Tay107 Neutral Newbie August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 is GPS can help you in driving. ( in spore ) cos sometime refer to street dir oso can memorise all the road. so hv to stop at carpark and check the dir again. how much to install GPS ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ev0lutionz Clutched August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 No need la. SG so small, need gps for what? Unless you are doing delivery and you arent sure of the route, gps might help. But then, knowing the routes by hard is best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 gps is helpful to me both in sg n my. its quite cheap nowadays. less than 300 can get le. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidercool 1st Gear August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 I carrying my Garmin GPS everywhere I go. Traffic jam? no problem just out the next exit and the rest leave it for the GPS. Saving fuel? Yes, plus time too. Go for it ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 useful when u are trying to avoid a jam and exit to somewhere not familar, bringing you to your intended destination. hassle coz need to select your destination b4 u move off.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 It is useful if you are the type who can get lost in your own neighbourhood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dragos 1st Gear August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 was toying with the idea of GPS, but figured, singapore hard to get lost...so many road signs.....just do a bit of homework before leaving lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidercool 1st Gear August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 (edited) not just as be a unit for roads finder. The GPS is able to guide you to the nearest petrol station, rest point, food, parks, attraction, Nets machine, AXS machine, ERP, airport, hotels....and many more when you're in need. Best, can download oversea maps and bring along for vacation. Edited August 1, 2008 by Spidercool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 In a way.it helps...warn u of speed traps,bus lanes...where is the nearest atm etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tay107 Neutral Newbie August 1, 2008 Author Share August 1, 2008 (edited) can tell speed traps ??? how ??? very good lay.. which model can ?? those station on the road center divider or mobile on the overhead bridge and hidden type ??? Edited August 1, 2008 by Tay107 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bcyn Neutral Newbie August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 which garmin model are u using and what maps are u using? mine will ask me make u turn and head up the eway again leh. wtf! gotta set avoidance den it will work. but driving where got time press so many buttons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged August 2, 2008 Share August 2, 2008 If you don travel often maybe a mobile phone with built in GPS is good enuff. I using the Nokia E71 with Garmin map. So far so good. As always program in the destination first before driving off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drumstick Clutched August 2, 2008 Share August 2, 2008 Its not the module but rather the software. Maps like MK already key in some of the fixed cameras location. Its meant for fixed cams. Mobile cams forget it. Wont happen and will never happen. If you wanna know where got mobile speed trap, might as well get TP walkie talkie and comms in and check their location. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidercool 1st Gear August 2, 2008 Share August 2, 2008 I'm using the free malsing map. Singapore is still not ready for the real time traffic update, so avoidance is notpossible. I'm refering to having seeing the LTA traffic board on traffic info eg "massive jam" and immediately out by nearest exist. The GPS will still recalculate and guide you to go somewhere else. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 2, 2008 Share August 2, 2008 Hi bro, can I know how do you program your E71 to use Garmin map? I am using E71 too, good phone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 2, 2008 Share August 2, 2008 using a shinco GPS. its a good to have item, but not essential. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raj_25 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2008 Share August 2, 2008 Agree with Picanto currently using garmin 650 useful both in singapore and america (free maps) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched August 2, 2008 Share August 2, 2008 is GPS can help you in driving. ( in spore ) cos sometime refer to street dir oso can memorise all the road. so hv to stop at carpark and check the dir again. how much to install GPS ? Sometimes it helps. But still cannot compare to actually knowing and experiencing the route. For example, I always get confused when I want to exit SLE to Yio Chu Kang road. Unless you are familar with that route, it's too easy to take the wrong way, and even GPS offers little help. One good thing about GPS is if you do take a wrong turn, it can quite intelligently re-calculation alternative route for you, and I think in long run, help to save some petrol. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...