What to do when confronted by car robber?

Kelpie

not as bad as the Merc guy who used the immobiliser to stop car in track after 100m, they ran back and beat him up badly

dun have... not since the last time a Postal service van was lost on same day MSK escape. it's been a longtime no news of the van..

Kelpie, read the post Sosaria that is why I say confrontational car robberies are not really that uncommon in MY and that is what I am more concerned about. You may fit all kinds of expensive security gadgets but they will take your car the low tech way. To me, I think the GPS tracker is probably the best thing, but how to recover the vehicle is another headache.

if i am in car, and not ready to move off, the following:

1) baygon

2) paint spray cans

if i am in car and ready to move off, the following:

1) lets move on [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

2) if joker still don give up, smash him [pirate][sly][cool]

I can't remember when was the last confrontational car robbery in Singapore with weapon. Maybe you can enlighten us. Meanwhile all confrontational car robberies in boleh land.

It is stupid to rob cars in singapore when one can smash the car windows and steal whatever valuables is inside (cashcard, labtops etc ) without being caught.

singapore is a very small town. The robbers know that they have trouble hiding the car they hijacked.

I was only replying to poster who says why we only talking in MY context. I know that there are very few confrontational car robberies in SG recent history.

Best is dont go boleh land , if you are going , go to somewhere you are familiar with . Like the place i go , i got fren there as road side hawker or the other 1 selling dvd . For self-defence , bring penknife can liao . put it in your pocket upon reaching boleh land .

Singapore no need , its rare unless u drive a taxi .

Just in the news last week in boleh-land papers, KL or PJ area, a couple was car-jacked right at the gate of parents' house. Just two guys armed with sharp weapons - not only car was driven away, but also wife, kena gang-r*pe [lipsrsealed] So, sometimes, being cooperative doesn't help much.

yep, @ PJ.

if possible don't go. this chinese verse must bear in mind,

"Go up the mountain frequently, sure met a tiger one day".

best solution as in protect from your family & yourself is NEVER

embark till you reach your destination. even reach traffic lights

stop, DO NOT wind down window or response to them. If they retaliate,

DRIVE OFF!(like the taxi case last year in SG. no choice.)

Frankly.. I will just give them my car but if they harm my passengers.. then i will go down fighting..

like some bro say.. stay to the places that you are firmilar with. Always check your back.

this sort of thing would happen to anyone rgardless of citizenship, Had a close fren who was malaysian, he ran a small business with another singapore fren.. one night while closing.. he was alone.. from reports there were 2 guys who came in and demanded from $$.. Dun know why he put a fight, as both of them agreed, should any thing happen, they would just give the $$.. My fren the malaysian did not make it.. guess the he got chopped pretty badly as his clothes was drench in blood. Saw it at the polis station.

From then, I seldon go in to JB.

Edited by Scoop

Throw the key far, far away or drop it down somewhere that can't be easily retrieved; frustrate them, distract them so you can get away - and at the same time, your car cannot be driven away...

It is not wise to frustrate and antagonize the robbers. You can get yourself killed.

even the place we stayed years are vulnerable to crimes, what

are other places consider familiar to you as if the robbers

are not more familiar than you.

don't take chances. There's no familiar place except in your own home.

if really need to go other's place, most importantly "no need paiseh" to act

faster than the robbers. [:)]

Nerve point striking. Disarm. Control and incapacitate. If you can do it all in under 3 seconds, retaliate. If not, you're just part of the crime statistic.

for me, I'd do the following:

Give him what he wants, especially $. But if wants the car or trying to harm my family memebrs, think will fight through.

This method will work? After acting like when I am handing the keys to him or kinda surrendering(when his alert is caught down) whack him jialat jialat... with watever stuff i can find in the car.

Depends his weapon oso and no of accomplices.

what i meant stick to familiar places that you know the places well so you can always plan an escape route. but [:)] you are right. only in ur own house you are safe.

Whenever i'm over there, i always look over my shoulder.

actually the best and most lethal is a punch at the heart area. remember, lethal = will kill.