How do you backup your data?

Guyver

How do you backup your data?  

47 members have voted

1. 1.

• RAID system.
    • Regular manual copying of files to another harddisk/storage device.
    • Regular manual burning to optical disc eg. CD-R, DVD-R, etc.
    • Regular manual online backup.
    • No backup at all.

Yup.. use it to store all my work since my university days. Also use it to store ISO backups of my CDROMs and DVDROMs in case any of them gets scratched beyond repair.

To be honest, if the data is so important, then you'll need to take extra steps for safety

precaution. Backups to harddisk media is not reliable as it can be easily destroyed. Removable media such as backup tapes, DVD etc are better choices as backup medium.

It's your choice. Also, even if the drive is formated, data still can be recovered as the

contents are not zeroed, only the table of directory contents is reconstructed.

Wah ... sound tedious leh .... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

May I know where do you connect this device? To your router? Or must be directly to the PC?

direct to PC. like thumbdrive or ext hard drive [;)]

the maxtor onetouch is basically an external hard drive with backup software and a button which, when pressed, causes an automatic backup.

i never touch that button.. prefer to do it the hard way [laugh]

Dear all,

Recently, my main harddisk data got corrupted. I didn't have any back up. So lost all the pictures which I took in the past. [bigcry][bigcry]

Just would like find out how do you guys do backup on your data.

I am using a synchronising software to backup to my external HDD. I feel that it's easier than to keep having to manually copy / paste files. [idea]

Actually .... Microsoft Windows has "Briefcase" function .... which is able to do sync-ing ... but to one location only.

Oh, didn't know about the briefcase thingy.

I am using Syncback currently. [thumbsup]

My main harddisk got some registry corrupted last week.. Totally cannot log in and system keep restarting on its own..

I switch the master HD to slave and vice versa and install another OS onto the other harddisk.. lucky the data still around..

My main harddisk got some registry corrupted last week.. Totally cannot log in and system keep restarting on its own..

I switch the master HD to slave and vice versa and install another OS onto the other harddisk.. lucky the data still around..

Wah!! You very lucky ... for mine ... I got OS on another harddisk .... boot up from there .... but all the data on the other harddisk that got corrupted shows nothing.

LL must reformat and reinstall. As for data .... [bigcry][bigcry]

To be honest, if the data is so important, then you'll need to take extra steps for safety

precaution. Backups to harddisk media is not reliable as it can be easily destroyed. Removable media such as backup tapes, DVD etc are better choices as backup medium.

It's your choice. Also, even if the drive is formated, data still can be recovered as the

contents are not zeroed, only the table of directory contents is reconstructed.

Yah ... I know that liao ...

That's why trying to find a good solution here ... [nod][nod]

How about Microsoft Backup?

Under "All Programs - Accessories - System tools - Backup".

Anybody tried this before?

bro, FYI, if you're on XP..you can reinstall just the system files without destroying all your other files..incl your settings etc etc..

I just did this on my old P4 PC which kept getting BSOD during startup

Edited by Shull

Bro,

My laptop hard disk just crashed today too. Me now in UK, dun have my recovery disk or XP CD with me, and need to submit my report on Monday morning... [sweatdrop]

Really regretted not doing backup too...Now too late, have to re-type everything from memory, and I'm lousy with that. Made worse by the open office writer in the common computer room which I'm not used to... [dizzy]

Wanna cry already... [bigcry]

Hopefully the PC shops are open on Sundays so that I can try to recover my files....

Just to "shu ku shu ku" abit... all alone in a foreign land..... [blush]

I'll usually backup my pictures and files in a DVD ROM, also, in a spare external harddisk which is only turned-on for back-up or to get old data. (Both not with me now... [bigcry] )

WAH SCHOLAR SEH!!!!

You can use Virtual Tape Library.... [sweatdrop]

No la, you should just get a Backup device which helps to back up your data by just pressing one button...

cannot.. my recovery disk does not allow me repair the registry.. Either destroy all files or keep restarting my computer..