How do you backup your data?

Guyver

How do you backup your data?  

47 members have voted

1. 1.

• RAID system.
    • Regular manual copying of files to another harddisk/storage device.
    • Regular manual burning to optical disc eg. CD-R, DVD-R, etc.
    • Regular manual online backup.
    • No backup at all.

Yup. With a NAS, you can create shared folders that can be used by all network users, or password protected ones which you can map on your PC as a network drive, to store your personal data. There should be free scheduled backup software out there, to write your PC's files to the NAS.

The thing I like about the DLink DNS-323 is it can support RAID 0 and 1, which means you can use 2 hard disks to mirror the data, less worry of hard disk crashing.

The other good thing is you can install a bittorrent/edonkey client on it. [lipsrsealed]

So this can be connected to the router to be shared by all?

Can we set different access for different folder?

Can. Connect to router, all can map a network drive for those folders set as allow everyone to access. For private data, can set as password protected, so only you know the password, you can map to it, and others get kicked out. [thumbsup]

Static Data such as pictures

- backup 1 copy to 2 DVDs, 1 copy to external harddisk

- Check once a year, if DVD not ok, re-master the media again.

Dynamic data

- Backup to external harddisk at the end of the day

- If external harddisk not avail, backup to removal media and encrypt.

- Weekly backup to DVD-RAM.

Nowadays, I used portable apps with the dynamic data on removal media so that

I can continue my work without interruption on any PC/notebook.

Backup has be to constant and does not require our attention. If it need us to initiate it .... it is not so good.

i have 1 320GB and 1 500GB HDD just to store datas..

the 500GB is the main..the 320GB is the backup..

but now, i need some software which can backup automatically..anyone can reco any?

I am considering doing RAID .... but heard that even RAID controller is subject to failure .... and when that happens .... [shakehead] [shakehead]

IMHO, a simple RAID is effective for high availability and fault tolerance but as a method of backup, it might not be so. Here's why...

Let's say you have an important file on this simple RAID disk subsystem. Try selecting this file and delete it. The file is GONE. So where's the backup?

That's why in most RAID implementation, they still use other methods for backup and the more "copies" of the data, the safer it is.

Yes ... so other than RAID .... to further prevent or reduce the lost due to harddisk failure ... it'll be good to have another backup on the RAID.

Cut-paste from the other thread:

I have multiple strategies :

1) Maxtor 320GB for Time Machine for my MacBookPro

2) NAS which has 2 x 1TB HDD (mirrored) which stores my important stuff/Photos/Videos etc etc

3) Amazon S3 storage for important stuff/Photos

1) In case my laptop HDD crash

2) Redundancy for 1)

3) In case house burn down or got robbed etc etc, all important data is still safe at off-site location (cloud).

:)

Cut-paste from the other thread:

I have multiple strategies :

1) Maxtor 320GB for Time Machine for my MacBookPro

2) NAS which has 2 x 1TB HDD (mirrored) which stores my important stuff/Photos/Videos etc etc

3) Amazon S3 storage for important stuff/Photos

1) In case my laptop HDD crash

2) Redundancy for 1)

3) In case house burn down or got robbed etc etc, all important data is still safe at off-site location (cloud).

:)

Yah ... I know that .... I replied to you ..... [laugh][laugh]

I just wanna find out what other options there is.

Now I am seriously thinking of having a RAID ..... but since most of those important stuffs are pictures and short video clips .... I suppose 500GB RAID 1 should suffice.

So I would want to have a schedule backup of what is on the RAID to another harddisk in the same computer or another computer.

With that ..... if house burn down .... then siao liao ....

Yah ... I know that .... I replied to you ..... [laugh][laugh]

I just wanna find out what other options there is.

Now I am seriously thinking of having a RAID ..... but since most of those important stuffs are pictures and short video clips .... I suppose 500GB RAID 1 should suffice.

So I would want to have a schedule backup of what is on the RAID to another harddisk in the same computer or another computer.

With that ..... if house burn down .... then siao liao ....

I highly recommend the Amazon S3 service for your most critical/important pieces of Data. Its very cheap IMHO. Check out the other thread for the cost breakdown.

Can PM me the link for this Amazon S3 service? How about confidentiality part?

PM'ed. No worries on the confidentiality and you can even use the on-the-fly encryption or upload already encrypted files. BTW, Im using jungledisk for automatic syncing on the folders I want. It checks for changes every night and uploads it (just the changed files)

Strictly speaking, RAID is not a backup technology. It is mainly used to increase performance and reliability, which in turn makes data recovery easier. I wouldn't use RAID to "backup" my stuff as there is no complete 2nd copy of the data kept anywhere.

raid can be used as backup too... there are raid 0 too raid 10... depending which raid u r using...

raid 0, u will lose data if one hdd crash... (tis is called striped disk oso)

raid 1, u will not lose data even if one hdd crash as it copies the entire file to all hdd in raid 1... (but wasting of $$$) (tis is called mirrored disk)raid 5, 6, 10 not so commonly use...

raid can be used as backup too... there are raid 0 too raid 10... depending which raid u r using...

raid 0, u will lose data if one hdd crash... (tis is called striped disk oso)

raid 1, u will not lose data even if one hdd crash as it copies the entire file to all hdd in raid 1... (but wasting of $$$) (tis is called mirrored disk)raid 5, 6, 10 not so commonly use...

You are missing my point here....there is still no complete 2nd copy of the data kept anywhere even if you use RAID 1 or whatever RAID.

Logically, backup copies should be kept AWAY from the source so that if the source is completely gone, u still have your data somewhere else.

In RAID 1 the mirrored copy is still kept in the same computer. If that computer short circuits, and burns together with the 2 RAID 1 HDDs in it, that's it. What good is RAID 1 in this case?

RAID is more for continunity. In case one HDD fails, you still have the other one working and you can take your time to get the faulty one replaced. Meanwhile your computer is still working.