Am i wrong??

Jen1106

On 12/6/08 at about 1800hrs, i was driving along ECP on the 3rd lane with the speed of 70+... Out of a sudden here comes a big lorry tailgating me damn close and high beam me. Wat the 'fish'?? I mean i'm on lane 3 u noe... [hur][hur] Nowadays lorry can drive so fast ah?? Or am i wrong to drive slow in lane 3?? [confused][confused] After he overtake me from my left he can even show me the hand signal?? Wat the !!! Den he exited Fort Rd in a real fast speed... Damn!!! Reali pissed me off! [furious][furious]

To me driving at slow speed on the 3rd n 4th lane is no offence cos its meant for slower vehicle.. So bro just heck care wit the remarks that was given.. The lorry shld had overtaken u from the 2nd lane n go in back to its original lane.. Road hogging is only an offence if u travel on the extreme right lane of the xpressway at a slow speed n cause a massive tailback in which other vehicle had to overtake dangerously from the left..

there is no hoging. lorry speed limit is 60km/h(X plate), 70km/h(G plate). how can they over take. this is singapore and rule is to follow.

Ask the lorry driver explain to the TP that he overtake bcos the car infront is road hogging at 70km/h. see what the tp will say.

At the first place the lorry is not allow to overtake cos he need to stay in his speed limit. For those who support the lorry try go tuas and see how dangerous those big lorry is driving at fast speed. no matter what let all drive safe.

U r definitely in d wrong. Basic theory says keep left unless overtaking. Irregardless, how fast d lorri travels, u r not in d position 2 police his spd. D lorri has d rite 2 tell u 2 siam aside.

Lane 3 is extreme left, how could he be wrong? Your BT got pass or not? [sweatdrop]

On 12/6/08 at about 1800hrs, i was driving along ECP on the 3rd lane with the speed of 70+... Out of a sudden here comes a big lorry tailgating me damn close and high beam me. Wat the 'fish'?? I mean i'm on lane 3 u noe... [hur][hur] Nowadays lorry can drive so fast ah?? Or am i wrong to drive slow in lane 3?? [confused][confused] After he overtake me from my left he can even show me the hand signal?? Wat the !!! Den he exited Fort Rd in a real fast speed... Damn!!! Reali pissed me off! [furious][furious]

these big lorries are very dangerous, the way these drivers drive them. macaam F1 [hur]

Basic and advance theory never say anything like that. Only said slow moving vehicles keep to left most lane. I can drive at 50kph on left most lane and there's nothing wrong with it.

Yep nothing wrong. However knowing the unwritten and unofficual "rule" that i mentioned helps make things easier/safer for everyone. You can be right and the other driver wrong, but does that matter once you get pancaked by 2 lorries? One tailgating you and the other jamming its brakes in front of you?

I don't understand why you mentioned basic and advanced theory. Being streetsmart and having road experience plays a bigger role in the aspects of safety then theory alone. I believe although the TS's intention was to highlight his rights and the lorry's mistake, what is to be learnt here is not the matter of being right or wrong, but being safe. If there was a pissed off lorry/trailer/bus behind me, first thing I would do is get out of the way.

wahahahaha...i kena 1 today...

was driving on lane 4 along KJE(BKE) because i am exiting at brickland road..the pickup in front of me was 1 car length away..speed about 80kmh..

suddenly out of nowhere, this yellow bus start tailgating my from behind..even tried to squeeze thru from my left side when i signal to exit via filter lane..clearly he cannot squeeze thru the small space between the roadside and my car..so he start highbeaming me and horning at me..hello, i can't go any faster because the pickup in front of me is slow..

cxxk driver..should send back to learn basic and advance theory..

gave him the finger after that..and made doubly sure he saw it..spoil my otherwise fine friday..WEEKEND LOR!!!!

Aiya........... he can do all he wants but if u still maintain ur speed, there's nothing he can do lah. So he also LPPL.

Anyway, relac lah........ weekend's here! [sunny]

70+ very fast meh -- road hogging the road only

Start barking only when you have a clear mind. TS is talking about extreme left lane...so what's wrong with doing 70km/h there?

Edited by Application9999

U r definitely in d wrong. Basic theory says keep left unless overtaking. Irregardless, how fast d lorri travels, u r not in d position 2 police his spd. D lorri has d rite 2 tell u 2 siam aside.

You another one...see probably before barking at people...

Of course there are unwritten "rules". These are the collective understanding between road users. Quoting Slowmo's post earlier:

theory also never say you in lane 1 90kph have to give way to faster vehicle behind.

theory also say you cannot overtake from left side.

theory also never say head light flash flash is to warn you of something.

theory got tell you ask parking warden to pang chan or write appeal letter when you kenna fine?

theory and real life different leh bro. Don't always see things from one perspective.

Know you meant well, but on road, sometime common sense is better than book sense. People 10 tonne vehicle tail gate (say I see you up la, can buy 7 series) your 3 tonne vehicle, you still want to 'metal teeth' ar?

There are many things not written in stone and are dependent on the situation at hand and also the experience of the driver. Well this next "rule" or should I say motto that a few of my driving friends and I follow: If you drive slow, I drive slow, we relak together. If you want to tailgate and go fast fast, I let you pass. Does it rhyme? [:p]

The thing is we can't have every single thing written in stone, else the highway code would be as thick as an encyclopedia! [dizzy] And I am amazed really why people place 'right or wrong' above the safety? Is it their egos or something? Sometimes we don't have to be so dogmatic about who's right or wrong. While playing by the book helps with your insurance claims or reports etc., all these wouldn't matter if you had lost your life or your loved one who was sitting beside you; even if you were the one who was right.

Has the education system today made people so rigid and dogmatic? Cut a little slack for other road users... If they are in a bad mood, stay away. If they are blur and lost, panchan abit, don't blare your horn and flash your lights. Road rage is a bad thing. I think the courtesy lion must've died some 20 years ago...

I always confused d lane 1. A million apology.

Nvr own any new ka b4. So, nvr run in any of my ka. I always go drive @ legal spd on expressway. No chance 4 2f2f heavy vehicle 2 horn or hi beam. Tis is my mantra: Get out of any q.

Edited by Davidtch

Yeah, I always tell drivers that the trick to remember which lane is which, is that the right lane is always number 1 as it cannot be 'increased' as the road is widened, the left lane can be 3, or revised to 4, 5 or even 6 if it is widened.

it really scary that you mention the lori driver should show more middle finger for road hogger. if you really see what happen when a lorri really hit a saloon or even 7 series. u will regret on your this statement. if u hve chance to drive in jurong island in the morning peak hour. You will see what is call cow boy town highway. big lorry, small lorry, pick up can occupy all 4 lane. all speeding above 70km/h.

Let all take a little patience. the lorry can over take and move on y must point finger or give a f look. i know lorry driver will not hurt if real accident happen. but y want cause other to get hurt. let all be safe and if u r really the lorry driver that will to pt finger and whatever crab eye. i will sure submit your number to TP. REMEMBER basic therory can say road hog is wrong. But pt finger haha let you pay $500.