User12343 Clutched June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 (edited) S'pore opposition leader jailed for contempt of court SINGAPORE - A Singapore court sentenced an opposition leader to 12 days in jail on Monday for contempt of court during a case to determine the size of damages he has to pay for defaming the republic's leaders. Chee Soon Juan, the leader of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP), was found by the judge to have 'scandalised the court' and 'obstructed the administration of justice' during a three-day hearing to decide on damages to be awarded to Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and his father Lee Kuan Yew. Chee's sister Chee Siok Chin, a senior member of the SDP, was also sentenced to a 10-day jail term for the same offence. The 12-day jail term was the longest awarded for this charge, said M Ravi, Chee's legal advisor. The judge said Chee accused the court of being biased and having pre-judged the defamation hearing, as well as not obeying the judge's orders to stop particular lines of questioning. The SDP, Chee and his sister were found to have defamed the Lees in a 2006 article. The defamation hearing last week, in which the Chees cross-examined the Lees, saw Chee Soon Juan calling Lee Kuan Yew a 'pitiable figure' and Lee saying that Chee was a 'near psychopath'. 'At no point was there a deliberate attempt to do anything that would scandalise the court,' Chee said to the court during Monday's hearing for contempt of court. 'There were many political arguments made and in the heat of the battle, Mr Lee said some things and I said some things. It was in this context that some things were said and done,' he said. Singapore has been dominated by one party - the People's Action Party - since its independence in 1965. The Singapore Democratic Party is one of the more vocal opposition parties in Singapore but it did not win a seat in parliament in the last election in 2006. -- REUTERS Edited June 2, 2008 by User12343 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 warouz.. this type of title using expletives... neber scare kena ban arh? how arh, any Mods around to advise? lidat can kena ban anot? or should kena ban anot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 Well, i've always wanted to try saying this...let me do it before any mods step in (if they do step in of course, doesn't nec mean they will) Ahem..."Good Bye Dr Chee!!!...Bye!!!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lebet Neutral Newbie June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 lee say bad words no problem. chee say bad words go jail happy equation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 I like your previous title... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 Good job Singapore! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 Let's hope he learns something this time.. Then again, he machiam cockroach.. Hard to kill! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 ....The Singapore Democratic Party is one of the more vocal opposition parties in Singapore but it did not win a seat in parliament in the last election in 2006. -- REUTERS In terms of credentials and eloquence, Chee and his sister have the qualities of an opposition MP. One was an ex-NUS lecturer while the other, HOD of the English department. She was on a fast-track path also. If they had adopted the approach by Low and Chiam See Tong, they could now be in Parliament today. Unfortunately, they kept going in and out of prison for the unnecessary actions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 HIGH IQ, LOW EQ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lebet Neutral Newbie June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 their beliefs in how things should be run, is why they are always in and out of jail. you see euro-area, high fuel prices, they go on strike, fisherman don't go out to sea, demonstrations etc etc. at least made the europeans leaders to discuss on how to tackle high oil prices. here in singapore, the cartel increase prices like nobody business, nothing can be done. everything is gahment is looking into it, and "subsidies is bad for singapore". blah blah blah. At least cut some taxes, gst, petrol tax. but no. it's for the benefits of this island in the long run. "you must get used to higher cost of living, lower standard of living." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prodigysaint Clutched June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 i salute their determination.. i seriously opt for change in whatever government.. w.party or whatever... a change is always a good thing.. pay and pay has been here for so long liao..i'm so sick of their tactics liao.. control everything till i sian.. yes.. there are lots of rich people this days.. but those born in the early era is suffering so much.. subisdies are hopelessly taken away.. and whatever grants are being thoroughly screened.. how the hell those ah mah or ah peh gonna buy something to eat.. complain so much is really hopeless.. it's the VOTE that counts.. and i'm hoping for FOUNDER's DAY asap.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dh15 Clutched June 2, 2008 Share June 2, 2008 Haha....why am i not suprised this thing happened? Well.... Btw, topic title reminded me of my sec sch days where i had a teacher named Mr Chee, and i said the exact same words to him. And got screwed...LOL! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear June 3, 2008 Share June 3, 2008 Just another wayang from the MIW... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched June 3, 2008 Share June 3, 2008 I had a teacher whose name was Mr Lee Chee Hong. Serious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie June 3, 2008 Share June 3, 2008 yah, he call him a cheat and a liar. isn't that slander? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yrvsport 2nd Gear June 3, 2008 Share June 3, 2008 I really respect this two joker but sadly they have no bullets evidence..Everyone knows who is behind this whole drama but unfortunately if no solid rock type evidence please forget your idea...Anyway believe in KARMA it will topple no matter how cruel ur decision against the people somedayz.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched June 3, 2008 Share June 3, 2008 Good luck on ur next election... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear June 3, 2008 Share June 3, 2008 karma.......... when u r rich n powerful, u dun need to scare of karma. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...