Guarantor Advise Needed.

Mr_pee

Hi fellow MCF forummers...

need some advice from experts here.

My Fren is a Guarantor of a Swift Sports...

Now both owner have a problem with each other which will never be settle...

My Fren desperately wanna remove her name as the swift guarantor...

Called the bank up.. they sae cannot remove must swap with other garantor..

Oredi tell the first owner to find other garantor but i tink he take things very lightly... not bothered....

The quest is:

Is there any other way to settle this?...

Wat if the first owner starts to play punk threaten not to pay or skip payments..??

Anione can help or advice...

your friend will end up going to pay for the owner...

if you friend also don't want to pay... the bank will go sue the owner and your friend!

Ur fren is screwed... like the bank says, u need to find another guarantor to do a swap.

On the other hand, if the owner plays punk, etc, he will screw up his own credit record and can forget abt buying a car again (in e event e car gets re-possessed). So ur fren can have peace of mind (unless he wans to "hug together and die")

i forgot to mentioned that she has a new car coming out soon also...

by her own name no guarantor.. diff bank...

Need to help her before she kena play with dat guy....

Ya correct!!!!

Now come ask ppl for help....

Never thing of future anyhow hentam guarantor now problem...

The guarantor is screwed period.

Better resolve amicably since she signed as a guarantor without a gun pointing at her (in the past that is).

Guest Julio369

Is this Swift driver holding a stable/ steady job? Is he well educated? Is he from a reasonable/ ok/ educated family? If yes, than your chance to settle is good becasue his credit status/ career will be at stake.

If he is a low life creature, odd job labourer, with a "ah beng attitude", than no lawyers, police, laws can help her.

worst scenerio.... she MUST settle full outstanding payment with the bank if the car is ever repo (touch wood), if not, her credit status/ jobs/ career will be affected. After settlement than you can send demand letter, summons etc...note that the amount must be >S$10K in order to have a court case & make him bankrupt(last resort but try not to).....all the legal cost/ desposits to court she must pay up front & you never know if you can recover back.

The best is talk to him or his family.... if he defaults any payments. Other than that, you can only pray he pays his instalemnts on time.

NEVER EVER BE A GUARANTOR, EVEN TO YOUR OWM RELATIVES/ SIBLINGS/ IN-LAWS. IF THEY CANNOT AFFORD TO DRIVE, DON'T DRIVE

Edited by Julio369

can tell her not to buy any car now 1st!!! go cancel!!!

maybe she can pay for the car 1st... or better still!!! take over the car!

my friend also as a guarantor for a car, end up both owner & guarantor are bankrupt now!

cause car repo by bank, owner & guarantor cannot pay outstanding payment about 30k!!! (int around 18k, car price aorund 15k)

those people who buy car need guarantor better dun buy any car!!! sabo people only!

Edited by Jeffang

her car coming out shud be latest this week...

A brand new impreza...

She did all this without telling her sibling or any of her fren...

tried to tok to the bank abt cancelling her name die die cannot oredi..

it seems the onli way is...

pray dat the guy carry on hs monthly payment and dont play punk...

or find someone else to swop name...

Guarantor is a dangerous thing to commit... [:/]

no turning back oredi...

Its an OPC swift sport with a beng driver...

Lucky the rd tax is cheap if not oso cialat... scared the guy cannot pay...

i told he if he neber pay...

take the car away from him... u pay or go and rent out the car lor... (worst case scenario)

Half the amt of the car.. u mean if the loan is 40k u pay 20k??... [dizzy][dizzy]

don tink she can come out with dat some of money....

can engaged lawyer to demand the family to remove her name or not??

Not possible. She became a guarantor thru her own freewill and should have been aware of the consquences.

Legally she has nothing against the company or the guy.

Even if the guy default, i have my doubts that she can claim back from the guy thru legal means.

What she can try to do is try to talk with his family and if they are kind and understanding enough they may be willing to be guarantor for their son and let her pull out her name. I guess this depends on her r/s with his family.

Is this Swift driver holding a stable/ steady job? Is he well educated? Is he from a reasonable/ ok/ educated family? If yes, than your chance to settle is good becasue his credit status/ career will be at stake.

If that guy needs a guarantor to secure a loan, it tells something about his credit history. Usually most people no need guarator for car loan, if holding decent and stable job.

What if go to the bank and declare that you lost your job??? Will they ask the car owner for another guarantor???