Coolpica

Will You Buy a Lotus Elise SC  

112 members have voted

1. 1.

• Yes, it is value for money!
    • No, it is a crappy car.
    • Maybe, if I have the money.

i'll rather get the SLK350, which offers a lot more comfort and is probably more of a chick-magnet, for about a S$1K less.

the elise is a go kart on wheels......seriously, u are better off buying a proper sports car for that money......get a Audi TT or TTS

also, rather than a SLK 350, since u have so much moolah, consider the new SL280 which comes with a 3.0 V6 [laugh]

Audi TTS goes 0-60 mph in 5.2-5.4 sec but it is still a riced-up turbocharged inline 4. Yuck. http://www.motortrend.com/roadtests/coupes..._tts/index.html

The SLK 350 would feel so much more sophisticated with a big NA V6 and a 5.4 sec time.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class But I really hate the F1 nose. Some chicks would dig it tho.

What's that? the new SL280? can the car even move? [laugh][laugh] If moolah is not the problem, why get the entry level SL? Unless the main purpose is to get chicks in the car [laugh][laugh] The way Mercedes Benz are prostituting themselves by coming out with lower and lower models to appeal to the mass market, maybe one day they might just come out with the SL180 kompressor. I'd advise you to wait till then.

Edited by Viceroymenthol

There is SL280 or 300SL many years back... only recently it is missing for a couple of years. Now it is back on market again.

Although SL280 is entry level but it is still a 3.0L V6 with 7 gear which I think is still not too bad.

Oh ya, there is 190SL in the 50s... looks quite cute and chio tho [thumbsup].

post-1-1212991677.jpg

Edited by Ncss

Just read a review on Lotus Elise that comes with a bolted supercharger. With the supercharger, the horsepower has increased from 189 to 218 and reducing the time of century sprint to 4.5s. This is comparable to most sports cars such as Ferrari. However, Elise is not known to have good build quality for its interior parts. At $233,800 with COE, it is consider a steal. So will you purchase one?

More info at http://www.lotuscars.com/elise_220.html

i might as well strap myself to a rocket jet than settle for a superglue car. could be safer too.

SL280 needs 7.8s to hit 100km/h, not so bad wat...

but if got dough, then get SL63/65 AMG lor, got "Race Start" aka lauch control some more thumbsup.gif

Wish use the vvt-i engine, elise use vvtl-i which is the same as celica ss2.

Is the VVTL-i the equivalent from toyota to Honda's real Vtec? Heard about it being quite similar in terms of how it works.

Edited by Rickster

If got dough.. [laugh][laugh]

I think AMG vehicles are overpriced... would you pay $700k to over a million for a Mercedes Benz? When the guy on the street doesn't know the difference between a $139k C180 and a $700k AMG CLK or CLS... to him it is only just a Merc, can sit in a white one anytime. [laugh][laugh]

Actually the answer to my question above is: up till the 1980's, yes. Now, no. There used to be a time when Mercedes Benz was as exclusive as Maserati and Porsche.

if you are doughful enough to buy a 700K-1M car, then you probably wouldn't care what others think.

don't say AMG overpriced, SG cars in general oso overpriced lah.

I think depends on model...

The CL and SL is still very exclusive.

Off topic... back to Lotus Elise SC [laugh]

Edited by Ncss

Both share similar basic all aluminum cast, chain-drive and DOHC concepts.

The difference is that the 1ZZ-FE cylinders are cast-iron clad, but the 2ZZ-GE's are not (i.e., bare aluminium bore internals).

The 1ZZ-FE engine is thus less prone to longer-term wear and tear and internal compression losses.

Thanks for sharing.

But its hard to believe a relatively hard-core engines like 2ZZ-GE can be any less durable than the standard FE.

I mean won't be logical to ensure such powerplants to be "tougher" considerating most opereate at higher compression ratio and temperature with a given 1.8l 4-cylinders design?

Is the VVTL-i the equivalent from toyota to Honda's real Vtec? Heard about it being quite similar in terms of how it works.

Try this sites with detailed writeup and comparison @

http://www.toysport.com/technical%20inform..._tech_notes.htm

http://www.spyderchat.com/enginedetail.htm

http://www.sandsmuseum.com/cars/elise/thec...ine/toyota.html

The sites also explains why Lotus chose the Toyota engine in their post-2004 Exige and why some Toyota roadsters like MRS don't come with 2ZZ-GE....

yes... In Vtec, the rocker arm is lifted when you kui vtec. The L in VVTL-i also refer to the lift experienced by the rocker arm in the toyota engine.

Going from full cast-iron block, to aluminium blocks with cast-iron sleeves, to treated-surface all-aluminium blocks does not necessarily mean 'better-designed' engines.

A case in hand is BMW.

Starting from the M50 full cast-iron block gem of an engine, they replaced it with an all-aluminium M52 engine (which has Nikasil-treated cylinder bore liners) in 1994. The M52's life span was limited, as engines started to give problems with compression losses and the like.

As an interim measure, it was replaced by the M54 in 2000, as BMW took a step back, still keeping the all-aluminium block, but had cast-iron cylinder sleeves ... an admission in a way, by BMW, that treated aluminium technology was still not ready commercially.

BMW tried yet again, with their (current) N52 engine in 2005, now changing to Alusil aluminium cylinder sleeves. Let's see how long that would last.

Volkswagen/Audi have kept their cast-iron engine blocks even longer still - retaining them for their 1.8L and 2.0L TFSI engines (like those used in the GTi and S3 et al) and the venerable VR6 NA engines (like those found in the R32 and TT Coupe 3.2 Quattro, or equivalent). Only their cylinder heads went to aluminium alloy.

Since already 233k..

Top up another 20k+ buy exiege S can liao.

even more raw power.

Ok, i gotta face the reality, I will not buy such a small car. :)

It's VVT-iL, i-L being Intelligent Lift.

Edited by Beehive3783