Younger hubby? It

Jc777

generally i think she's a bit too optimistic and idealistic if we look at this from the point of view of statistics.

but nonetheless, cannot deny there may be the one odd case or so may work. hope her's is one of the odd case then.

last time i know my ns unit got 1 21 year nsf involved in a relationship with a 32 year old staff sergeant. the staff sergeant divorced and had 2 kids from previous husband with her. everyone dissuaded the nsf and don't think the relationship can work out.

last month, which is about 10-11 years later after the start of their relationship, i happen to catch a sight of them from far in orchard road. seems like they are still together despite the seemingly incompatibility (incompatibility also in terms of education, i think she's o level only while he is sing power scholar). then again, of course i don't know how well they are together really.

Edited by Acemundo

their tai ji leh.. if they happy, good for them!

[thumbsup]

this kinda thing actually no big deal. just part of gahmen propaganda (ok la pardon me for stating the obvious here) to encourage older women not to lose hope, maybe can find virile young men to father children for the motherland [idea][idea]

but seriously, 12 yr gap, really no big deal la. 32 still not tt old [inlove]

and being a good father at 20, so???? teenaged mothers how? they could choose to abort but they didn't.

it's all part of what gahmen wants us to think is good, and what to think is bad [sly]

This young man deserve our whole country support, Mindef should post him do some 8-5 clerk work so that he can fulfill a husband duty then those on field vocation. He's doing his national service in a way by having a baby now.

seriously, i believe the number of married NSFs with kids isn't negligible. [;)] just that this guy is a milf-hunter [laugh]

i have no issue with their marriage. but that this article made it to press.. well. just goes to show how tok-kong our press is [rolleyes]

A friend of mine married a woman who is 7 years older than him. He's 24 when he got married. Now, at 26, he is suffering from the marriage due wife being quite controlling (according to him only). He would have divorced if not because of his 1 yr old kid. [shakehead]

I mean, who deserve more? "white horse" who do clerk work in NS or a young man who need the time for his wife and baby?

These are things that Mindef can do within it's power, if "white horse" can why not him?

u got point, but it's a big can of worms to open.

MINDEF tries to practice (or at least maintain semblance of) equality. they cannot give one father priviledges and neglect the rest.

now, what if pple just get their gfs preggers, then yisi yisi ROM. how? can 'downgrade' their NS to clerk status?

see where i'm heading? sounds far-fetched now, but u never know.

anyway, the scholars up there will probably have considered these issues liao. [scholar]

If I din remember wrongly, there was some mention from my CSM (during my BMT days) that if you are a father of a newborn, you will be posted to a 8-5 unit so that you can go home everyday to spend time with family.

Can someone here who is a regular confirm?

yep. agree.

i will just say statistics do make sense. as to whether one has reason to feel whether their own case falls outside the normal distribution curve, they are in better shoe to judge than me. nevertheless, when such things happen to people i know, i will usually urge them to think and mentally prepared and work towards it but yet wish them all the best. cos if they are prepared, they have a better chance of falling outside the normal distribution curve.

if i just blindly support them, the chance of them belonging to the normal distribution curve is high.

Normally when I hear such stories, my first thought is let's wait a few years later la....

Everything lovey at the start would always lead to irrational thinking and it takes a while before reality sets in.

No matter how fairy tale it is, we are still mortal afterall. No matter how high we think we can fly, there is still this thing called gravity to pull us back down to earth. Mortal cannot escape mortal rules.

If 10 years down they are still happy, then it's probably news-worthy. Otherwise, this is just another worthless piece of news meant solely just to fill pages.

generally, not an official rule. but officers can make more humane arrangement cos they know NS isnt easy for a young family so as much as possible, the officers do it within their means. after all system is dead, human is not.

Wah imagine if this becomes policy sitting on top of pro family policies. woo hoo. birth rate for the fertile active group (18-22) may shoot up. and all along gahmen encourages ppl to give birth young cos more chance for more kids.

now couple hv kid at 32, give it 2-3 yr gap, 35....then mostly no energy to want to take on more kids liao.

went back ICT lately, one guy 28, 3rd kid on the way liao.

Actually hor.... I would choose a late 30s dance teacher over 80% of our early 20s gals. Dance teachers will have bodies well maintained to compete the 20s. And being from that era, they are capable of being a woman more as compared to the gals these days.