Andrewkb Neutral Newbie June 15, 2003 Share June 15, 2003 I had my brakepad replaced about 3000km ago. However, recently (abt 1 month back), my front left brake gives out a loud groaning sound ... It occurs on very very rare occasion ... especially from cold or occasional hard braking. E.g. the first few traffic light stop when driving off after stopping car for a while (even say 10min of idling !!!) However, after about 3 braking, the sound is gone. Another scenario is when braking from say 80km/h to traffic light stop .. the sound will come again. I initially wanted to blame on rust .. but my disc rotor dun look rusty at all ... Also, even after 10min of idling, I can't possibily accumulate rust on my rotor rite ! I've checked with 3 workshops and all blame it on the material of the brake pad. BTW, I am using Honda brake pad. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duadua2 Neutral Newbie June 17, 2003 Share June 17, 2003 somtimes the brake pad not suitable.but u using for honda cars.surely no prob.i think its time to change to a better sport brake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 Check if its installed correctly or not. Aftermarket pads or original pads dun give this kinda noise unless its early morning then maybe cos need to warm up the brakes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Author Share June 18, 2003 Wow friend .. long time no see ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 I had my brakepad replaced about 3000km ago. However, recently (abt 1 month back), my front left brake gives out a loud groaning sound ... Could it be (A) Worn out (B) Particles stuck on the pad, take it out and brush it © Metalic Base Pad makes most noise when closer to worn out (D) All the above Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 Always around lah...just that neber see you only mah.... So how is your Stream ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Author Share June 18, 2003 Oh ok So far ok loh .. just that funny noise that bothers me a bit ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 Better get it check and fixed ASAP. BTW...where you change your pads ?? You sure its orginial Honda stuff or OEM only....some OEM pads really CMI one. I change 1 set in JB (cos discovered that pads damn thin there)....totally CMI. Used like 500km I change pads liao. BTW...if you can tahan brake dust....DOM Advantage is good....or Metal King for acceptable performance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Author Share June 18, 2003 OK ... frankly, it's OEM from Honda stockist. Pad is black in color However, "original" Honda pad from Kah Motor is brown color (of cozt 3x more expensive). Am getting the MCF's Mintex pad ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 Ahhhh....no wonder lah. Dun stinge on brake pads dude !!! Good pads are worth every single penny you pay for them. Can't outrun them...outbrake them !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Author Share June 18, 2003 OK ... next time we'll have a side by side 100km/h - 0km/h timing run :-) Classification depends on the number of pots on the brake caliper :-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 U damned interesting .... people go for 0 to 100, u go for 100 to 0 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 Come come.....he he he he.... 0 - 100 lose to you...100 - 0 can chiet you !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear June 19, 2003 Share June 19, 2003 Probably the pad is not worn evenly when u running in. Get the mech to sandpaper it evenly and check it out again After a while the noise should disappear, if not then hav to live with it or get it replaced. It's not the rust, and it take less than 10 mins for rust to form when the disc surface contact water after the ride. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...