Is GPS help

Tay107

I have a GPS equipped PDA with MK2007, but cannot beat my Garmin GPS with Malsing Jerome maps in re-routing times, finding current location and speed accuracy.

Sometimes can be quite frustrating with the GPS PDA as it just takes too long to locate current location, thus unable to plan route to selected destination.

You will be better off using a dedicated GPS set to show you directions and POI, rather than a PDA or phone which is a jack of all trades but master of none.

Agree that a dedicate GPS unit is much better. I'm a kiasu GPS user with 3 GPS unit. A nuvi610, a Asus PDA, and my recent Sumsung Omnia. Both the Asus PDA and Sumsung Omnia are installed with Garmin MXT. Comparing the calculation and recalculation of route, the nuvi 610 takes a faster time to recalulate. While both the PDA and Samsung took a significant longer time to recalculate.

Just wana to get some advice from all GPS user here.

Plan to buy a GPS unit price around SG300 in coming IT show, which model and map( best is free, like mapking [lipsrsealed] )come with big screen is good buy.

Edited by Xmark

Is yr Holux GPS 55?

So how the holux as compare to Garmin?

cant rem which holux model but its the bigger screen one. garmin UI slightly easier to use. more friendly i would say but after using holux for a while u get use to it liao.

gps log on i feel that my holux is much faster den the garmin. after cold start sometimes i can take 10 mins for it to log on. well my could be a lemon.

and thirdly to got holux due to the fact that the maps are there for u to update. garmin uses malsing and u need to constantly do contributions. i not so free always go find fault leh.

U can get Garmin GPS, one of the more reputable brands around the market...My frd bought his GArmin Nuvi in Sim Lim Sq...Tink u can do up a search on gps on the prices, there are some threads on it...

your version of MK must be very outdated

mine will warn me of BOTH fixed camera and mobile camera, with voice somemore

If it is mobile speed camera, i will quickly check the overhead bridge or road side for white ants

Wah...so high tech...

Btw..GPS is base on lock-in position. Mobile cameras are forever changing locations.

Unless yours got GPS lock-in on all mobile camera current co-ord real time.

MK is just a software and it wun know anything, unless the programer keys in the co-ords or the user save the co-ords. Software only records stationary co-ords. Like fixed red light camera, fixed speed cameras or any other co-ords that was pre-recorded.

Does that means yours got sensors? So does that means it can tell you real-time traffic??

If yes, whats the version of MK and what GPS u using??

one of my colleagues has the fun of chionging on the light strike vehicle [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

he every year look forward to chiong again [pirate][cool]

also for garmin, the biggest headache for most is the contribution part to get malsing map. But with some effort in downloading mapsource and trying out it should work - if not, now they give free jan 2008 malsing map which i think should be good enuff.

For shinco, i'm not so sure as my friend often got map hang with the SD card....which is from reputable brand, but the local warranty folks keep saying it is the SD card. [dizzy]