Arowana1 1st Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 is there really a need for sequence or formality? if i recalled correctly, one day in taxi, we saw some hdb coming up at tanglin side. then i said "we should q for a flat early". she replied "ok". then we went home, find out how to q, then plan rom in between so that can get the cert in time ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bentwy Neutral Newbie July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 congrats bro. i think for a lot of incidences the proposal is a formality - a form of remembrance that is important for the woman. anyway... a man who is unmarried is incomplete. a man who gets married is finished. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Princey_anne 1st Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 hmm i dun rally hv something in mind about proposal.. it's tough to make it v unforgettable just like bro issac said.. so wat will be unforgettable for gals? Just propose lor, my hubby did propose. But at that time, I was not ready so I told him maybe later, at least now you will not be rejected by her. Just do it, maybe your kid will ask you this question one day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 if non christians leh? hmmm agreed to rom, then propose, then go rom? seems more logical then go rom then propose right? I did not ROM per se..... I had a JP at my wedding dinner, so the papers were signed in front of all the dinner guest.... 1 stone, two birds.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 Talk about communication break down. Do what normal ppl do, buy a ring get doan on one knee and propose. Confirm with chop dan go ROM.... Otherwise can always open mouth to ask and clarify. If need to come to forum to ask sth like that means the communication between the couple got problem. Better not get married yet and make things worse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 Hmm just curious... Does it mean that have to propose then go ROM? OR Can both already agreed to go ROM, and still the guy proposes? If the guy proposes after both already agreed to go ROM, will mean sequence not right? or u guys think since already agreed to go ROM then no need to propose? if u understand the signifaicance of the proposal n ROM than u won't be asking this qns... Proposal = asking the girl to marry u, simple as that. u wanna add the diamond ring (norm) nice restaurant, go down on 1 knee, etc up to u ROM = Sign contract to get married (Official n Lawfully wedded) if the girl agree to go ROM w u, than mean she agree to marry u, so don't really understand what u mean by proposing after ROM things need not be so technical and complicated bro... u propose to the girl, she agree to marry u, go ROM register for date, sign contract. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 hmmm.. sequence seems not right if go rom then propose.. but if agreed to go rom but havent fone.. then propose? that's based on what I understand from your initial post. Personally, it doesn't matter whether have the other party agreed to go rom or not.. Just do it, in case you are blamed for not doing so after that... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 I believe tats the crux of wads he's asking. Shld he still go ahead with this formality knowing tat his wife-to-be has ardi/will agree. I think should lor. Cos we never understand woman.. Tot they say dun mind, but we never really know... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 Yah lor, since nv follow liao, y start now? Think out of the box! Give her an unforgetable proposal! Something she cannot resist telling the whole world about You suggest giving the gal an 'unforgettable porposal'? Then is should be ( not necessasy in squence but advisable).....BIG Bungalow with cars parked in the porch, 5 carrot ring.....then over posh candle light dinner over the verandah of the bungalow......... PROPOSE! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 hmm i dun rally hv something in mind about proposal.. it's tough to make it v unforgettable just like bro issac said.. so wat will be unforgettable for gals? depend on how is ur gal like? is she sporting? ok for surprises? dun like embarrassments? etc etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 in bed... girl: darling, lets go rom tomorlo ok? boy: err .... is this a proposal? girl: u say leh ..... boy: ok lor, since u propose liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 Hmm just curious... Does it mean that have to propose then go ROM? OR Can both already agreed to go ROM, and still the guy proposes? If the guy proposes after both already agreed to go ROM, will mean sequence not right? or u guys think since already agreed to go ROM then no need to propose? For my case, we set a date for ROM (around 3 months ahead) due to auspicious date, so book early. And I made a formal proposal before the ROM date. I guess the proposal was the hard part, cos I research some idea from internet, yet don't want to copy every detail, want it to be unique... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iziz Clutched July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 Ok, rephrase... Unforgettable but within budget, if spend tat amt of money for proposal, i think wedding dinner is hdb void deck liao At least this will hold true for me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iziz Clutched July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 I believe tats the crux of wads he's asking. Shld he still go ahead with this formality knowing tat his wife-to-be has ardi/will agree. I think should lor. Cos we never understand woman.. Tot they say dun mind, but we never really know... "Dun mind" is a dangerous word... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nivlac Neutral Newbie July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 Bit off topic, but anyone here actually did a P&L for their wedding plans? Both my colleagues and myself did a rough guesstimation and it came up to approx $100k. Includes, Wedding dinner (30 tables), Church wedding & lunch reception, gown, suit, studio shoot, rings, car rental, ang-pow $, Honeymoon (asia-region) and room renovation. i've been working for almost 10yrs and i dun even have anything close to the $100k... how come i can see so many ppl happily getting married? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beavc Clutched July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 (edited) Hmm just curious... Does it mean that have to propose then go ROM? OR Can both already agreed to go ROM, and still the guy proposes? If the guy proposes after both already agreed to go ROM, will mean sequence not right? or u guys think since already agreed to go ROM then no need to propose? Friend get this straight.... ROM is just a place the govt setup to earn some bucks and to have your name on the database that you are married and, hopefully, you wouldn't take more than your share of the char bo population... SO>>>>>>>> how can going to the ROM be the same as a marriage proposal? ROM is only part of the process... PLEASE DON"T make the mistake of proposing by asking your gf "oooi want to go ROM..." or go HDB during my time.... Just ask her to marry you...she agrees then decide on which date to ROM... Edited July 24, 2008 by Beavc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beavc Clutched July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 You don't need to have the cash for the dinner...cos the wedding dinner will have collections. Depending on the industry you work in,(i am in banking, wife teacher) so i estimate that the ang pao should have a collection of 65-70% of table cost. So based on that i saved the excess funds. next, i did the calculation for the angpao and the gowns/photos (which i ngeow on - cos not necessary)...in the end if not for the agreement to give them 10 tables (one table 1.1k plus) else I wouldn't lose about 10k... So I had about 30-40k in excess for standby... (i also don't have 100k) hahaa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 that's why safer to just do it.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...