 copy to external harddisk - Check once a year, if DVD not ok, re-master the media again. Dynamic data - Backup to external harddisk at the end of the day - If external harddisk not avail, backup to removal media and encrypt. - Weekly backup to DVD-RAM. Nowadays, I used portable apps with the dynamic data on removal media so that I can continue my work without interruption on any PC/notebook. Wah ... sound tedious leh .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear March 30, 2008 Author Share March 30, 2008 I do back up everyweek on all my personal files. Once bitten twice shy. Yes ... how do you do that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear March 30, 2008 Author Share March 30, 2008 Strictly speaking, RAID is not a backup technology. It is mainly used to increase performance and reliability, which in turn makes data recovery easier. I wouldn't use RAID to "backup" my stuff as there is no complete 2nd copy of the data kept anywhere. RAID is pretty good. If you are on RAID 1 .... 2 harddisk running together ... any one harddisk gone .. the other one still continues to run. Once the good harddisk is plugged in .... it'll rebuilt automatically. So how do you back up? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear March 30, 2008 Author Share March 30, 2008 Dear all, Recently, my main harddisk data got corrupted. I didn't have any back up. So lost all the pictures which I took in the past. Just would like find out how do you guys do backup on your data. I am using a synchronising software to backup to my external HDD. I feel that it's easier than to keep having to manually copy / paste files. May I know what software are you using? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear March 30, 2008 Author Share March 30, 2008 Dear all, Recently, my main harddisk data got corrupted. I didn't have any back up. So lost all the pictures which I took in the past. Just would like find out how do you guys do backup on your data. Bro, sim tia for you. Especially if your pictures got all the If you're on a Mac, Time Machine is a pretty hassle-free solution Yah ... but bo bian .... if I have read on this earlier ... I would have use the Linux Live CD to try recovering liao .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear March 30, 2008 Author Share March 30, 2008 Buy an external hard disk and run daily backup. Ext hard disk are quite cheap nowadays. 300-500gb should be less than $200 bucks..store your data until you don't know what else to store. :) But can you choose which folder to copy the files from? Or they copy everything? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...