If petrol hits $4/litre, what will you do?

Lemonteh

If petrol hits $4/litre, what will you do?  

271 members have voted

1. 1.

• Give up driving and join the squeeze in public transport
    • Downgrade to smaller car or motorcycle
    • Switch to alternative energy eg. CNG, Hybrid, Diesel etc.
    • Cannot live without my car...pay lor
    • Others (pl. specify)

It's not impossible.

There are people who are already doing that now.

Also, the authorities are putting up a trial to allow foldable bikes on our public transport system. When that materialize, I can cycle from home to the nearest MRT, then MRT to the office. [thumbsup]

i tried to do that last 6 yrs ago b4 i buy my 1st ride... but hor, within 3 mths time, my bicycle was stolen.... its only an 6 yrs old 2nd hand bicycle gven to me by my friend with 2 chain with lock + 1 padlock... but still... kena stolen....

but seriously, this really can save money, for the 2 mth +, i save more than $50 frm the feeder bus.... thats includes morning to work, evening back to home and evening going around yishun area.

Edited by Tigershark1976

We will complain, but we will still drive.

Especially in Singapore where the car price is so expensive [sweatdrop] as compared to else where so perhaps the increase in petrol is still insignificant as compared to what we pay for buying the car.

The answer is I will do it when I can no longer upkeep the running of the car on a daily basis. No car nevermind, so long I have my kar (leg) [:p]

I did not say that it is not impossible. I had been cycling to work for > 1 yr. D q is will u do it?

It is veri hard 4 ppl 2 break d dependency on driving.

CNG is a good alternative. the ST article shows its a good option. but does it compromise car performance?

There are two separate forum to discuss on CNG (can do a search)....loss of 5-10% power possible [shakehead] ....must ask Ginie the GNG expert in those forum.

ha ha...no wonder smaller car getting popular [scholar] ...not only FC solid....can discourage carpooling from people who don't want to pay.

reduce mileage on car ? or off air-con on morning or nite or when weather is cool???

walau...like that power window sure 'ke pon' one day!

Haha... u think the "younger Lea" will allow meh??? It'll be interesting to see what's gonna happen when wat u mentioned happen. The garmen is good but not good in every way.

That may push me to consider My as my second home. Save on big ticket items like car (tax free), cheap road tax, cheap petrol and very cheap house. Savings on big ticket items enough for my retirement spending. Somemore can rent out my house for monthly pocket money to spend in My.

That will explain why property at the Iskandar is doing well.....but don't know if we will be welcomed [;)]

Im going to buy a 125z or RXZ... install the weird braking sound... haha [rifle]

So in future i will ride bike to work and convert my car to opc use it during weekend for family outing......... [idea]

now petrol is oredi killing me... i tink might start sooner then later...

bro did that and done that.not much of a worry about car petrol coz top up once a month.... [scholar][bounce1]

looks like it's time to talk to my boss..dun report office daily to save on petrol and parking charges pirate.gif

if there's no business in office other than to show face, tell your boss lah... working from home has lots of advantages provided you don't abuse it.

i'm also doing it occasionally when there's no meeting in office.. and if they are ok, even conference call is possible wink.gif

in fact my industry it's a norm for salespeople not reporting daily..except for meetings.I also find it waste of time to report office just to show face then leave after 1hr unsure.gif I rather go straight to do my stuff from home.Most importantly can sleep later and save petrol, siam ERP & traffic jam and parking.smile.gif

[reply]if it reaches $4/litre, i will see many MPV & SUV owners burn their

ride to claim insurance[/reply

You are referring to me...I drive a MPV.....won't burn my car but might become an exhibit in museum [bigcry] .

$4litres, less people will drive so.. more people will take public transport. Try squeezing in the mrt? forget it. U will see human starting to jog at the MRT track. [hur][hur]